We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the day...”

Bennigans Santa Clara
Ranked #36 of 429 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Price range: US$16 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Welcome to Bennigan's, a legendary, chef-driven neighborhood pub and the perfect place to kick back and experience the genuine spirit of Irish Hospitality. Join us to enjoy craveable, crowd-pleasing food and a bountiful selection of ice cold beers, specialty drinks and wines. Our menu combines longtime Bennigan's favorites with innovative new American fare selections, with different 'extra special' values offered every day of the week. Our commitment to the welcoming, friendly and festive spirit of Irish Hospitality means that our pours and portions are more generous, and we go above and beyond the call of duty to deliver legendary experiences. We're growing and are excited to serve you. So sit down or pull up a stool and make yourself comfortable. Whether you're relaxing with friends, catching a game, or just enjoying a fun family meal, we'll make you feel right at home.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Depends on the day...”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was in Santa Clara for business in early April 2014. I ate at Bennigan's on three consecutive nights:
- First night: baby back ribs - excellent, with fries cooked just right.
- Second night: Steak well done, trade the rice etc. for fries - poor Steak medium rare on onions which I did not ask for and dislike, fries were under done.
- Third night: Burger and fries - Burger was generally good, and the fries a little more done than the night before, but could have used another 20 seconds in the fryer.

It seems to depend on the night and what you order for the experience you will have here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DustyBottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    45
    40
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Don't expect to much. I was there several times in the last few years. If you like Burger and beer it's ok. The staff is friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noble1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always good for great drinks and service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

You found great variety of beers and service is quick and efficient. We loved this place because is always friendly and quality of food and location make it a great choice

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Epeniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Skip breakfast there for now”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were headed to IHOP for breakfast and decided to come here instead. Darn. Our server was mostly absent. My scrambled eggs were rubbery and my English muffin was toasted but completely pale. Husband breakfast was a bit small and no toast served with it-odd. If we were to go back it would be for cocktails...skip the breakfast.

UPDATE: I received a message on my review on anther site about this review. I was told ownership is changing. So stay tuned????

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Per functionary service”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Soulless. Bar staff were more interested in talking to themselves and closing ASAP than providing any service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ryue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bennigans Santa Clara also viewed

Santa Clara, CA
Santa Clara, CA
 

Been to Bennigans Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing