We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
206 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were a group of 21 on Harleys travelling for about 3 weeks. Some hotels were really organised, others the total opposite. The staff had tried to prepare, but the process ended up a mess for a few of us.
The hotel treated us to complimentary wine and cheese on the deck late afternoon, as they do each Mon, Wed and Fri - quite pleasant.
Rooms facing the road were quite noisy, but not too bad.
The most expensive property of our tour, and payment required in advance.

Room Tip: Avoid road front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear donamlcolm,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to visit our complimentary wine reception during your stay. I apologize if there was confusion during check-in, it can be a little more complicated with large groups. Thank you for the feedback and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    308
    97
    41
    10
See reviews for
198
263
36
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars etc. Great room, great bed, helpful and friendly staff.
Santa Barbara is just beautiful, we planned one night and stayed two, it is just picture perfect with really friendly people.

Breakfast isn't great at the hotel but you are close enough to stroll up the street to one of the great cafes if you want good food.

Loved my stay in Santa Barbara!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Liz H,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our staff was helpful. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Shropshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here June 2014, after driving the big sur. Location is brat, within walking distance of the beach, pier and marina, also very close the the main eateries. We had good breakfast and free use of the internet pc's. There is a $12 parking charge per day, which is steep, but given its location I can understand why.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, so got a bit of road noise, but did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear NashJ,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Santa Barbara and were able to take advantage of our central location by walking around the city. We hope to see you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

David S.
My Family and I flew in from diferent parts of the country to enjoy a relaxing gathering in Beautiful Santa Barbara- We all stayed last year at the Holiday Inn Express and had a great time - This year was even better!!With the gracious hospitality of all the staff especially Johnathon at the front desk it made our stay this year a memorable experience. We will definately stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. Thks to all the staff

Room Tip: Spacious rooms-- Lot's of room to roam
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It's always great to hear positive feedback from our repeat guests! We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stay at the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara (on Haley Street) quite often. We stayed the night before our wedding and have made a point of coming back frequently, especially for anniversaries.

Our last visit was July 6, 2014. Emmanuel at the front desk was super friendly, knowledgeable and courteous and made sure to keep us hydrated with complimentary bottled water. He always greeted us with a pleasant smile and a look that said "I'm happy to help you." He also accommodated our request for a late check-out--which made all the difference.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. Everything is walking distance. We highly recommend it.

Laurie and Ruben

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ruben V,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Emmanuel provided excellent customer service. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is definitely one of the most amazing Holiday Inns you could ever stay at. The location is just perfect, a block away from the shops and restaurants. I really liked the fact that it was a historic building as well and that made my stay a complete Santa Barbara experience. A very comfortable room and very cool views of the mountains. Overall it was a lot more of a boutique hotel feel than a Holiday Inn. I only wish I stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear ValGor, Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I enjoyed the kind and professional nature of all of the employees I dealt with. I was most impressed with a young man named Jonathan who went above and beyond in making sure I had all my needs met. He aswered all of my questions and was overall very helpful. I will definately be coming back here the next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ryan r,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Jonathan was accommodating. We hope to see you next time you visit Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Property: Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing