We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night * but not longer!”
Review of Coast Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coast Village Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ok for one night * but not longer!”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The price tag for this hotel says is all! If you going in summer be warned no Air Con, so the room can be quite hot and stuffy. The overall noise from the freeway and the railway line also noisy.
Having a car can be handy as your away from the Main Stream * Shopping, Beach etc.
It was a clean little motel and the little restaurants nearby we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Hire a car as there are so many interesting place to see. Stay closer to Sterns Wharf area as its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    75
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
41
73
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We arrived at the hotel approximately 4 hours before standard check in and were advised that we could check in within an hour. There were three of us, (2 adults and a twelve year old), and when I made the reservations, I declared that. However, upon checking in, I do not think they had it listed in their system, because the only room they had available for us was a queen size bed room. When we got to our room, it was small, but there was a rather large closet without a door, so we had our child sleep in there, on the floor, and it worked out just fine! The bed was very comfortable, but there was no A/C, so it got a little warm (we weren't willing to sleep with the window open). The pool was very nice, with plenty of areas to sit (shady and sunny). There were lots of beautiful flower baskets around, and I would definitely stay here again! The hotel gave us 2 $5 vouchers for breakfast at Jeaninne's Bakery.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back, which was completely fine...there was also plenty of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I had been to Santa Barbara many times, but had never really been to Montecito. We stayed here for one night in August 2012 as we were attending a concert at the Santa Barbara Bowl and wanted something a little different. On the one hand, I thought the property was sort of a gussied up motel with reproduction vintage furnishings, but on the other hand I thought it was quaint and a sweet place to stay (much more interesting than a big hotel chain).

Positives: reasonably priced for the area; very friendly staff; nice heated pool (on the low end only 3 feet high, so kids can stand up by themselves); $5 off voucher per person for breakfast at Jeanne's Bakery and Cafe (starts with a J, not sure of exact name) across the street (v. good, go early for a seat outside); in and out parking for only $3.

Negatives: probably the only negatives were no A/C (just a ceiling fan) and some noise from the street, but this did not really bother us.

Room Tip: We chose a room with two full size beds for two adults and one child - this was fine. There is no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HibiscusDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I have different opinions about this hotel. I thought it was a great place to stay. It was clean and the staff was great. My wife would have liked air conditioning and a coffee maker in the room. Coffee was offered in the lobby and the weather was mild. The rooms were not noisy. Compared to other hotels in the area, this was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London SE27
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Coast Village Inn just outside Santa Barbara in the rather genteel & well to do area, Montecito. On site parking was an extra $3 a day, which I would have preferred to be included at the time of booking. The location appeared very safe & secure, with numerous attractive & non -chain shops, cafes, restaurants etc.

Staff we encountered were always courteous & helpful.

The hotel is quite a distance from the centre of Santa Barbara, which I had not fully appreciated until we arrived. It took us 40mins to walk from the hotel to State Street (main street in Santa Barbara). However, there is access to a beach within 5-10mins walk (Butterfly Beach I think).The hotel did offer bikes for hire, but we did not use. There were buses into town but these tended to be rather infrequent.

Our room was a studio with a double bed & foldaway sofa bed. It was spacious and quiet, albeit rather dark. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean & fresh. It was cleaned & tidied to a high standard every day.

The TV was flat screen & a reasonable size for the room. There was also a DVD player but you would have to bring your own DVD's as there were none to borrow at the reception.

Bathroom was good with shower & bath combination. Shower control did require some adjustments to achieve correct & steady temperature. Lots of soft towels were provided.

There was a small fridge, but no coffee/tea maker or in room safe.Wifi access was free & appeared quick & reliable.There was an ice machine on site.

We enjoyed the good sized pool which was clean & well maintained. Separate towels were available by the pool.

There was no on site laundry facilities & the nearest launderette was in Santa Barbara itself, Montecito appearing rather too upmarket for such a service.

Breakfast was not available in the hotel but they gave you $5 daily credit per person for breakfast at local restaurant Jeannine's, ( average price I think $9- $14) 5 mins down the road. The food at Jeannine's we considered to be very good indeed & the place was always full & had a buzzy, but laid back atmosphere. It offers breakfast & lunch but closes at 4pm.There is often a queue & breakfast is available only until 10.00am.

In summary, we were very satisfied with the Coast Village Inn & we had a relaxing & very pleasant stay in this lovely little hotel. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

room number 18 is next to their laundry machines, which they begin using at 7 AM.

I complained to the clerk. She apologized and said she will take note not to put me in room 18 next stay.

There will not be a "next stay" thank you.

I did not pay $160 to be rudely awakened by washing machines. If one can't get restful sleep at a hotel, then it is useless.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs011714f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

This was my second time staying here and it was as great as I remembered it. I stayed last summer with my boyfriend and we decided to stay here again earlier this month. When we first drove in we noticed some upgrades. The landscaping looked amazing and it looks like they painted the hotel. I have read the other reviews and noticed people complaining that the rooms are too small. I talked with the front desk girl and found out the hotel was built in the 1930s which is why the rooms are on the small side. Aside from the room size, the hotel is very clean, charming, has comfortable beds and great service. The rooms are definitely worth every penny for what you get. This is the only place we will stay when visiting Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L2T1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
964 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
945 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
877 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Village Inn

Property: Coast Village Inn
Address: 1188 Coast Village Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2717
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coast Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1935, Coast Village Inn offers a relaxing retreat for family vacations, romantic getaways, and wine-tasting tours. Plan your escape and get ready to relax and unwind on California's Central Coast. With 28 guest rooms to choose from, we can accommodate nearly any size group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Village Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing