We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, good location”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cozy place, good location”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Agave Inn Hotel is one of those cozy inns that gives a lot of attention to the details. The rooms were small (which we can see from the pictures of the hotel itself), but large enough for my husband and I in one night stay in our way to San Francisco. The decoration is clean and modern. I was concerned that we were going to have problems with the noise, since it's located in a very busy avenue of Santa Barbara and most rooms are faced to the street, but I slept very well, no noise at all, They offer some pastries, coffee and tea as a plus for the guests, it's not a full breakfast. However, they recommend this nice, genuine French cafe near the hotel, which has excellent croissant and coffee. Wi-Fi access was very good, I would suggest bigger towels in the bathroom - ours were too small.

Room Tip: Try the rooms in the first floor - no elevators!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlawRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    180
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
80
226
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed a few days ago at the Agave Inn in Santa Barbara. After I did a research for a place to stay and read the reviews, I was captivate by the 4 stars, location and price that Agave Inn offered. It was perfect to my budged. I booked a room few hours before my arrival at Santa Barbara. Remarkable outstanding stay. The room was clean with a comfortable bed.( I couldn't believe I slept for 10 hours when 6 hrs are normal to me.) Suzan and Wendy were extremely polite. Suzan took in consideration I was a solo traveler woman and she switched me to another room far from the street. It was very thoughtful of her. She also spend time giving me information about good places to get dinner. The included continental breakfast was good!. Everything was absolutely wonderful at the Agave Inn, and I could not have been happier. I highly recommend this place to travelers. And definitely, when I'm visiting Santa Barbara, I will book at the Agave Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lidia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

It doesn't look like much from the outside, just another motel on a street full of simple motels. However, the rooms were surprisingly unique, cheery and comfortable, because of a few little touches that most motels would never think to add. The rooms, while still simple, feel as if you stepped into a boutique motel and left me thinking, 'Huh, I didn't expect this at all, this is excellent."

The staff were very friendly, the simple breakfast was a nice touch and the location is more than adequate.

I would definitely recommend this place, especially for the price.

Room Tip: While the room closest to the street might have some noise, we stayed in the room that was 2nd close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great little motel with darling hospitable owners. The ladies are eager to help. I am from Santa Barbara and it is a great location with some good places to eat within easy walking distance. The prices are fabulous for Santa Barbara. No pool and really not a great place for kids but as a quick stop as you are traveling up or down the California coast it is a great value.

Room Tip: As far off the street as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Agave Inn is a small motel in the heart of Santa Barbara. We had a tiny but very clean room. There are restaurants and shops nearby. The staff is friendly and helpful. For the location, it is very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Good location, quiet at night even though on busy road, walking distance to lots of eating places. Room and bathroom were spacious and clean, we appreciated the small fridge and microwave. Bathroom supplies were plentiful. We also liked the table and plenty of good adjustable lighting. Parking could be a problem, there are limited spaces for guests but more is available next door. .For Santa Barbara the price was reasonable .We would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and as we hadn't booked when we arrived we had to change rooms for the second evening. Staff moved our bags for us while we were out which was lovely. They were extremely welcoming, friendly and assisted with providing a map and some great local tips. The rooms are expensive, but you won't find anything cheaper in the area on State St, and not in the same condition. Rooms are decorated beautifully with a Mexican flair and they were spotless. Car parking available but quickly fills - easy to find a spot in the street to the back. Breakfast was simple as they stipulate but there is fruit available (a rarity I find at these places) and good coffee. In Santa Barabara, highly recommend going to The Funk Zone and visiting the vineyards there rather than going into the wine country so you don't have to drive. Thanks again for our pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.6 mi away
Presidio Motel
Presidio Motel
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Property: Agave Inn
Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing