We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited the San Ysidro Ranch in February of this year and look forward to returning in the future. It is charming, warm and inviting in a Ralph Lauren kind of way. The accommodations are in cabins that are beautifully appointed. Ours had a fireplace and when we returned in the evenings after dinner, the fireplace was going and the bed had been turned down. What a romantic setting! We had breakfast in our room one morning and lunch and dinner in their main restaurant there. The food was excellent and the service warm, attentive and friendly. It also has an interesting history. JFK and Jackie spent their honeymoon there and Vivien Leigh and Laurence Olivier were married there. The surrounding gardens are gorgeous and each cabin has such a sense of privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit there and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, Guest Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are so pleased to read of your fond memories for the Ranch, and look forward to welcoming you for many visits in the future!

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    28
    20
    16
    6
See reviews for
62
280
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've been at San Ysidro Ranch quite a few times; usually over Christmas. For an extra cost,
they provide the most beautiful Christmas tree for us.

This time I was there by myself, to visit frineds in the area. The summer is even more glorious
because of an increase in flowers. Although there are plenty in winter, as well. Each cottage is
decorated in sort of a comfy lodge style; sort of old school but with all the modern conveniences;
like A/C, flat screen TV's, great water pressure. I couldn't recommend one cottage over the other
because they are all lovely. Some are larger than others and some have more expansive views, including ocean views. They do allow babies and small children, which I'm not crazy
about but I've never really been bothered by them, that much. To be fair, though, I do think
this place is much more for adults of all ages; not children. They are also very pet friendly,
which I am crazy about. One will meet lots of nice dogs and the occasional cat.

The staff is beyond friendly and helpful. No matter the department, it seems they can't do
enough to please guests. The floors in the bathrooms are heated, which is a nice touch;
and I would suggest that guests have a car to tour around the area. This is a must have.
But if I could never leave this property, it wouldn't be so bad.

Room Tip: It depends on what size one needs. All the rooms are charming. Naturally the ones higher up on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, Guest Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
It is such a pleasure to read of your stays at the Ranch for Christmas and Summer! Our team takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, and we hope to welcome you for many more visits in the future!

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wow! This must be one of the most amazing hotels in the world. From the moment we checked in I knew my husband wanted to wow me for our anniversary week vacation in Santa Barbara. I had always wanted to stay here after seeing the hotel many years ago on Oprah and now I can finally say I did. The hotel is just special.. the experience is spoilage for sure! We were in the Poppy cottage.. our own little "house" for a few nights. They welcomed us with a plate of little house made cakes and champagne. The rooms are beautiful.. our canopy bed was so comfortable waking up was tough in the morning. I think the complimentary and upscale amenities make their service very unique - the bath products are all Bulgari and the Coffee Nespresso, Evian, Pelligrino and Santa Barbara goodies that get replenished every day. (of course we can buy on our own but having little touches like this just make it easy.. no one really wants to get charged for extras on a vacation.. large chains should take note) .For breakfast, it is all house made beautifully prepared and delivered to your cottage or wherever you want to eat such as the beautiful rose garden. It is so peaceful and quiet and anything absolutely anything you need is at your service (we were able to get almond milk, multiple newspapers delivered, etc). We hiked from the hotel for a nice workout and took advantage of the pool. The pool is not huge nor is the gym but perfectly fine as its a small property so not many people take advantage of either at once. In fact we were the only one using the gym on our stay. The front desk is great at making reservations for dinner and getting you the reservation you want. (Try the Lark.. a newer fab funky and amazing cuisine restaurant). We did get to dine at the Plow and Angel in a magical outdoor setting.. Simply beautiful. The food is fabulous and large portions .. so we were happy we ordered appetizers and salad and side dishes and shared one entree so we could sample a lot. We even saw a celebrity next to us.. made the experience so fun. So Kudos to my hubby for thinking of me on our 16th anniversary with such an amazing experience.. I'd love to come back with my kids but Im saving this hotel just for us.. Everyone should experience San Ysidro Ranch at least once in their life.. it's truly a wonderful memory and pure spoilage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanJoseMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your anniversary at the Ranch! Our staff takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you for many return visits in the future!

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

It has to be one of the most beautiful properties in the United States. You instantly feel transported to another part of the world where Tuscan rolling hills and natural stone architecture engulf you in a warm and tranquil oasis as you look out over the pacific ocean in the distance. The restaurant is terrific! They had a special event this weekend(you may know what I am talking about) and unfortunately the special security-obviously an outside company, must not have had the same training the hotel staff does and they were excessively rude to our group. The sad things is we were with some very high profile people who happen to live in the area and we were treated very poorly...they even said to us they "shooed the rest of our group away and now you have to leave." We were not even aware they were closed for a special event and didn't mean to be where we shouldn't be, but what every property needs to realize is that when you have people working on your property, even if they do not work for you directly, it still reflects on your reputation. Otherwise, exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for such kind words and sentiments for the Ranch! We do apologize for the inconsistent care from the security team on property. Please feel free to call our Front Office Manager Thomas Routson if you would like to discuss your experience directly: 805.565.1740.

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've stayed at a great many 5 star wonderful hotels, but San Ysidro Ranch will always stay at the very top. The fresh cool breeze, the linens, the Pacific view from the front porch, the fresh fruit to pick from their backyard garden, the days of privacy with never seeing anyone, the flowers, the long hikes, the JFK story (he honeymooned with Jackie here), the amazing bed, the bath, ... you just want to seize each moment and memory and hold onto it forever. You can justify going way out of your way to come and stay here. Priceless luxury in every way...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank music-professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
It is so wonderful to read of your fond memories and kind sentiments for the Ranch! We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a return visit soon.

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband and dog in March. From the moment we checked in until check out, it was a 5 star experience. We had a dog friendly room, one of the Lavender cottages. The cottages are freestanding and supremely private with a gate surrounding the cottage. The front deck and a lovely table and umbrella, and the side deck contained a hot tub, 2 lounge chairs and an outdoor shower. The interior is gorgeous and looks a bit like a European country house rather than a hotel. What sets this hotel from others in the area is the service (I'm looking at you, El Encanto). Not only was every request fulfilled promptly and with style, they had a special welcome for our dog, with a toy, homemade treats and a bed. I can't wait to return to this exquisite resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
It is such a pleasure to read of your recent stay at the Ranch! Our staff takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, both two and four-legged. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been to the ranch several times, as it holds a very special place in our hearts. Private, quiet, beautiful surroundings and such phenomenal staff. The food is exquisite at both restaurants - the chef knows how to handle and prepare a steak! WOW!

We will certainly return for the rest of our lives as this is truly a special place!

Room Tip: The Olive cottage was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fauxvoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, Public Relations Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
The San Ysidro Ranch is rich in history, a great portion of which has been shaped by our wonderful guests. We are fortunate to have your loyalty and look forward to providing warm memories for years to come.

The San Ysidro Ranch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing