We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. Large Rooms, Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. Large Rooms, Clean”
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Highly recommened - especially for the staff.

Large suite-style rooms with kitchen stuff (Microwave and Fridge, next door to TV?), with seperate bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast is adequate downstairs but can be busy and difficult to find a table at peak times. Never got back early enough to sample to Happy Hour in the bar which i think was every night. Great place to stay if you are an alcoholoic maybe

Only snag is the location - which is fine if you have a car, but there is NOTHING in reasonable walking distance, trust me, I walked around fair bit! If you have a car then the location is fine, 3miles from IT industry (Sunnyvale, Milpitas etc) and 4miles from SJ airport and maybe 5 miles from downtown SJ and malls etc.

Hotel overlooks the Bayshore Freeway out of SJ to the east., but I wasnt troubled by noise.

Free hotel drop off to Sunnyvale/Milpitas etc in the mornings was convenient

The staff were excellent, mostly young girls18-24yrs say, but they all seemed to demonstrate NATURAL COMPETANCE and COMMON SENSE and HUMAN TOUCH rather then the corporate speak often found in branded hotels. Well done girls,

Well done management for giving them empowerment - or maybe you simply skipped the 7 days "corporate empowerment" courses and simply made the effort to recruit staff with their own brains and personality instead. Very impressed.

No complaints, on balance would definately stay there again, and a complete nobrainer if I have a hire car.

Highly recommened - especially for the staff.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    182
    75
    21
    18
See reviews for
129
55
26
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
az
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Well we were in town for a vball tourney and the place got the job done!!!

A nice happy hour with drinks at night and super b-fast in the a.m. In fact they served us up early bcz we had to be at the convention center early WELL DONE!!!

Suites were nice a super bed with soft and hard pillows which I liked...

There were 2 tourneys in town a vball /baseball and the Plaza Suites kept the hotel running amidst all of the kids running around. they did a good job and we had a nice stay!!!

I would stay again if I were in the area!!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank kmjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

This place is fantastic! We were at the Santa Clara Convention Center and we booked our stay there. I can only tell you how wonderful the staff, maids, rooms, and service were each day!
The rooms-all suites and really classy and roomy!
Great beds, pillows, bathroom and we even had robes and slippers! Oh, let's not forget the lotions and potions.
The food was fantastic and breakfast was included each day! Cooked to order eggs, omlettes, fruits, yogarts, breads, cereals, juices, etc....every morning in a nicely appointed dining room!
An evening wine venue was available and a great way to end the day! Each room will receive a drink coupon and the a good quality wine was served!
The building and rooms were clean as a whistle! The front desk staff was polite, friendly, and professional!
I loved the place and hated to check out! If you have the chance to stay there! Please do! You won't regret it!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank desireemanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2007

At first, I was hesitant in booking this hotel because I prefer a Hilton or Embassy Suites. However, I never regret staying at this hotel. The staff are super friendly, and even at 2 a.m., you can ask for a complimentary toothbrush and a phonebook delivered at your room... The breakfast buffet is great. You can request what can kind of eggs you like from the chef. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all the people I know....

  • Liked — The staff are all friendly even if it is 2 am.
  • Disliked — the shopping is on the other side of the freeway.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SacTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We spent a weekend at Plaza Suites when we traveled to the Bay Area for a Stanford vs. Oregon football game. The price and the location (15 minutes to Palo Alto) were fine. We found the Plaza Suites to be comparable to an Embassy Suites; a two room king suite. We found the suite to be well appointed and most comfortable. Our only complaint would be that the TV's in the rooms were small. The happy hour consists of a certificate for three drinks per adult in the hotel bar - premium beers and liquors are $1.00 extra. We thought the breakfast was superior to an Embassy Suites - eggs or omlette cooked to order with a nice selection of side dishes. The breakfast area looked upon the pool area - a nice setting. Given we saved about $25 a night over the Embassy down the road we would stay at the Plaza Suites again.

  • Liked — lLocation, Price
  • Disliked — Small TV's
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wally54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2007

My daughter, five year old grand daughter and I had booked the Embassy Suites for a few days over the 4th of July. We were very disappointed, so we drove down the street to this hotel. We were given a tour by the sales manager who offered us a such superb rate for an executive suite that we booked two! It was a full $100 less than I was paying at Embassy Suites. The amenities are much better at the Plaza Suites than at the Embassy Suites, from Happy Hour to breakfast. And the pool area in the courtyard is wonderful for kids, with a grassy area for them to play on. It could be a little more heated, but in the summer when the air was hot, it was very refreshing. The fitness room is great too. (That amenity was closed for repair when we visited Embassy Suites). The room service was prompt and front desk and housekeepers were very nice. Since they are not a chain, I think they go that extra mile for their customers. I will go back.

  • Liked — The courtyard and pool, the happy hour, the fitness room, the staff and the accomodation.
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kbrussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno NV
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

My family recently had a pleasant stay at this hotel - we got the Great America package so with the very nice breakfast and tickets to the park it was a great value.

We were allowed to check in early and the staff was helpful with directions - the room was nice and the pool was warm and clean - we had a room right by the pool and had no issues with any noise from other people. The only complaint was from my children who said the pull out sofa was a little uncomfortable - but they said the breakfast and pool made up for it. We will stay there again.

  • Liked — Having a suite at a reasonable cost and the great breakfast
  • Disliked — per my children uncomfortable pull out sofa
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley

Property: The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Address: 3100 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2804
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Suites Hotel Silicon Valley at Santa Clara offers travelers and locals alike an address central to all that Silicon Valley has to offer. A boutique hotel experience unlike any other, guests enjoy luxurious two-room suites, complimentary daily rituals of our at Dawn Breakfast Experience and at Dusk Evening Adult Beverages. A large outdoor pool in our lush garden courtyard complete with a spacious hot tub as well as many in-suite amenities make for an extraordinary hotel stay. Just a few moments to Great America Theme Park, Levis Stadium and a seemingly endless list of Silicon Valleys biggest tech industry titans makes our address a smart choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing