We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Time Occupant - NOT LAST!!!”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I contacted the Agave Inn because I had seen an article in the Los Angeles Times regarding affordable STAYS in Santa Barbara. Well, from making the reservation, to checking in and out, it was an easy stay. The room was clean, HD TV, comfy bed, breakfast in the morning along with, the L.A. Times set out for the occupants. It is on upper State St. and near to markets, bookstore, Harry's Bar and lots more. So happy I found this little jewel of an INN. Katherine Chapman Wetzel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

For the money I'd give it 5 stars. Really comfy bed. Good wifi signal. Clean room and all quite new. Coffee and muffins for breakfast and close access to restaurants, supermarkets etc.

The lady on reception was really nice and helpful too and although the room was close to a main road it was surprisingly quiet at night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bertpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The woman who checked me in was warm & delightful providing lots of good restaurant/bakery info. There are plenty of places in the Gelson's shopping center across the street.
The room was small but stylish and cool. The bathroom was a good size for such a small room. The bed was comfortable. Wifi signal was spotty, but worked overall. My room was very quiet except when the people who parked in front of my door kept using their car alarm and chatting very loud as they came and went. Once they were in though it was peaceful and surprisingly quiet. I really liked this little place and will return. It's a great place to stay for 1-3 nights. Right off Las Positas/State it's only 1/4 mile or so from the freeway. Excellent location!

Room Tip: Room 8 was very quiet and furthest from the street of all the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The rooml was small but clean. The bed appears to be full sizes which was small for two people. The rooms have a microwave, refrigerator and a strong Wifi signal which was free. In the morning they offer coffee, fruit, scones and muffins. It is situated about three miles from the downtown area. It is midway between downtown and Goleta. A Trader Joes is within a short walk on De La Vina Street if you want a snack. The Agave Inn is less expensive than hotels by the sea or in downtown; good value for your money.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms by State Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oc_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Agave Inn Hotel is one of those cozy inns that gives a lot of attention to the details. The rooms were small (which we can see from the pictures of the hotel itself), but large enough for my husband and I in one night stay in our way to San Francisco. The decoration is clean and modern. I was concerned that we were going to have problems with the noise, since it's located in a very busy avenue of Santa Barbara and most rooms are faced to the street, but I slept very well, no noise at all, They offer some pastries, coffee and tea as a plus for the guests, it's not a full breakfast. However, they recommend this nice, genuine French cafe near the hotel, which has excellent croissant and coffee. Wi-Fi access was very good, I would suggest bigger towels in the bathroom - ours were too small.

Room Tip: Try the rooms in the first floor - no elevators!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CarlawRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed a few days ago at the Agave Inn in Santa Barbara. After I did a research for a place to stay and read the reviews, I was captivate by the 4 stars, location and price that Agave Inn offered. It was perfect to my budged. I booked a room few hours before my arrival at Santa Barbara. Remarkable outstanding stay. The room was clean with a comfortable bed.( I couldn't believe I slept for 10 hours when 6 hrs are normal to me.) Suzan and Wendy were extremely polite. Suzan took in consideration I was a solo traveler woman and she switched me to another room far from the street. It was very thoughtful of her. She also spend time giving me information about good places to get dinner. The included continental breakfast was good!. Everything was absolutely wonderful at the Agave Inn, and I could not have been happier. I highly recommend this place to travelers. And definitely, when I'm visiting Santa Barbara, I will book at the Agave Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lidia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

It doesn't look like much from the outside, just another motel on a street full of simple motels. However, the rooms were surprisingly unique, cheery and comfortable, because of a few little touches that most motels would never think to add. The rooms, while still simple, feel as if you stepped into a boutique motel and left me thinking, 'Huh, I didn't expect this at all, this is excellent."

The staff were very friendly, the simple breakfast was a nice touch and the location is more than adequate.

I would definitely recommend this place, especially for the price.

Room Tip: While the room closest to the street might have some noise, we stayed in the room that was 2nd close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
892 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
400 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £83 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi, free parking, coffee maker in all room and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing