We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just What the Doctor Ordered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just What the Doctor Ordered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Even when compared to the other very high quality hotels I have enjoyed, SYR is at the very top of my list. When I travel, I look to stay somewhere I feel as good or better than at the home I love. SYR is that place. Having stayed there before, I had very high expectations and was not disappointed. It is so quiet and tranquil. The hotel’s lack of pretense and charm along with the genuinely happy staff contribute to the ability to unwind. The restaurants are great—interesting ambience and great food. The outdoor shower and Jacuzzi were a very nice touch to the casual and homey elegance of our cottage. I am sure I could get a Dr.'s prescription to stay there-- both times I visited was to recharge from work exhaustion. It worked. Thanks SYR friends. See you soon.

Room Tip: The Cottages range from beautiful to idyllic. If you can splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
The San Ysidro Ranch is rich in history and charm, a great portion of which has been shaped by our amazing guests. We are so fortunate to have your loyalty, William and look forward to providing relaxing experiences and fond memories for years to come.

Scott Cordle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    28
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
63
285
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful grounds, garden and lovely rooms. One of the nicest hotels I have visited. Love having the walking trails next to the property. Worth a visit even though it is expensive. Staff were wonderfl

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValorWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
It is such a pleasure to read of your recent visit to the Ranch! Our team takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, and we hope to welcome you for another wonderful visit in the future.

Scott Cordle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I loved this hotel! This stunning property is located just a mile or so off the main highway but you feel so much further from life. It's serene and beautiful with blue water views of the Pacific Ocean. The cottages are quaint and well appointed with all the amenities required for a pleasant stay. Very romantic but I could also imagine visiting in the future with the entire family. Service is not notch, just like you would expect from a 5 star establishment. Highly recommend for those who can afford this luxury!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matumbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It is so wonderful to read of your recent visit to the Ranch, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a return trip soon!

Scott Cordle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have been coming back to the SYR for nearly a decade. For us, it is the American equivalent of the Aman hotels in Asia; on every occasion reliably delivering a beautifully styled room, hotel and experience without being formal and stuffy. The hill-side French provincial style cottages and gardens are absolutely perfect to relax for a few days where the temperature is a little less aggressive than down on the coast or in-land. The service is flawless.

The SYR has been on the 'mountain' side amongst celebrity homes above Montecito since Victorian times. The Kennedy's honeymooned here, an ocean view cottage, which is available to guests, as is the larger Ty Warner cottage.

This time we stayed in Fig, one of a collection of 5 cottages higher on the hill, just by the pool. We don't love Fig as much as some of the other cottages but in most hotels this would be a truly exceptional room. The cottages are all individually decorated with an joyfully eclectic mixture of furniture and furnishings which you can look at on their web site. The rooms just feel like somewhere you want to live and because of this we usually stay 3 days and hardly venture out.

Something else that is unusual about this place - everything in the room works and is simple to use. No baffling mood light settings, silent fridge and air con, large closet, electric start fire,etc - all work as you would want it to.

There is an exceptional restaurant here. We have not visited it yet, preferring to eat in our cottage, but the food is great. Its expensive so you might want to consider eating off the pet menu - Salmon and rice for dogs is only $16.

Stay here. You can't go wrong

Room Tip: Willow has a spectacular living room and a large terrace overlooking the creek. Eucalyptus has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRadford-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are so fortunate to have had your loyalty over the years, and we look forward to many more wonderful stays and memories to come!

Scott Cordle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Well I call myself a hotel snob - this hotel must be the nicest place I've ever stayed at!! I was slightly apprehensive travelling with three teen boys, but they LOVED it. We took a two bedroom cottage for three nights and frankly I could have moved right in there!! The whole place is serene, quiet, peaceful and really quaint. Pefect. Food was fabulous and to be honest we were the most well behaved and quiet people in the restaurant and I was worried it would be too snooty!!! There is a small gym, a lovely pool. The kids worked out and nobody batted an eyelid. Ideally I would recommend it for couples to go and chill and catch up on life, but I am so happy I chose to stay there - we went out during the day to santa barbara since it's not a hotel with much to do in the day and that was perfect. The whole place is a gardeners paradise - everywhere you look there are herbs, fruits trees, flowers - i dream of it!! Now my DREAM is to build a replica of our cottage for myself!!

Room Tip: There are only about 40 cottages on premises and you can really look it up on google earth to decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesgreathotels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We’re so flattered to read of your recent stay, and thrilled we could surprise you with our charming property! Our team takes great pride in maintaining these wonderful grounds, Chef’s organic garden, and each individually designed cottage – and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for another dream visit!

Scott Cordle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Everything is not just wonderful, but thoughtful and singular. One of the stand alones. Listing every detail wouldn't do the medley justice. If you're going to be in the area, stay outside of Santa Barbara proper in Montecito and appreciate the depth the region has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPJEveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It is so wonderful to read of your recent stay, and with such kind sentiments for the Ranch! We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a return visit in the near future.

Scott Cordle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was memorable experience, great service of true 5 stars resort ! Staff very attentive and courteous from arrival to departure.
Nice clean hotel room and general resort area, relaxing and enjoyable.
We will for sure visit the resort again and will not hesitate recomend to friends and family.

Cheers !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1HappyCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It is such a pleasure to read of your recent stay at the Ranch. Our team takes great pride in curating personalized experiences for each of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you for many return visits!

Scott Cordle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.6 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
5.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property

Property: San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Address: 900 San Ysidro Ln, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-1325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Montecito foothills of Southern California’s wine country, San Ysidro Ranch has provided a tranquil vacation destination for discriminating travelers for over a century. Guests are drawn to the Santa Barbara hideaway for its blend of natural beauty, romantic heritage and classic luxury. Myth and history mingle in the lush garden where Vivien Leigh and Sir Laurence Olivier exchanged vows; in the setting of John and Jackie Kennedy’s honeymoon retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property Hotel Santa Barbara
San Ysidro Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing