We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

It was inexpensive, but it was still a tiny room with no a /c. The area was kind of business like, but a few restaurants close by and a quick walk to the beach. Unremarkable is probably the best word.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    73
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
41
68
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Coast Village Inn is a very clean and perfectly located hotel in Montecito. Santa Barbara is a quick 5 minute drive to state street. Montecito has many very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and there is a Von's shopping center again within walking distance with many great shops. I really like the Montecito area. The one problem was it was 94 degrees that day, not common in Montecito, and there was only a ceiling fan, so it was a bit warm that night. Lila at the front desk was amazing with places to have lunch and dinner. I will be staying there when I go to the Santa Barbara area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

There are only three hotels in Montecito proper. The Biltmore is so expensive it's not even on my radar. That leaves Montecito Inn and The Coast Village Inn. Both I believe are owned by same people and are a block from each other. I have stayed in both. Coast village is the lesser expensive. It is old, as is Montecito Inn but without the charm. It is very clean and serviceable, very small bath. Not a good choice if you are really tall or burly. It is more like a motor lodge with every door opening to outside. I was concerned that people tramping along the balcony/ walkway would be a problem but even though it was a Sat night people settled down early. Front desk people very nice but they charge $3 for parking! If you are not familiar with the area you should know that the 'town' is very small and not much in way of shopping although there are enough restaurants to choose from. The inn had bikes I think which you can ride to beach but other than that you absolutely need a car. Much more to do and see in Santa Barbara. I only stay in Montecito because it is very close to my daughter's college which is up the hill in Montecito.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dspolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buttersalt2000
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I really want to be able to return to this awesome motel and not have to compete with other people or higher prices, but it was such a surprising and wonderful discovery that I am morally obligated to share. This lovely hotel was a shockingly good value in Montecito. The hotel is located right in the center of town and is super convenient. The room was clean and tasteful, sunny, comfortable and well-appointed. We got a $5 voucher for breakfast at a great local restaurant each day. I appreciated the tea and coffee service in the lobby and the warm reception we received. A ridiculously good bargain for the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttersalt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Short and sweet. Best value in the best location. Can rent bikes and ride to water activities in Santa Barbara.
This Room was booked through Hotels.com which just iced the cake. Clean room, comfortable surroundings and accommodating staff. The coffee, complementary was awesome! I would recommend it and be sure to discover the secret pathway to the beach, unbelievable.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from the front rooms so save a few dollars and take one facing the east. Rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were looking for a convenient place to stay and to use as a base while we were in the Santa Barbara area, this place worked out very well. A very nice clean comfortable room with a breakfast voucher to a great cafe (Jeannines) just down the street. This inn is just to the north of 1-101 which makes it easy access, but far enough to reduce noise. Lobby provided excellent coffee. While walking around town, just a couple blocks to the west of the inn and just east of the Chevron station, we discovered a tunnel that goes under 101 and leads to the beach.

Room Tip: We had a queen room. We would try for a king in front next time. Queen room was rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

When you are looking for a value hotel on a shoestring budget, this is the hotel for you. It is clean and on the small side. Would recommend getting a top floor room or one on the end as the walls conduct noise easily (bring earplugs). The staff in the front office--both shifts--were extremely nice and helpful. There is tea and coffee in the lobby which was very nice. We enjoyed the location: had a wonderful walk to the ocean by the Biltmore/Four Seasons property and walked Butterfly Beach. We felt very safe doing this in the dark of night and during the day. There were others jogging, walking and enjoying the ocean breezes and warm weather. Santa Barbara is just a couple of minutes away by car. The $5 breakfast coupon to Jeannine's was a nice surprise. There is a restaurant being remodeled in the Coast Village Inn's parking lot, so it was a little noisier than typical. We would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Village Inn

Property: Coast Village Inn
Address: 1188 Coast Village Road, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coast Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1935, Coast Village Inn offers a relaxing retreat for family vacations, romantic getaways, and wine-tasting tours. Plan your escape and get ready to relax and unwind on California's Central Coast. With 28 guest rooms to choose from, we can accommodate nearly any size group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Coast Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Village Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing