We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is nice and clean hotel but too expensive for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This is nice and clean hotel but too expensive for what it is”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice clean hotel with good service, but no one offered to carry our suitcases or show us to to room which is a standard in $250 a night hotel. This place sort off reminds me of La Quinta, including the pathetic breakfast. Of course LQ is $60-$90 a night so I see this acceptable over there. But it seem that all the hotels in Santa Barbara are way overpriced. This one is at least clean.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laddiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    319
    102
    43
    12
See reviews for
215
274
37
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Everything about this hotel was great - location, room, staff. We like HI Express generally but this one is a cut above. One block from State Street and a short walk to the harbor. Nothing "corporate" about it - like a small independent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, CA
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Barbara on a trip home from Southern California. We called in the middle of the Friday afternoon and were lucky to get a king room on the bottom floor. This is a historic hotel that has been converted to a HIE... it is very nice. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast has quite a few different items to choose from... we have traveled across country and HIE seems to have the best "contintental breakfast" items... different each day. My husband left his cell phone charger in the room... we called and a day later they returned the call and are mailing it free of charge to us... I think that is very good customer service ;) We most definately would go back and explore the area a bit more... as it was we did get to Mission Santa Barbara and had a great dinner at a mexican place recommended to us by the desk clerk.... it also was in a historic building and walkable from the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor room 104... very quiet and handy for parking etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, Flintshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for one night enroute to Los Angeles. For us the best thing about the hotel is the location, very central with everything within relative walking distance. The rooms were very simple, clean and comfortable as we expected with complementary breakfast buffet in the morning. Valet parking was quick and efficient and all the staff were very helpful and offered us some great dining options in the area. We were very happy with our stay and found it good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel in the past few months. We booked last minute for a quick escape because it is very well located and we can park the car in the lot and leave it there for the weekend and explore on foot.

Room 326 was at end of hall/top floor overlooking a "lively brew pub" - code for lots of noisy patrons on the sidewalk late at night.

Room had a microwave, fridge (empty!! bless them) and a comfy bed. LIke the motion detector light switch in bathroom so you don't have to fumble to find it.

We had to sign a form attesting that we would not smoke in the room and that if we caused any disturbances we would be asked to leave the hotel/no refund. They must do this to deter bachelor parties/wild weekenders.

Room was clean and comfortable. We left an item behind (we do this a lot!) and they mailed it to us at no cost as soon as it was discovered/reported missing. Would stay here again...just bring the earplugs.

We walked to dinner at Cielito, a new upscale Mexican restaurant in the La Arcada complex up State Street. Outstanding addition to dining scene, great margaritas and excellent small plate style items so you can try lots of things. Reservations are essential, or try for a seat at the bar.

Room Tip: ask for top floor, not facing Haley Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, IN
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Santa Barbara is a very nice hotel. I had no issues with the room or parking as when I pulled up the valet said it was valet parking only. The 2 bed room I had was very roomy and clean. The bathroom was clean as well. The bed felt like I was sleeping at home with how comfortable it was. Breakfast was also tasty and up to brand standards. Overall, I would stay in this hotel the next time I come to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Overall, this was a decent stay. First of all the good: it is in a great location, right on State St, which was great for walking to dinner, dessert, beach, etc as many places are within walking distance of the hotel. Also good was the hotel was a renovation of an older hotel, so it had quite a bit more character than the typical Holiday Inn Express and the staff were friendly.

For the not so good: since it is a older hotel, do not expect any privacy. You can hear your neighbors very easily. Also, the breakfast was meh, half of the time either fruit or cinnamon rolls were missing and it can be a bit greasy. The parking is a bit tight as well; sometimes they have valet service to help with it, but can be a bit inconvenient if you want to drive around a lot (honestly though, you probably won't need to drive much from here, if you do, it defeats the purpose of going to a hotel in this location).

I guess staying here depends on what you want. If location and reasonable rate are paramount, then I would recommend staying here. If you're looking for a bit more, I would either pony up a little more for a nicer hotel on State St or on the waterfront or find a newer hotel a little further away and deal with having to find parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCountyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear NorthCountyTourist,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I greatly appreciate you calling out the good qualities also. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Despite the challenges you faced I was pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests.

Best wishes,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing