We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building, but experience needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Jose Santa Clara
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice building, but experience needs work”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a multimonth so I got to know the hotel quite well. Building is great - clean, modern rooms with kitchenettes. They're still working out some kinks, apparently, as I had to move rooms three times because they needed to fix something. No one on staff bothered to help me move, despite asking me to do so on a weekday...when I'm on business travel. Maids consistently forgot to clean the room when I took the do no disturb sign down on weekends- the front desk would have some excuse, I had dirty towels and sheets. Calls up that I had mail were consistently made on Sunday evenings - didn't realize USPS was working overtime these days... Overall the staff just don't seem to really be functioning on the professional level you'd expect of a Marriott brand. Sure, it's a cheaper extended stay, but most guests are there for long periods and paying good money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaloMarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
4
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eastcoast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Plusses of this hotel - Feels like a little apartment. You get your own kitchen, sitting area, and work station. Everything is new, so very clean, including tub and bathroom. Loved the wood laminate floors. Kitchen is complete with stove, dishwasher, plates, pans, cooking utensils and other dinnerware including a salad spinner.
Minuses - Nothing around. Your views include Sizzler, Jack in the Box and McDonalds. Some of the staff members must be so new to the business. They don't know how to anticipate customers' needs. I am a platinum Marriott Rewards member, and inspite my profile asking for certain room types and location, they still put me right next to an elevator! I had to go back to the front desk to ask them to move me instead of them coming up with the key to my newly assigned room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlr24Eastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at this place for a week for business. The front desk service were helpful. There is no complain on the cleanliness as well. However, there were a few down side, the property does not have elevators. If you were having large luggages, please ask for lower floors.

Also, there is no hot breakfast serve in the morning. (Just cereals and fruits)
There were always a few cable channels at our rooms that not working, despite being rectified by the hotel's technician.

Overall, if you like to cook simple meal (there is a small build in kitchen in our suite) and stay there for a short period, and don't mind 'grab n go' breakfast, then this is place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose lower floors if you have lot's luggage. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitsbaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here on a family vacation with kids. The best thing is the staff who are professional and very welcoming. Also, the property is quite new and clean.
We loved the laundry room and the hotel provides free detergent. You have to use cash to get quarters though and you cannot charge it to your room.
The location is very convenient and is quiet in spite of being so close to freeways.
The main drawback is that there is no pool and there was no agreement with other properties to use their pool. Kids love the pool, so that was a downer.
Two other small cons are a fairly small kitchen in the unit which is not meant for more elaborate cooking - so if you cook,just plan to stay on the range top. The other minor con is that the breakfast is less elaborate than ones at, say, Residence Inns.
Other than that, this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I am Marriott Platinum and stay in many hotels globally. The staff at this property was as friendly and efficient as any I've ever experienced. Young man at the front desk was working on something but stood up every time a guest came in or left. The two young ladies who checked me in were also very helpful with a few questions. And facilities matched the level of service...

My guess is that this will not stay a hidden gem for long.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SONORA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a NEW hotel, everything is new and clean.The staff is great!
We planned a girls weekend of shopping and eating. I called early to see if the rooms
had DVD players so we could watch our favorite chic flixs and they didn't BUT the staff
told me one would in our room when we get there, AND IT WAS, WITH POPCORN!
We asked for more towels and they bought them right away. With a full sized refrigerator in the studio suite we had room for all the wine, cheese and fruit we bought. The light breakfast offered was just right for us cause we wanted to eat out for lunch. We had great girls weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICKIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is darn near perfect as a place to stay - its clean, quiet, has everything you need and no rip off charges like a "full service" hotel. I cant figure why I would pay more and get less elsewhere. Free parking, free wifi free breakfast... zero rip offs which is unusual anywhere but remarkable in San Jose. Only minor point is they need a shuttle van to drop you somewhere say within 5 miles. It takes 15-30 mins to get a cab under ideal circumstances it would just be so nice to have that which is offered at other locations of this same chain and other chains - its always welcome and appreciated. If you did not get a rental car and just need to go to the convention center you cant walk the 1.7 miles through the construction with no sidewalks really so you need something - it would be a very appreciated addition and its a tax write off for your business guys!

Room Tip: face away from traffic on an upper floor and away from the elevator (but thats always good generic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
0.3 mi away
Aloft San Jose Cupertino
Aloft San Jose Cupertino
#19 of 75 in San Jose
395 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
4.9 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Jose Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Jose Santa Clara

Property: TownePlace Suites San Jose Santa Clara
Address: 2877 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2805
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Jose Santa Clara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of HWY 101, just 5 miles from the San Jose International Airport, and next to high-tech companies such as Apple, Oracle, Fujitsu, AMD, McAfee, and Applied Materials. We are in the heart of Silicon Valley, just minutes from the Santa Clara Convention Center, California's Great America theme park, Levi's Stadium "new home of the San Francisco 49'ers", and walking distance to local eateries. TownePlace Suites by Marriott® is a smoke-free, extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like, with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Our hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, a large fitness center, and an outdoor patio with a guest-use barbecue grill and a relaxing waterfall. Our suites provide the comfort and convenience of home with a fully equipped kitchen and complimentary high-speed Internet access, enhanced by daily housekeeping and a friendly staff who anticipate your needs. TownePlace Suites...your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Jose Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing