We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara Spot Situated for PARTYING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nice hotel accommodations, valet available, and attentive staff. Stayed on the second floor, king bedroom facing parking lot (not an inviting view), and noisy at night due to music coming from the street and guests in hallway thru out the night into the morning. We stayed on Saturday night, I imagine it might be quite during the week without any music or noise from the Main Street bars, and situated ideally to Main Street for walking. The hotel is beautiful, room size is adequate for two for a few day stay, and bed is wonderfully comfortable with extreme dark out shades. The younger crowd or anyone that is going to party, I will recommend this is the place for you, but all others choose somewhere away from Main Street. We have planned our next stay at INDIGO hotel, we don't mind the European room accommodation, and we loved the design, ambiance, and location of the boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the garden area however I am not sure that will block out the noise at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnysgrl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Sunnysgrl01,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our staff. I'm sorry to hear that noise was an issue. We do have security on site that can respond to any noise complaints immediately. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Was beautifully decorated, clean, had eveything one would need in the room. The breakfast bar food was excellent and the seating area very well done. Located in an area with restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Richard R,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as breakfast. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel and had a good time. Although we arrived very late, there was a lot of people at the bars nearby. They are within walking distance, but the noise does not get to the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is good enough for continental. We recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank MauricioBabilonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Marcus B,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We strive to give great service and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you were able to get a good nights rest at our downtown location. We will work on providing more variety in our breakfast selection. We hope to see you next time you are in Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visit SB once or twice a year and we've stayed at different hotels and we agree that this is a gem. Its location and value for money are unbeatable. It's within walking distance to all the restaurants, shopping, historic downtown buildings and entertainment. We just park our car, drop off our bags and start enjoying SB. That's what visiting SB is about for us.
Room is clean, comfortable and cozy. Staff were helpful. Continental Breakfast is included. Room has a fridge and that sometimes is very useful.
My husband and I will definitely be back and we highly recommend this place and we plan on taking our family here as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Aupson,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We strive to give great service and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you were able to explore the city. We hope to see you next time you are in Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is attractive and well-located both for access to the beach and shopping and restaurants in town. We were pleased that everything was within a pleasant walk of the hotel. The rooms are on the small side but have character with the exposed brick wall of the original historical building. The rooms have a coffee maker but no refrigerator or microwave although you could zip down to the lobby to use their microwave.
The clerks at the front desk are friendly and attentive—Cesar in particular was very helpful. The front desk offers bottled water, board games, beach towels, complimentary bike rentals, passes to local lap pool, and complimentary wine reception on Monday/Wednesday/Friday afternoons.
The biggest draw-back is the unimaginative HIE standard breakfast which is calorie-dense and bland. Unfortunately, that is beyond their control.

Room Tip: in back of hotel--we stayed in room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank brownq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Brownq8,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We strive to give great service and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you made it to our wine receptions and were able to explore the city. I apologize for the hidden location of the refrigerators in the room and we will work towards providing more variety in our breakfast selection. We hope to see you next time you are in Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is conveniently located downtown Santa Barbara, walking distance from the beach, restaurants, shops, etc. It is a sort of historic building, which means the insulation is not great so my only complaint about the hotel is the noise. You can definitely hear your neighbors walking upstairs and/or talking next door. By all means try to avoid any room close to the elevator! I was assigned one the first night and it was impossible to sleep so they kindly moved me to another room the following day. Breakfast is basic but good and they offer a nice cheese and wine reception three times a week in the balcony. The mattresses are a bit too soft for my taste but otherwise the beds are comfortable and I loved having two choices of pillows. Wifi worked great, everything was clean and staff was very attentive. The complimentary bottled water was a nice touch as well. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Piolina,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you got the chance to explore the city and that you enjoyed our wine reception. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great hotel in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast, and very friendly & courteous staff. The staff actually made the stay very enjoyable, with their friendly greetings, advice on activities, and quick service when we requested an additional luggage rack. Would definitely stay again. Simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear CardiffKayaker,
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating. It is always motivating to read positive reviews! We hope to see you next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
475 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £126 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing