We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortabled Beds and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Clean, Comfortabled Beds and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Enjoyed staying at Agave Inn. Very clean room with comfortable bed and beddings. Super friendly service. Susan and Wendy who run the place made sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Highly recommend to others and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    179
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
78
223
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was lovely (once we found it!), checked in really easily, we were given lots of advice about the area and recommendations on where to eat, were even sent an email with lots of info. Room was really big and very clean, shower was heaven too! Free wifi was great and didn't drop out, a must when travelling with your daughter! All in all a great little find, brilliant location, would highly recommend.
NB. Don't walk to the beach from here, it's a good 3-4 miles though it doesn't look that on the map!

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room and got room 22, absolutely massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaahew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location 4/5
Cleanliness 5/5
Staff friendliness 5/5
Bathroom 4,5/5

- Location was little bit far from city center.
- The walk to the city center / beach is beautiful
- The owner is very hospitable.
- Discount when you book on their website.
- Overall clean.
- Modern rooms.
- Superfriendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gil_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I saw the Agave as we drove past it last year and thought it looked like a fun place to stay. We found it when we were planning a trip this year and decided to give it a go. We loved it. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the management was friendly and welcoming. We could only stay for a couple nights but look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pips E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Agave Inn is managed by the same great team who used to run the late, lamented Presidio Motel down the street -- so whenever I'm in SB I stay at The Agave Inn whose rooms have the same ambiance and attention to artistic detail we enjoyed at The Presidio. On top of the looks, they also have current accoutrements such as great beds and bathrooms, work desk areas, devices like clock radios that really work -- that kind of detail. On a recent visit we got lucky and had a room with a view of citrus trees, the mountains, and bougainvillea bursting with color outside our windows. Every time we're there we throw open the windows to let evening breezes in. It is in a nice part of town.

The motels managed by these kind folks must enjoy significant publicity in Europe because we always run into interesting travelers from far away when we visit -- a nice extra added touch. And The Agave Inn features a porch seating area for the upstairs rooms, a welcome addition on hot days.

As for dining options, the staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful in directing guests to interesting local restaurants, and each room also has a binder-ful of local touring and eating options detailed. Within walking distance are scads of little restaurants. The complimentary continental breakfast on our last visit included a variety of fresh fruit along with very good coffee and the expected pastries and other carbs. If this is not to your taste, there is a cafe just across State Street.

There is a convenient trolley service to the lower (or upper) part of State Street from here, and a bike lane all the way along State Street as well, should you choose to take a complimentary bike ride. My personal in-room dining suggestion is to pick up a meal from the excellently-stocked takeaway section of the Whole Foods store a short drive "up the hill" near the top of State Street. They are open all day every day.

AND, the price is very competitive for the Santa Barbara region.

Did I mention that the best knitting/yarn shop in town is a couple of blocks away?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank crankybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I chose the Agave Inn based on the photos because it did not look like your "average hotel". The room itself had a very used look to it but clean & the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had very limited space to set your toiletries around the sink so I kept my bathroom kit on the floor. Towel racks or hooks to hang clothes on while you were changing were in short supply. We had an upper level room to the back so we never heard traffic noise from State Street. Our window overlooked an alley. Some cars used the alley but noise was not an issue. The veiw from our window (not looking down at the alley, but over it) was nice - back yards with orange trees & flowering vines growing on the fences. Parking is limited but we never had a problem. We were able to walk to several breakfast places, & a drug store, (I think there was a grocery as well but we didn't go there).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at the agave because I was in town for a week visiting my family. It is simple, clean, functional, and comfortable no frills lodging. The free continental breakfast was great, the service and cleanliness are impeccable. It's great for singles or couples travelers. Not a great place to bring kids unless you're passing thru. No pool. A great place at a great price! Will stay again ! Not close to the beach, thus the cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasquatchonsugarlaof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#31 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.6 mi away
Presidio Motel
Presidio Motel
#34 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Property: Agave Inn
Address: 3222 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing