We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The police were called to stem the midnight pool party..”
Review of Coast Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Village Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went here with friends who are regulars including someone who uses it on business. We booked well ahead (3 months) and choose King rooms, front facing. The rooms are simple and the beds are heavenly. However, on our first night all hell broke loose when a wedding party returned and continued to party on the stairs, on the landings, in the pool. It was really truly awful. Whilst management did all they could, the police should have been called sooner and the guests should not have been allowed to stay a second night. Even after the place had calmed down and the police left, the party goers continued to make loads of noise. We had little sleep and had to pack up, move rooms and downsize. They have lost our custom, and our friends who are locals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was interested in booking this Motel / Hotel for a week or two in the near future so went personally to the "Office" - and requested to take a look at a room if possible as it could be more than a couple of weeks.
Possible - at 3pm - ? No, apparently all 27 rooms were occupied at that moment ( do they believe in Santa Claus?) they were apparently not interested in a long term booking, they had enough customers and a good going business they said... odd way to run it though, as though they maybe had something to hide?!
The reviews , sound good and would have liked to stay there, but the 2 girls couldn't manage to take a booking, check it out online I was told- too much of an effort.
Being where they were, business is obviously good, but is this how you run a good business ?? No, keep dreaming , now next door it was different - they appreciated $2000 + of business....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank m d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I felt we needed to get some cool ocean breeze after a very hot week where we lived. Santa Barbara sounded great but we had a hard time finding a hotel that was not way overpriced or booked. We finaly found Coast Village Inn, not exactly in Santa Barbara but in the beautiful village of Monticito just a mile away. It had most of the things we needed, a comfortable king bed, a kitchenette, and a couple of blocks from the ocean, in fact you can get a view of the ocean from their driveway or the second floor. since we cannot climb steps we were lucky to have a first floor room available. the only thing I did not like about the first floor you had to close the curtains when getting dressed. the room was clean but nothing special. the staff was very nice.

Room Tip: no air-conditioning, just a ceiling fan. people walk by the first floor windows to get to their car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This place is charming and great value.
Some of the earlier historic reviews may or may not be justified .
There are some people who will never be satisfied and they always write a review to tell others .
Thankfully they will not be at the Coast Village Inn and better for it.
The price is always right . It is a motel that is being constantly renovated and the rooms have improved greatly in the years we have been staying here.
Charming staff , super pool and the noise mentioned earlier is only made by noisy people and that can happen anywhere.
Stay at CVI , enjoy the elegant ambience of beautiful Montecito, take you $5 voucher to Jeannines bakery for the best coffee and breakfast and decide if you got great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelB829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

When I go to Santa Barbara solo I book the CVI, and have done this a half dozen times. The downside is that the rooms are small, the outside noises seem to be amplified at times, the parking is little funky. The upside is that the property is generally quiet, the housekeeping is excellent, the linens and toiletries are of quality....and the price is extremely competitive. It's Motel 6 with a Montecito pedigree, walking distance to beach, shops and nice restaurants on Coast Village Rd. It's no frills, but the WiFi is free and there's a $5 coupon per day for a popular breakfast place 2 blocks away. I usually request something on the top floor rear to minimize noise, and best to book well in advance since this place seems to have a high occupancy rate. The CVI is not a place you'd write home about, but it's well run and definitely Montecito on a budget.

Room Tip: Request a top floor back room, but park in front. The back parking lot is a squeeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This is a typical motel that has been upgraded. Everything in the room is first class. There is no AC. With the window open, it was comfortable in
July, but you do hear some noise, not bad, though. We heard a train, but not during the night...we were there on the weekend. There was a two night minimum as it was the Fourth....$200 a night plus $3 to park, so not cheap, but best buy for the neighborhood. We were there to attend a private party, so were not in the hotel during the day. They have coffee in the lobby (paper cups). The staff was very nice and they are there 24/7. They gave us a $5 chit each towards breakfast at Jeannine's, an excellent place. It is a couple blocks down the street, a nice walk. We were on the second floor, no elevators, but we could carry our luggage...they offered help if we needed it. The view was of the parking lot and the street....looking towards the ocean, but not really an ocean view. But as I said, we were only there to spend the night. The first might we walked several blocks down Coast Village Road to The Montecito Cafe (the restaurant in their much more upscale sister hotel), and our dinner was excellent. There are other restaurants in the area, also. It is a nice street to walk along, many shops, etc. The Montecito Inn had a 3 night minimum for the weekend of the Fourth, so we opted for the Coast Village Inn. The CVI also has free wi fi in the room, so that is a plus!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our stay in this hotel was absolute comfortable, the rooms are clean and the service is friendly. The location is near to the street where you can find excellent breakfast opportunities. The rooms are small but with nice style. If you book with kitchen, the kitchen is simple and comfort only moderate. But I can recommend the rooms without kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,039 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,474 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Village Inn

Address: 1188 Coast Village Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2717
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £93 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coast Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1935, Coast Village Inn offers a relaxing retreat for family vacations, romantic getaways, and wine-tasting tours. Plan your escape and get ready to relax and unwind on California's Central Coast. With 28 guest rooms to choose from, we can accommodate nearly any size group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coast Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Village Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing