We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad People”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bad People”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Today we have arrived at this hotel with a confirmed reservation (2 months ago) in the arrival time indicated on the web and we have found that our room has been assigned to other people. So, they have left us in the street and have done ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to help us.

The incompetent woman that is in the office justify their action because they have attempted to collect in the afternoon the total amount of the reserve and have found some problem. It Is absolutely false because I have use my credit card just now to chek in in another hotel...
the most surprising is not trying to find any solution.

Bad people. Avoid it!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    179
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
79
226
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here as a group heading down the coast. Santa Barbara seems to be an expensive place for accommodation and this was good value in terms of what we could find with the availbility we needed. It is some way out of the main part of Santa Barbara (10 - 15 minutes in a cab). The rooms were clean (we saw how the previuos guests had left the room when we arrived early and it was very clean when we returned later on. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. We had the rooms upstairs and the little balcony area was a good place for us to hang out and have a drink before heading out to dinner. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tour_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very Nice and helpfull staff at the agave inn. Also the room was very good and clean and Big . We travelled 5 persons (3 teens) and there where pleanty of room for us. The Price is very resonably for What you get. We Will defently recommend agave in to other people :-)
Thank you , we Will be back , we hope

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans Og Lise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I believe from experience that you can find a better hotel for the same money. The hotel was clean and friendly and well kept. Overall a reasonable choice except for amenities and price of room is too high for number of amenities.

Room Tip: Check other motels around and you will find a better price for more motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CulinaryEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We love this place. You can tell that the owners went the extra mile to make it a pleasant experience. All the details down to the numbers on the door are thoughtfully decorated. Comfortable beds, rooms stocked with everything you would need including an iPod Dock. Great flat screens. Far better than any motel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I guess the difference between the owner running the place is she really cares about her guests and cleanliness of the rooms. For a budget motel this is a winner. Without a car it's not walking distance to downtown but the bus is right across the street and runs every 15, we found no problem getting around. They serve a little breakfast of muffins fruit and coffee outside on a cupboard in the mornings. I prefer my own breakfast but it was a nice offering
Would reccomend to anyone just looking for clean comfy place to sleep after seeing the sights all day

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Omtaratara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schererville, in
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with a family of three. Large spacious room with comfortable new beds. Well decorated and colorful. Pleasant change from typical drab and boring chain hotel rooms. Very clean and quiet location. Easy to find. Too far away from downtown to walk but only about 5 min away by car. Parking was limited so we had to park in the lot next door and needed to move the car by 9 am the next morning but it wasn't an issue because we planned on leaving early anyway. Staff seemed friendly enough but didn't have too much interaction with them other than at check in. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danwad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.6 mi away
Presidio Motel
Presidio Motel
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Property: Agave Inn
Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi,continental breakfast,and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing