We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 2 star motel”
Review of Inn At East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn At East Beach
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Francisco, CA
1 review
“Nice 2 star motel”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Nice clean place, decent value but I was a little disappointed. It's like an upgraded motel experience. Somehow after reading the reviews and looking at the photos I was expecting a bit more. If you are looking more for a bed rather than a place to hang out, this place fits the order.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mghtymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    313
    77
    39
    26
See reviews for
215
390
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Taking a leisurely trip around southern and central California and up the coast ... and was looking for a one-night place in SB that wouldn't bust the bank. And I found one in the Inn at East Beach. Think of an updated California roadside motel ... one that if it were down in Malibu or Santa Monica would cost a pretty penny. Roomy, clean, newly renovated. And flat-screen TV's are on the way. Frank - who manages the place for a small group of properties is truly a nice guy. Ask him about the history of the place - when President Reagan had his ranch nearby various goverment agencies used the inn as a home base. And a great spread for continental breakfast - everything from cereal to oatmeal ... toast, pastries and even hard boiled eggs. Hey - it's not chi-chi or frou-frou or precious. Good, basic accommodations. Steps from the beach. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

today 6/17/09, I received an email from Inn at East Beach with their current special offers, which prompted me to check out tripadvisor to see what the current reviews were like and mostly out of curiousity to see if anyone else had mentioned/had the same problem that we did there 3 yrs ago...didn't see any mention of it so thought that I would, just because eh, I would want to know if I were reading the reviews to decide on this hotel/motel/inn.
like most have said, the hospitality was wonderful (if often seeming a bit forced from the seemingly loved/hated Frank), the breakfast great, the rooms very clean, the train often annoying & the prices, better than most in the area, not as good as the motel6 nxt door and eh sometimes seemingly excessive for what you are getting...now to the biiiiigggg butttttttt....
i will preface with, this was 3 years ago, perhaps (here I am hoping, hoping) things have changed since then or will in the near future...the lovely king suite that we had upstairs, with the fireplace & full kitchen, had NO air conditioning and NO window screens, the no air would have been fine if we could have only left the windows open, but with no screens, the room quickly filled with bugs & I quickly became bug bait, leaving our 3 nite stay with a stellar 14 mosquito bites, despite the fact that most of the time we kept the windows closed & sweated it out under the ceiling fan...for some I spose this isn't an issue, for myself it was.
I would love to see a response from management, hopefully that they have since either put screens on all of the windows that open and/or installed air conditioning (which I'm sure is rarely actually necessary in that particular climate/location).

so there is my exciting review, albeit 3 yrs tardy...all in all due to the window screen/air issue and cost...simply average, not above or below and if they have since corrected that issue, this would likely be a 4 star instead of 3 star review.

as far as recommending to a friend, i would say yes, but would warn them about the air issue first.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamqueenme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Having spent a lovely 24 hours in Santa Barbara with my girlfriend we can thoroughly recommend the Inn at East Beach and can only echo the positive comments people have previously written. The service, complimentary breakfast, andlocation were all excellent. The only thing to mention is that the rooms are (arguably) slightly dated. However, for the price in Santa Barbara I think you’d be hard pushed to beat the Inn at East Beach for value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We spent three wonderful nights in Santa Barbara in April. Having spent three weeks on the road we badly needed a break. The Inn at East beach was not our first choice but tempted by the reviews we decided to book on sight. The Hotel is comfortable but not luxurious but has a very spacious kitchenette and is within two minutes of the beach. There is a very nice (and deep) pool in the centre of a bright courtyard. What the hotel has in spades is hospitality. I don't usually name staff but Frank, one of the managers is a natural hotel keeper - attentive,friendly and welcoming ; full of helpful advice (such as get the 9am whale watching boat (35 people) rather than the 12pm boat (160 people) he made the stay that extra special. The chest full of buckets and beach mats meant that the boys could go mad on the beach and the parents could chill out. A real gem.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotogate20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We have stayed at The Inn at East Beach three times now and feel as if we have found our Santa Barbara "home away from home." We orignially landed there after reading a review in Travel and Leisure. Our hosts, Frank and Linda are what makes the Inn a remarkable and unique place. The rooms are basic, have nice conviencies and are very CLEAN! The location is exquisite... a short walk to the beach. Parking is easy. And the morning continental breakfast is fantastic! Frank and Linda endeavor to ensure their guests have a true "Santa Barbara" experience so the pastries, coffee, cookies are all from local businesses. We specifically visited the coffee company so we could bring home some of the excellent java we enjoyed while staying at the Inn. We are always greeted with a big smile and warm handshake! The Inn at East Beach is the only place we stay when visiting beautiful Santa Barbara!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler007FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2009

If you take away the disinfectant smell in the room, and take away the thundering herd of elephants in the room above us, and take away the sound of Niagra Falls rushing into your room when the room next to us turned on the shower....it was great. Oh yes, that was until we realized an hour outside of Santa Barbara that we had forget to turn the room key in. We called Frank right away and told him we would drop it in the mail the next morning and he said it was to late and that he had to charge my credit card $25.
We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mycatmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At East Beach

Property: Inn At East Beach
Address: 1029 Orilla Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3705 (Formerly East Beach Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn At East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Santa Barbara's best beach - Exclusive East Beach Resort area near zoo, wharf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn At East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At East Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel At East Beach
At East Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing