We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel clean,comfortable,and very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We came for 13 days and had a lovely time.The room was nice and clean the stuff were very helpful.Breakfast was basic but very nice.The location was great lots of shopping restaurants.The only problem was the internet,it's very very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Sharon L,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the high scores on service and location. We are currently updating our internet equipment, we appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you next time you come to Santa Barbara to visit your son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I'm giving this 4 points based mainly on its location - right in the center of town, walking distance from the local shops, bars and restaurants.

The room itself was clean and comfortable and the check in staff were friendly. Breakfast is basic - a choice of cereal, a few bagels and a pancake machine. We stayed on a Friday night (1 room for 2 adults/2 kids) and paid $277 plus tax plus parking. Whilst i don't think the hotel itself is worth over $300 for one night (basic room/basic amenities), I guess you're paying a premium for its location which is really fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear AmandaDJ,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and had the opportunity to explore the city. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Can't speak highly enough about the location of this hotel. Next to plenty of great restaurants and shopping. The parking can be a bit crowded in the hotel lot. The rooms are neat and clean and even though the hotel is in the center of town, the rooms are reasonably quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sixxmom,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with your room. I agree, our location is excellent for exploring all that downtown Santa Barbara has to offer. We hope to see you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel near state st, pier and beach. Staff fantastic, always smiling, helpful and polite. Near S.B.'s many attractions. Room on third floor was well appointed and clean. Wine evenings were good. Free breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear shoner2013,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to attend our wine reception. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had traveled to Santa Barbara for business. We had never been to the area before. Being from Austin TX, in the hill country, we are accustomed to beautiful natural surrounding. Our drive in from LAX was breathtaking and Santa Barbara was just gorgeous. When we arrived at the hotel, we knew we had made the right choice. It was boutiquey, clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was well laid out, although it did not have a desk, which is the only small complaint. You are 5 minutes driving to the Beach or mountains, so in a perfect spot as it is also smack downtown in a safe and clean area. The restaurants are healthy and within walking distance with phenomenal food. We will definitely be making this our Hotel of choice in Santa Barbara

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maczuga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear maczuga1,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and high scores. I'm happy to hear that our staff was accommodating and that you had the opportunity to visit our local restaurants. In the coming year we will be remodeling our guest rooms and adding desks to those rooms that are currently without them. We hope to see you next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Nice old building in the centre of Santa Barbara.
Everything from restaurants, bars and even the beach is walkable.
Staff were exceptionally friendly and were all extremely helpful.
Wine reception on Monday and Wednesday was very welcome after a couple of long days at work. Audrey (I think she was the hostess, was very good at her job and mixed with all the attendees) She even joined in on a few pranks we played on different members of our group.
One of our group had her 50th birthday whilst we were there and the hotel guest manager went out of his way to ensure she had a memorable stay. This was most appreciated, especially as she was away from her family.
Some aspects need remodelling, specifically the windows and the toilet seat.
Breakfast is basic, but standard HIE fare.
Would definitely come back again.
The staff were all great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as it can be a bit noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Hammo45,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our wine reception, our staff always appreciates being mentioned in reviews! Thank you for your feedback regarding room updates, we are currently in the process of renovating our guest rooms. We hope to see you next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We were only here for one night unfortunately but were very pleased with the location as it was just around the corner from lots of bars and restaurants. Room was very nice and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were helpful, especially with the parking. Only down side was the breakfast. Not enough seats for everyone and very slow at replacing the food. Had to wait over 5 minutes for more scrambled egg

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank terscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear terscotland,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and your room. I apologize for your poor experience at breakfast, we do have additional seating on our heated balcony. Your feedback will help us improve for future guests. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,009 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £117 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing