We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Nearby Hotels
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Avatar Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HYATT House Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Best Western Inn Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$164
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Clara Marriott(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$120
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,479)
Filter reviews
1,479 results
Traveller rating
575
504
263
91
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
504
263
91
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centersushi barlevi stadiumlobby barroom servicework spacesilicon valleyfree parkingattending a conferenceself parkingcomfortable hotelgreat america amusement parkfootball gamebusiness tripbusiness travelerking bedparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
1,339 - 1,344 of 1,479 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2009

After reading some of the other reviews, I was really looking forward to seeing these new redesigned rooms in this hotel that are supposedly so non-functional and with other issues. While I tend to agree that some of the colors are not the most warm they could have used, overall, I really did enjoy the redesigned room. I was on the 12th floor and loved the long desk and work area that was against the window which had a great view of the surrounding area outside. The bathroom was just fine; the shallow sink was perfectly adequate and I never got water all over the counter.

The bedding, linens, and towels were all very good quality. The cleanliness of the room was excellent. The small refrigerator worked great.

The staff at the hotel was very good; professional and knowledgeable. The common areas of the hotel are large and spacious, and were pleasant to explore. The fitness center was one of the best I've seen; large with many machines, all of which were clean and working.

Overall, this was an excellent hotel. The fee-use business center is probably my only complaint, but at least you can print airplane boarding passes for free.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank storewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

I choose to stay here instead of San Jose as I was heading to SFO next morning and I didn't wanna get caught in traffic on 101N.

I'd say this is an excellent hotel. The front desk staff (I think Jasmin) was very eager to please and called to check up if the room is ok after about 15 mins. Room was recently renovated I believed and it contained some chic crisp modern decor. Nice sleeper bed too.

Unfortunately the location is a little in e middle of nowhere. Many food outlets are within 2 miles radius. Other than that I don't find many amenities around town.

Oh 1 more disadvantage. When you arrived this hotel on a sat nite and there's like 6 functions & dinners going on, e valet's not gonna take your car and the parking structure behind the hotel will be filled up to the roof deck. So if you've got luggage, it'd be a chore to drag them across e garage, take the elevator down and drag them 100 meters before you enter the hotel front entrance.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

We paid $65 + taxes/fees on Priceline.com, and what we got for that price was fantastic. The hotel staff were the best I've experience in quite a while -- fast check-in, fast check-out and great security team. Not enoug parking in front of the hotel, but plenty of space in the garage, and parking was free.

The room itself was mod -- maybe a little too mod, b/c there was no closet (just a wall-attached clothes rack) and the sink was an inclined plane with a drainage slit (so, no washing clothes or taking out contacts safetly there). Internet cost $9.99/day with T-mobile, free for T-mobile subscribers.

The hotel is close to Hwy. 101 and 237, which was handy. We'd go back in a heartbeat, but only if we got the same Pricline rate. If we paid full rack rates, the rooms wouldn't be as worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank california_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Stayed here last week for 3 nights with my husband while he attended a business conference here. The experience overall, while definitely not horrible, was also not terrific, which I pretty much feel at this price, this type of a hotel experience should be no less than terrific.

This is supposed to be a higher end hotel experience and while the Santa Clara Hyatt has some high-end features, namely the terrific gym (also favorably mentioned in many other reviews on this hotel I noticed!), unfortunately the overall experience is much more average than high-end.

The rooms met a basic level of cleanliness standard, but were certainly not immaculately clean/kept and the many, many drawbacks in the overall room design/features (as noted by many other reviewers before me) were significant enough to bring down the entire experience.

So, from all the previous reviews we all understand now that the Hyatt really dropped the ball with the design team of their most recent remodel...from the might-as-well-be-non-existent bathroom doors, the odd looking flat counter-top sink with the even more oddly placed right-side faucet mounting, the towel rack inside of the shower, the strange little closet area, the complete lack of an actual dresser/armoire, the odd exceedingly long desk/table with the little nearly useless cubie fridge in a cupboard to the weird blue hallways with the already very dirty carpets and zero sound insulation from the halls into the rooms...it all just makes most of us normal regular folks think to ourselves...what were they thinking???

But, be that as it may...I am going to suggest what they could do to attempt to fix some of the more glaring issues, at minimal cost & effort...later when I get my photos off the camera, I will add a couple to show some things that we did while we stayed there to make it slightly more pleasant.
1) Put an exhaust fan in the bathroom, both to handle the standard shower steam which is a problem & even more so, make it a reasonably loud fan, to be used to drown out the mmm bathroom noises which are currently shared so freely with the entire rest of the room (probably heard in the hallway too, considering the lack of soundproofing at the main door).
2) Install an additional towel rack, just like the one in the shower if you want, over the toilet, so that those of us who prefer to use dry towels after our showers can do so...alternately, store the towels in the shelves under the sink, since the coffee etc. doesn't belong in the bathroom anyway, gees whose idea was that!!!
3) See end of #2 above...get the coffeemaker, supplies & ice bucket out of the bathroom gees, does anyone think that is sanitary to keep them on those little shelves, right next to the toilet?? They all sit nicely on the little pretend dresser/tv holder out in the room...coffeemaker & supplies to the left of the tv (since there is a plug within reach there to use it with) & the ice bucket & glasses should be on the right of the tv.
4) Get a plumber in there to essentially flip the sink around so that the faucet/fixture is left mounted instead of right...I will agree with the designer that left or right mount is infinitely more interesting than center mount but, it makes no sense with the limited space in those teenie tiny bathrooms to have the faucet on the right, with the toilet on your left (when facing the sink) this gives you almost no possible way to stand in front of the sink while washing your hands or face or brushing your teeth, since you must stand off to the right side of the sink where surprise...the dang faucet is right smack in your way! Move it to the left and it would make a lot better sense, and make it a whole lot easier & enjoyable to use.
5) That ridiculous excuse for a toilet paper holder needs to be relegated to "xtra roll" usage only. In-between the existing hand towel rod/holder and the little shelves below the counter on the right, there is just enough space to insert an in-the-wall flat toilet paper holder, the roll when mounted there would not stick out even as far as the current hand towel rod and would not interfere with sink usage in anyway...so install them already, stop making your guests keep the toilet paper on the counter top or sink or worse, wrench their backs trying to reach behind them to get it off of the current holder.

Bottom line, this is a relatively expensive hotel to stay at and it should better reflect the price charged.

If you are a single unaccompanied business traveler, this hotel will likely meet your needs reasonably well, though you will have to pay either a higher room rate (to have it "included") or pay an additional fee to use their wireless internet...seems pretty unreasonable in a business traveler hotel. The bed was reasonably comfortable, although for a "recently remodeled" hotel, the linens including the coverlet appeared quite worn (as opposed to the ones at the Santa Clara Hawthorn Suites, where we stayed the night before we stayed at the Hyatt, now those were fresh, crisp, seemingly new linens!). Also, without even a lousy continental breakfast included, again, the value here is definitely not superior in anyway.

Also beware...if you do not leave your room before 2 pm, you can just about forget about having your room cleaned that day before you return, despite repeated calls to housekeeping and the front desk, 3 different employees there assuring you that your room would definitely be cleaned after you left at 4 and before you returned...you will come back to your room at 10 pm only to find that it wasn't cleaned. They will send someone promptly to do it then, but that means you have to go otherwise occupy yourself while they clean it and that you are subjecting your neighbors to 10 pm vaccuum cleaning noise...which we really hadn't appreciated hearing ourselves at 9 pm the night before when apparently a similar thing must have happened to the guy across the hall from us.

All in all, the place was reasonably decent, had a great gym, dirty pool, non-functioning jacuzzi/spa and really weird design elements that did not create the best possible environment for the most pleasant, relaxing or even efficient stay, at a cost that was too high for what you get there.

Oh and the parking structure, while free, is eh a solid half mile+ walk from there to any room in the hotel, closer to a mile from many of them I am sure, so try to get back to the hotel during the dinner hour when everyone else is still out, say before 9, then you might be lucky enough to get to park in the rather small lot directly in front of the hotel. I definitely recommend having a car at this hotel though, unless you want to only eat there or order room service, definitely no off-site restaurants or shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank iamqueenme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Just returned from a one night stay with my niece (9) and nephew (6). The hotel offered a package with 2 tickets to Great America that made the room only $70. This was a special trip for the kids and the hotel really helped make it that way, We arrived at 10:00 am to pick up the tickets and they let us check in early.Goodie bags were given at check in and when my nephew asked if we could be up high they put us in a room on the 8th floor with a terrific view of the Park. We could walk to the Park saving a parking fee. The room service has a kids menu with very reasonable prices ($5.95 for cheeseburger with a side dish) so I could afford to aloow them that extravagance as well. The pool is open late so offered a chance for a moonlight swim. Staff was cordial and quick to respond to any questions or requests. The hotel was well soundproofed so the kids could be themselves while in the room without irritating the business travelers. I highly recommend this to anyone visiting Great America or the San Jose area who want to give their kids a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seedeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews