We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice If You Get a Quiet Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2009

On previous visits I have stayed closer to the ocean but this time we opted for the centre of Santa Barbara. Being an historic building it had a bit more character then your average Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were small but pleasant. Unfortunately the building does not have double glazing and as our room was close to the street it was far too noisy (that and the elephant in the room above us). After our first night we asked to move rooms and this was done without any fuss. Our second room on the top floor and at the back of the building was much quieter. There were wildfires during our stay which was quiet worrying and meant we had to change some of our palns but the hotel staff were very helpful and reassuring.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2009

I have been staying here every month for the past 5 years and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. They are 1/2 block from State Street which means they are far enough from all the noise but close enough to walk just about anywhere in SB. The Manager and her staff are in a word "amazing" . They have always gone out of their way to make my stay the best it could possibly be. The beds are just as comfortable as the one in my own house. The rooms have flat screen tv's, free wireless highspeed internet, nicely tiled floors in the bathrooms, and exposed brick in some of the rooms too. All of this plus a full breakfast every morning. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BKOSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I am a frequent visitor to Santa Barbara, both for business and pleasue. When it is business, this HI Express is easily my hotel of choice. Santa Barbara is unique in that for a decent sized tourist friendly city, there are very few chain hotels. It is either very high-end resorts or take your chance bed and breakfasts. At least with the HI, you know what you are going to get; and that is a quality stay at a good price.

The hotel is a historic landmark (previously the Hotel Virginia) so it has character that a lot of the more modern cookie cuttie business hotels lack. The rooms are all refurbished with flat-screen televisions and central heat and a/c. Plus, the hotel has gone to great lenghts to ensure that a stay is a peaceful one - they have instituted a very strict noise policy called the "Good Neighbor Policy."

And the location cannot be beat, it is on the lower end of State Street (the main drag) and blocks from the Amtrak station and 101 freeway.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Although I loved the location of the hotel (close to State St. where everything is happening!), the continental breakfast was disappointing. The rooms were modern and clean, noise non-existent (requested back of hotel), and the front desk service was friendly. However, the next morning, we found that the breakfast food wasn't replenished at all in the 30 minutes we were there. We had the last sausage, no eggs, and there were plenty of pastries....but no bacon or omelet (maybe the eggs were omelets -- served plain?). We waited to see if the kitchen would bring out more food, but no...we peeked in the kitchen and there was no actual kitchen, just microwaves. Frozen food perhaps? For $200 a night, we expected more. Guess we paid for location mostly! We ended up eating elsewhere. I was going to to recommend this hotel for our next girls' trip out but perhaps not.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulubelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I just recently stayed at The Holiday Inn Express-Hotel Virginia from March 27, 2009-March 31, 2009. This was my 6th stay there in the last 2 years. I always stay at this hotel whenever I am in the Santa Barbara area. The staff are very courtesy and professional. The location can't be beat putting you in walking access to State Street, Stearns Wharf, the beach and train station.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBVisitor1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I travel to Santa Barbara monthly for business meetings. I always stay in the Holiday Inn Express. It is right off State Street, within walking distance to everything that is cool and fun to do in Santa Barbara. Great places to eat and hang out are just around the corner and the beach is just a few blocks away. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and newly updated. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

There didn't appear to be anyone in charge during our stay. One morning, several children were having a water fight in the water fountain in the entry way. This continued for at least 30 minutes, until the tile floor was soaked, and anyone who tried to enter or leave the hotel risked getting wet or slipping on the tile. The valet/doorman and front desk staff watched them and did nothing. One night from 2 - 2:30 a.m., a large group of guests shouted obscenities at each other down the hall. Again, half the hotel could hear this, but the management did nothing. When we complained in the morning and asked what had been done, the clerk said nothing. No apology, no action against the people causing the noise. The hotel has a posted policy that if you cause a disturbance, you will be asked to leave. You are even asked to initial that you have read this policy and agree to it. Apparently, this is not enforced.


It's too bad that this property is poorly managed, because the location was great. We checked out early, and will never go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaTCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara

Address: 17 W Haley St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £132 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a half block from State Street in historic Old Town Santa Barbara, the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara provides luxury and convenience for the sophisticated traveler. Downtown shopping and restaurants are steps from your door, and the beach and Stearns Wharf are four blocks away. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast served weekly from 6:30AM-9:30 am and from 7 am to noon on weekends as well as free WIFI throughout the hotel. As a pet-friendly hotel, we welcome furry companions for $45/stay (up to 2 pets under 50 lbs.). We offer affordable parking to our guests at a rate of $14/day for 2016 and $16/day as of January 1, 2017 as well as complimentary bike rentals, and nearby, off-site swimming pool and 24-hour fitness facility access. Stay with us in the heart of Santa Barbara, where you are steps from all the city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Santa Barbara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing