We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Once you get past the small rooms and slightly odd-smelling bathroom, this is a wonderful boutique hotel to stay in. Front desk staff definitely made an effort to be helpful, and the beds were quite comfortable. They even put both firm and soft pillows on the beds so we got to pick whichever one we were more comfortable with. The continental breakfast was quite interesting; there were cinnamon buns, biscuits w/ gravy, Yoplait yogurt, "egg" omelette with Cheez Whiz, and the regular continental breakfast goods.

The proximity to State Street and the 24-Hour Fitness on State Street is a HUGE plus. I'm so glad I found this place on TripAdvisor.

  • Liked — Pillow choice; proximity to State Street/ SB nightlife
  • Disliked — Rooms made me slightly claustrophobic.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ncbabyblue717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    314
    99
    41
    10
See reviews for
206
267
37
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed four nights at the beautiful Hotel Virginia. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, which is neat and the lobby reflects the old Spanish style that is so prevalent in Santa Barbara. I really did not like payign $9 a day for parking in the tiny lot, but there is such limited parking in Santa Barbara along State St., that I sucked it up and shelled it out. The room was spacious and was nicely decorated. Highlights included lots of open-able windows, a large flat screen TV, comfortable bed, free high speed Wi-Fi and a small fridge. The free breakfast included yogurt, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, muffins, bagels, english muffins, cereals, toast, tasty cinammon rolls, and assorted juices. There is a really nice second floor terrace on which you can enjoy your breakfast if you do not want to be in the sometimes crowded and noisy breakfast room. The beach and Stearns Warf is a 10 minute walk, including under the Hwy. 101 overpass. The heart of State Street is just down the way, including the beautiful outdoor mall called Paseo Nuevo. Really, the hotel is wonderfully central to all of the State Street dining and shopping.

  • Liked — Location, modernity
  • Disliked — Paying $9 per day for on-site parking
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank buckislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

This place was a pleasant surprise. It's an old hotel (Hotel Virginia) that has been gutted and refurbished. It reminds you of and old hotel in the western's on TV. The place was clean, well appointed, well run and close to the State Street. We had a great meal at Holdren's Restaurant on State Street. We only stayed one night and while our expectations were low, this is a nice place.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mainframer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
policleto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2008

I stayed in this hotel in July 08.
The lobby has a strange smell that isn't really welcoming. Other than that the location is great, just a few steps from state st. The rooms have a good size and look nice and clean. Mine was facing the street and if you leave the windows open you may hear some noise during the night.
The staff was ok, mainly summer jobs students I would guess.

  • Liked — Free wireless, big rooms
  • Disliked — Lobby smell
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank policleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Wow, this is my third stay at this excellent property and just gets better each time. The location is just off State St. (the main drag) and is within walking distance of every thing that SB offers. This year we made it a point to visit the Santa Barbara Museum of Art. Currently they have an exceptional second floor gallery devoted to Eastern culture with works from Japan, China, India and other Asian areas.

3 things that set this property apart... Prompt and courteous valet attendants. This is a necessity as parking can be hard to come by. Second a very nice breakfast buffet. Not 5 star mind you but Good coffee, Muffins, Bagels, Eggs ect. and it’s complimentary. There is a patio on the second floor with a nice mountain view. Perfect for a quiet breakfast. 3rd. they have a strict policy of not allowing noisy partiers to spoil your stay. This coupled with the charm of this remodeled 1920 vintage hotel provides the perfect accommodations for a visit to The Queen of California beach cities.

Do not miss the SB County Court House and Tower, Sterns Warf, SB Mission, SB Museum of Art, and near the Mission the SB Museum of Natural History. I grew up here so I know my way around. Get a Map and take a drive through, Montecito (where the movie stars live) and Hope Ranch (where the really well to do call home) Have a great stay...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not a thing...
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhodesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a roadtrip holiday to California.

Didn't expect a lot but was pleasantly surprised.

Had a warm welcome from the chaps at the check-in desk. Room was very unusual but seems to have been updated recently with flat screen tv's and new linen. No cleanliness issues at all.

Only 2 gripes would be the noise from the air-con. It was a very loud air-con unit and no way to silence it aside from turning it off altogether. The second gripe is the fact that the walls are very thin and we had trouble sleeping at night when other guests got in and made lots of noise walking past our room. Also the people above us decided that it would be fun to race the length of their bedroom at all hours of night so unfortunately we didn't sleep very well both nights. Not entirely the hotel's fault. Just inconsiderate guests.

The location was great for State Street shopping and not too far from the beach either.

Got great suggestions from the staff for lunch and dinner.

The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch but don't expect anything too flash. Filled a gap so I was happy.

Had a lovely stay overall despite lack of sleep and thought it was good value for money as most other Santa Barbara hotels are way more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights(June 30th & July1st 2008) The hotel is in a great location, park your car and walk or use the great trolley buses!
The room was good, very clean, well appointed and the staff were excellent.
The free breakfast was good, plenty of everything!
The balcony on the 1st floor is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine looking out above the town and hills.
I can recomend Santa Barbara as a great place to visit, we will go back again!
Whilst there make sure you visit some wineries, we used Cloud Climbers who provided a top rate day out, John, our driver, was a real pleasure, great info, fantastic wineries, good fun, we really enjoyed our day.
There are some good bars in town,one right at the end of the street, serving good food, and beer(although the wines on offer are a little expensive, when compared with buying from the wineries, my advice is do a tour buy some wine and relax on the balcony at the hotel...Enjoy!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing