We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“amazing property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

OK so putting aside the cost this was a brilliant experience. The cottage had a sea view even though the property is set well back in Montecito. Just to walk around the property to take in the atmosphere is wonderful with a beautiful organic veggie and herb garden in the centre to lovely lawn areas and a stunning pool. The staff and service was exceptional very personal but never stuffy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
It is so wonderful to read of your recent stay at the Ranch, and we do hope to welcome you back soon for more strolls through the gardens!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    28
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
63
285
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We've looked forward to staying at this uber luxurious and expensive property for years. We got a great deal for Easter and the day after. Our suite was an upgrade and simply gorgeous. Extremely luxurious and the private hot tub/ spa in the private courtyard was divine!

Sadly, our dinner at the upscale restaurant was far less than we'd hoped for. Each course took over an hour to appear. When the waiter had to literally beg the kitchen for our soup you could tell he was embarrassed. Our entrees took another hour to materialize. We were going to cut our losses and escape after that but he was so mortified that they comp'd our dessert so we stayed. The quality of the food was good but not worth this sort of wait.

The following night we went elsewhere for dinner but thought we'd try the lounge outside the restaurant for a night cap. We were given menus but we would probably still be sitting there waiting for service because NO ONE acknowledged we were there. After 30 minutes of cooling our heels we went to the front desk to let them know about our substandard experience on two or two occasions. They were appropriately apologetic.

I wish I could say that management did their best to make this right. Sadly, there has been zero response since our complaint. A week later we got the standard follow up questionnaire. I described this exact series of events. It has been three plus weeks since our initial complaint and nearly as long since the survey. Nothing! To say their response to a legitimate complaint is far beneath my expectations would be an understatement.

So, like the review title says, love the resort but eat elsewhere. If you do choose the restaurant for its stunning views pack a lunch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ann,

We are so pleased you enjoyed the property, and do apologize for the inconsistent care in the restaurant. Please feel free to call me directly to discuss your experience, as we hope you will join us again soon: 805.565.1700.
Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had not been to San Ysidro Ranch in many years .Upon arriving I remembered what a unique and incredible place this is. Since the renovation (believe 2003) the new ownership and staff have taken SYR to new heights without stripping it of it's heritage. You don't feel like you're checking in to a resort ,instead,entering a small community of individual cottages with small lazy paths and a horseshoe shaped road connecting them between amazing gardens, trees,and landscape. We had a party of 8 and took advantage of all the options available. Great dining,cool bar,relaxing pool, and hiking trails everyone can and did enjoy.The staff is also the star attraction here as well.
We will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and unique. Not a mediocre one that I saw !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It is such a pleasure to read of your recent stay and return to the Ranch! The property is rich with history, and our team takes great pride in preserving it while creating new memories and experiences with our wonderful guests. We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

if you want to impress someone special, I highly recommend this place. All of the staff are very attentive. Gas fireplaces, hot tub on the deck, out door shower and the most delicious in-room dining experience I have ever had. Expensive but mid-week special makes it even better. One should splurge and enjoy this experience.

Room Tip: if you can get one with the hot tub on your deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Romantic indeed! Our staff takes great pride in creating personalized experiences for all our guests, and we hope to welcome you back for another romantic stay soon.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is pure magic. From having your name on the cottage to the staff to the food, this is one magnificent property. We stayed two nights and loved every second. We hike the trail going to the waterfall, we experienced in cottage dining and we went to the restaurants on property.

As an example of attention to detail, you are provided stationary with your names on it. When hiking we were given a back pack with bottled water.


Can't wait to return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georgeinputnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Ranch and were able to take advantage of the wonderful outdoor experiences as well! We enjoy providing such memorable and magical experiences for our guests, and hope to welcome you back soon.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Amazing hotel with great food and wine on a beautiful landscape. Very unique.
The problem was when I check out I forgot my Ipad charging in the bedroom. Half way to LAX I realized that I forgot the Ipad charging, I called the hotel for them to keep it for me, as I was going to Tahiti, but I would come back to the hotel in two weeks. For my surprise, when I came back I was told that nobody found my IPAD, which we are 100% positive that was there. so I spent over 30.000 dollars at that hotel and they couldn't care less for my Ipad. The manager said that really trust his team and that nobody would have taken it. I am sure I was not the only there with missing itens, and we will never return to the hotel, maybe the restaurant but not the hotel.

Room Tip: Olive and Kennedy suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lourenço n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Lorenzo,
We conducted an exhaustive search on this reported incident in July 2013 and determined the item had not been seen or handled. We do provide an in-cottage safe for any item that a guest may wish to place there, and for this incident were able to facilitate an early departure for both cottages with no penalty of early departure. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the Restaurants and Gardens and hope to be of service on another occasion.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our 3rd time at the Ranch and it has never disappointed. Lovely cottage, beautiful amenities, friendly staff. I particularly enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese in the reception area. Unfortunately, it's only served on Fridays between 3-5pm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoLover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are thrilled you continue to find your way back to the Ranch, and we hope to welcome you for another wine and cheese afternoon in the near future!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch team,

Seamus McManus
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.6 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Montecito foothills of Southern California’s wine country, San Ysidro Ranch has provided a tranquil vacation destination for discriminating travelers for over a century. Guests are drawn to the Santa Barbara hideaway for its blend of natural beauty, romantic heritage and classic luxury. Myth and history mingle in the lush garden where Vivien Leigh and Sir Laurence Olivier exchanged vows; in the setting of John and Jackie Kennedy’s honeymoon retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing