We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Santa Barbara!”
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot in Santa Barbara!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My fiance and I recently stayed at Inn at East Beach for two nights while in town for a concert at Santa Barbara Bowl. We were able to check in early and enjoy more of the day in Santa Barbara.

About the location: The hotel is two streets from the beach and close to a crosswalk. It is located in East Beach, so the area is not as crowded as it would be if staying near State Street, which is a definite plus. There is a great market nearby where we purchased appetizers to enjoy in our room. A block and a half away is the bus stop for the $0.25 shuttle that takes you up and down the waterfront to State Street.

About the hotel and staff: The room was extremely clean and more spacious than anticipated. The multiple windows allowed fresh air to flow through the room. The bed was comfortable, the decor had a laid-back beach vibe, the towels were incredibly soft, and the toiletries were perfect. We stayed on the first floor and noticed the noise of the people above us; it didn't bother us, but if you are a light sleeper you may want to request a second floor room. Frank and his wife are both friendly and accommodating. The breakfast they host is more than your average continental, including local coffee/bagels/pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal + milk, toast, and condiments galore. The pool has comfortable chaise lounges, chairs, and tables scattered around it.

We will definitely be staying here again next time we're in Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    313
    77
    39
    26
See reviews for
215
390
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Room lovely with great toileteries. Frank the owner could not have been nicer and so helpful. The breakfast was great and Frank gave us pastries and coffee for ongoing trip. We walked into town(we are both in our 60s) and it is a long way but hotel is 5 minutes from beach. Lively place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

First stay here and only one night, plus there was a torrential storm, so didn't see much of SB. The inn is nice, with kind of a retro feel. It Is clean and comfortable, everything you would want. The added value is the manage frank, who cannot do enough. I don't normally like overly friendly boutique places, but he was great and really looked after us. Also the breakfast has to be seen, just take a bag and stock up.

Room Tip: Be nice to frank
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chopperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We only stayed one night in Santa Barbara, wish it could have been longer! Nice location for us, we went to the zoo in the morning, which was great. Room was nice, it was quiet, beds were comfy. Tub/shower in the bathroom was enormous!
Breakfast was good, and I added a paperback book to the basket near the fireplace.
Frank is a great host, and makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Certainly, the star of the hotel is Frank. I believe he is the owner of the hotel and he is always receiving guests at the door with his good humor, as well as education and kindness.

The hotel is located near the beach in Santa Barbara, but far from the main street of town, where are the shops and restaurants. It is close by car, but not in a walking distance.

The rooms are large. It has free wi-fi and free parking! Just did not like the room ventilation. It was cold when I went and thus I could not leave the window open. Thus, the towels do not dry out.

The breakfast, which was included in our book, is excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bralvarenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanston, illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

This is my third weeklong stay in 3 years. As before all was perfect. The superb location, famous hospitality and modern room all play a role in this Midwesterner's choice to return so often. A gem in every way.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank craigclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The owner Frank is proud of this place and it shows. The rooms are beautifully remodelled and the grounds are immaculate. Our room had a private little patio with table and chairs - perfect for meals with the kids. Super comfy beds, nice soft sheets, lots of drawers to store our belongings. The breakfast buffet was really good: a variety of huge pastries, bagels, hardboiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, cereal. And the whole place is a two minute walk to the beach. Great value. We were sad to leave after two nights!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KidsintheBackseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,333 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Property: Inn At East Beach
Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing