We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, but infrastructure is dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here on a business trip as it was the highest rated Santa Clara hotel on TripAdvisor.

Check-in was fast and very professional, but from there the disappointments began.

While the lobby is very nice, the halls are dark and outdated. The rooms are clean and well kept but the carpet has a horrid aroma - not an issue unless you're kneeling on the carpet to pick up something you dropped, but wow. If you're a single female traveler I GUARANTEE the hallway lighting will freak you out and make you feel uncomfortable at best.

The rooms are well appointed with a microwave, fridge, safe, Keurig coffee maker and two nice flat panel TVs, but for the first time in YEARS I've discovered a hotel with all-analog TV. Yep, about 15 channels of fuzzy, sometimes snowy 4x3 TV pictures forcibly stretched to 16:9. Not even HD network channels. Why install flat panel LCD TVs if you're going to provide analog TV? To fool guests who don't know the difference?

Seriously, who goes this long without updating their TV infrastructure?

Likewise, the Wi-Fi is free but you'll find faster transfer speeds at your local coffee shop or fast food restaurant - speedtest.net reports a whole 1.98 Mbps down. You're much better off using the Wi-Fi at the McDonald's down the block.

The bed is comfy, the bathroom clean, and the free breakfast tastier than most.

But for the money, you'd be better off staying at the Embassy Suites down the block as at least they upgraded their TV service and Wi-Fi within the last decade and have well-lit hallways.

Parking is also a bit dicey at times; there's an adjacent parking structure but even it's almost filled, and if the lot and garage are full you're kind of out of luck.

In short it looks like a hotel that was cosmetically updated but they cut a lot of corners in doing so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Highway 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AscentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaSuitesMgmt, General Manager at The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks for your candid feedback and for staying with us.

We are actually in the process of finalizing the details of a corridor renovation (a sneak peak of which you can see on our third floor). A facet of the renovation does address lighting improvements which are high on our list.

The hotel was built in the early 1990's and infrastructure projects such as those you mention take a calculated approach, and we are working diligently towards providing HD programming in our guest suites. The internet is indeed capped at this juncture, however we are reviewing our offerings and will likely increase bandwidth allocation in the months to come.

I hope we will again have the pleasure of your stay in the future so you can experience these improvements first hand.

JP Rollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I travel a lot and the Plaza Suites is one of the very best we have stayed in. Full service hotel.....everything you need is there and more. Great price and value......not many better!!

Room Tip: Any room.....all a modern, spacious, comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MnWWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Free drinks 5-7, free full buffet breakfast all under $100. All rooms are suites with separate bedrooms and pull out love seats. Spa wasn't so warm but pool and area was very nice along with the restaurant and room service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Pretty nice hotel near a number of different corporate offices. Great breakfast and decent hotel bar. Bathrooms are a bit small, but service was quite good and friendly. Parking is at a premium during the week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IT_road_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Overall a good hotel for a short stay. Though the sofa beds outside were not very comfortable . Byt what sofa bed is . Great Breakfast . Starts you off well. just off the freeway and plenty f good restaurants around .

Room Tip: Ask for the room not facing the Freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyof4LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff are all extremely helpful and courteous. Always willing to give good advice on local amenities or restaurants even though the Bistro in the Hotel serves excellent food and at good prices too.
The complimentary local Shuttle Bus is a nice touch.
If I am ever lucky enough to get to visit California again I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel.
The rooms are spacious and have plenty of storage as well as a fridge and a microwave. They are clean and well appointed.
The hotel shop in the lobby sold amazing fruit bowls with Strawberry, pineapple, melon, blueberries etc.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The rooms are suites with three living areas. All rooms were very clean. The room service was the best food we ate during this weekend! They offer a happy hour with a very nice staff that smile while they work. The front office continues the smiles and drove us to the airport in their van for free, (we provided a nice tip) Now, on top of all this the price was 99.00 a night. nice to see a hotel with smiles.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley

Address: 3100 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2804
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: £80 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Suites Hotel Silicon Valley at Santa Clara offers travelers and locals alike an address central to all that Silicon Valley has to offer. A boutique hotel experience unlike any other, guests enjoy luxurious two-room suites, complimentary daily rituals of our at Dawn Breakfast Experience and at Dusk Evening Adult Beverages. A large outdoor pool in our lush garden courtyard complete with a spacious hot tub as well as many in-suite amenities make for an extraordinary hotel stay. Just a few moments to Great America Theme Park, Levis Stadium and a seemingly endless list of Silicon Valleys biggest tech industry titans makes our address a smart choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing