We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable cute place. Good location.”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with a family of three. Large spacious room with comfortable new beds. Well decorated and colorful. Pleasant change from typical drab and boring chain hotel rooms. Very clean and quiet location. Easy to find. Too far away from downtown to walk but only about 5 min away by car. Parking was limited so we had to park in the lot next door and needed to move the car by 9 am the next morning but it wasn't an issue because we planned on leaving early anyway. Staff seemed friendly enough but didn't have too much interaction with them other than at check in. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danwad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

When I first looked into the hotel, it seemed really small. However as I approached the check-in desk, the staff was fast to respond. So, check-in process was easy and fast.

Although the queen room was very small, the bed was very clean. Another thing is that the rooms smelled really nice.

They were also really generous to give us extra beds and more pillows.

One criticism I would add is that the room lights were really hot. If they could use LED lightbulbs instead of traditional ones, it would elevate my stay-in experience.

Room Tip: Get the king if you can! (If you have a party of more than one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ishow404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a lovely night in this cosy hotel: loved we the way it was decorated; the lady was adorable and enthusiastic about recommending us nice places to visit in the area; the room was extremely clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Enjoyed staying at Agave Inn. Very clean room with comfortable bed and beddings. Super friendly service. Susan and Wendy who run the place made sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Highly recommend to others and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was lovely (once we found it!), checked in really easily, we were given lots of advice about the area and recommendations on where to eat, were even sent an email with lots of info. Room was really big and very clean, shower was heaven too! Free wifi was great and didn't drop out, a must when travelling with your daughter! All in all a great little find, brilliant location, would highly recommend.
NB. Don't walk to the beach from here, it's a good 3-4 miles though it doesn't look that on the map!

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room and got room 22, absolutely massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaahew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location 4/5
Cleanliness 5/5
Staff friendliness 5/5
Bathroom 4,5/5

- Location was little bit far from city center.
- The walk to the city center / beach is beautiful
- The owner is very hospitable.
- Discount when you book on their website.
- Overall clean.
- Modern rooms.
- Superfriendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gil_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I saw the Agave as we drove past it last year and thought it looked like a fun place to stay. We found it when we were planning a trip this year and decided to give it a go. We loved it. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the management was friendly and welcoming. We could only stay for a couple nights but look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pips E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
890 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £84 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi, free parking, coffee maker in all room and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing