We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Modest Hotel in a small coastal town”
Review of Coast Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Village Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Modest Hotel in a small coastal town”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

we stayed at this hotel in mid December 2012. It is actually about 10 miles or so south of Santa Barbara, Ca. we checked in late in the day about 7p but the only room they had on sale on the web was upstairs w/o elevator. I asked the girl at the front desk if I could have a room on the bottom floor due to small children and besides it was also late in the night and we only stay one night. She said no, not very flexible to my situation but we had no choice with the budget we had. They charge for parking?! Although it was only $3, we ended up paying just about $110 for total with tax & fees for one night. The double queen beds were comfortable and the room was decent & clean. Wifi is available. Beware the water bottle in the room is at the rate of $8 per bottle. DO NOT OPEN the water bottle provided by the hotel. The bathroom is small & old, but clean. The towels were rough. There is a small closet area to put your baggage & such. I didn't use the iron so not sure if there was one in the room or not.
For breakfast, we walked down to the front desk area for some coffee & hot cocoa. They provided a voucher for $5 breakfast at a nearby (walking distance) to the bakery shop. We got some baggles & muffins, but the hot breakfast runs about $8-10 so I had to pay for the difference.
Overall, the place was nice for the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netcoupon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    75
    30
    11
    14
See reviews for
41
72
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We made our reservations via a third party on the day of arrival...Upon checking in, we very pleasantly surprised with a upgrade to a King Bed in a spacious room. The accommodations were quite lovely, the bed was very comfortable, room was very clean.
The staff was EXCELLENT, we enjoyed the quaint hotel, wonderful staff and the fabulous location that we opted to stay another night. The first morning we commented on the wonderful coffee that was served in the lobby ( we didn't mind one bit that there was no coffee machine in the room) and at check out we were presented with coffee for us to take home. NOW that is truly a staff that listens and exceeds in customer service.
Thank you for your wonderful hospitality... we truly look forward to our return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at the Coast Village Inn a couple of weeks ago. It is really an amazing place. Set right in the middle of Coast Village Road in Montecito, it is in a prime location, yet (most) of the rooms are less than $150 per night. The rooms were clean, comfortable and modern and the bath products were above average. They even had a heated pool. Every morning we were given $5 off coupons to Jeanine's bakery which is just a short walk down the road, and a delicious spot for breakfast. This is my new go-to place when visiting Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: The Queen Studio on the ground floor, very spacious and opens up right next to the pool, a very cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Clean rooms, excellent housekeeping services, and a very friendly and most helpful staff. Good restaurants nearby and about a 15 minute stroll to the beach. Our room was tiny, but fine for our needs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We got a good deal on this motel on priceline. However had we paid full price we probably would have been a bit disapointed, as it was pretty crammed really. And you heard everyone early next morning as though they were in your living room, particularly as the walkway went past the window to the room. Location wise in SB is excellent, and the staff were informative. Probably wont go back and would have been dissapointed if paying full. Family with young kids next door, and you could hear everything they said, and did. Not their fault but the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellecardno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a motor inn type of place, clean, convenient to Montecito shops and restaurants. We paid less than 100/night due to this special. The room lighting was problematic: overhead light needed a manual to operate it; bathroom light came on automatically at night so you woke the other person up b/c it was not possible to close the door quickly enough; no light in the deep (dark) closet Inadequate towel racks. Great cleaning service and friendly staff, prompt service. $5 each at Jeannine's Bakery for breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Recently stayed here (Sept 2012) and not best pleased. Although it appears to have recently undergone a make over ( lick of not well applied paint) it falls well short of what one would expect regarding valve for money, I feel they rely heavly on the area hence do not care about customer satisfaction.
1. No air conditionng be prepared to leave doors and windows open as the large ceiling fan does not do the job.
2. Breakfast can be found several blocks away in a very busy cafe.
3. No elevators be prepared to haul luggage up several oustide stairs.
4. They have now decided to charge $3 a night for you to park you car in the hotel grounds !!!!
5. Located on a busy main road and traffic noise starts around 05.30 am and you cannot shut it out unless you roast.
Would not recommend unless your desperate

Room Tip: Try for a room down stairs away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Village Inn

Property: Coast Village Inn
Address: 1188 Coast Village Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2717
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coast Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1935, Coast Village Inn offers a relaxing retreat for family vacations, romantic getaways, and wine-tasting tours. Plan your escape and get ready to relax and unwind on California's Central Coast. With 28 guest rooms to choose from, we can accommodate nearly any size group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Village Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing