We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Mission Street Ice Cream and Yogurt - Featuring McConnell's Fine Ice Creams
Ranked #6 of 26 Dessert in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mission Street Ice Cream & Yogurt, formerly known as McConnell's on Mission, proudly features world famous McConnell's Fine Ice Creams. Our store is independently owned and operated by Santa Barbarans Bob and Jean Moss. We believe in treating people with care and respect and that is the reason you will see the friendly, familiar faces of Mission Street's long time employees and loyal customers, year after year. Oh yes, and there is that amazing McConnells fine ice cream & the delicious fresh frozen yogurt made daily from the freshest ingredients consisting of a wonderful variety of frozen yogurt styles and flavors, including tarts, natural, Only 7, Greek style and frozen custards. Come visit us and enjoy a generous portion of delicious Mission Street yogurt!
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Goodness”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is the way ice cream should be, creamy, no air added. Large selection of favors. Great waffle cones. Reasonable prices. Two locations. Friendly service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    29
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
512 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Definitely on point”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

While eating ice cream isn't mind blowing anymore, a good chocolate ice cream is always good to have once in awhile....McConnell's gives you so many choices its hard to decide. I went with the Dark Chocolate Paso Brittle, and it was delicious, since I love anything chocolate. I'm sure I could say the same for the other flavors, but I can only eat so much before lunch. This location just happened to be on my path onto my next appointment. McConnell's is a SB institution, so give one of their locations a try when in the area (or do so in Ventura). If I do have a chance, I should try their newest location near me in DTLA.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge scoops, fresh ice cream”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The line was out the door and for a good reason. They get people through there really fast but don't rush you when deciding on your flavors. The ice cream was really fresh, great taste and the scoops were huge. I ordered a double scoop and had trouble getting it all down. Great variety of flavors and great variety of ways to have it dished up.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Super ice cream - out of the way”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Really enjoyed the ice-cream but servings a bit too large and couldn't finish. Loved sarcastic humour of server (owner?). Very busy but line moves quickly. A bit out of the way - not near beach or busy part of state street - didn't go to any other spots for ice cream so not sure if worth drive?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mom23lads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decadence”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is not your average ice cream shop. Expect to have to wait in line, but so worth it! Very unusual concoctions - you have to check it out to believe it. They do let you taste, so if you're not sure about garlic or olive oil ice cream, i's okay to be adventurous without committing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mission Street Ice Cream and Yogurt - Featuring McConnell's Fine Ice Creams also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Mission Street Ice Cream and Yogurt - Featuring McConnell's Fine Ice Creams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing