We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice guest room, good breakfast, dinky TV, no points for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice guest room, good breakfast, dinky TV, no points for business travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel probably 10 times in the last 4 years. Typically from Sunday to Friday, sometimes Sunday-Friday the next week. So lots of days. The suite model is really nice. The separate bedroom helps shield you from hallway noise. Bed is comfortable. Living room is nice, wireless and wired internet works great. Bathroom (tub/toilet) is separate from wash basin so that is nice for families. Breakfast buffet is great although I don't eat most of what gets served. I imagine for most it will be a party to eat there with eggs to order, waffles, pancakes, meat, potatoes, fruit, pastries. I generally stick with rice and miso soup. The made to order omelets are a bit less desirable because they are made in advance and then filled with whatever and then heated. Still, excellent breakfast buffet.

The TV on the other hand is laughably bad. Two nice HD flatscreens but nothing on them. There are a handful of SD (low def) TV channels and a 1980's era hotel movie net. The TV's are of course set for 16:9 aspect ratio which makes everyone look bloated when you watch SD. So every time you turn on the TV you have to change the aspect ratio. If you then watch a movie channel that is letter boxing an HD movie (black bars top and bottom) you are watching a tiny grainy picture on a large TV. Sad really. To make matters worse you can't even plug in your own DVD player in the living room. Lots of hotels have an HDMI connector exposed or even wired to a dedicated spot in the TV furniture. What a waste of perfectly good TVs that you don't even get air-HD channels. The small TV in the bedroom can be attached to your laptop but the resolution is poor so DVD's don't look very good.

Noise levels are decent but it depends on where you stay in the hotel. It is right next to 101. In some cases I have to sleep with the A/C on just to block out the noise. It seems this hotel has better noise blocking than Embassy Suites down the street though. Best rooms face the Atrium/pool area but they're probably more expensive.

Finally then my last gripe. Since mine are business trips I book through my office. Turns out Plaza negotiated rates that do not include loyalty points. What? I get tickets for booze in the bar (I never use those) but no points? Even when I pick the higher cost rooms on the 'executive floor'? I can't overlook that any longer. There will be cases in the future where I -have- to stay at PZ because it's all that is available but it is no longer the first hotel on my list.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside of the U shaped hotel. They may call it Atrium View or something like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanderP__2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    178
    72
    21
    18
See reviews for
129
53
26
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were here for a water polo tournament with our club team. I understand how other guests would be put off the facility with all the teenagers and their parents in residence. Three drink vouchers per night is great, but the lounge area is very small to accommodate all guests in the limited hours of complimentary drink service when the facility is at high occupancy. I had a king suite on the 7th floor, and while private, the sleeper sofa was uncomfortable for my 13 year old daughter (I tried it, and actually felt bad for her). The king bed was incredibly comfortable with soft linens and fluffy pillows, so my husband and I were comfortable. Rooms have a mini refrigerator and microwave, plus two televisions, but wi-fi is not included (or was not included in our group rate). I cannot imagine trying to sleep a family of four in this suite. It's just too small. This facility is better suited to business travelers, I think, than families, due to the limited space in the rooms. The hotel staff at reception was helpful and friendly; the bartenders and breakfast hostess were not as amicable, though food and drink quality was excellent. The high foot traffic was really evident in the main halls, as carpets were visibly soiled by the end of my 4 day stay. Rooms were clean though, and linens were freshened when needed (or indicated per the signs in the bathroom). We had room service, and the food was very good with generous portions (cheesburger, fries, Ceasar Salad and a scallop entree). I have to say that I had a good overall experience, and that the value of this facility was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel. I'm quite a snob about where I stay, so if I return that really says something. I hate hotel beds and can't ever sleep in them. They are all so hard and uncomfortable...irregardless of how expensive the hotel is. I can sleep here. Comfy beds and linens. Friendly staff. Good food for both breakfast and dinner. Drink vouchers for happy hour. Yes, the hotel could use a bit of a face lift if you are comparing it to the newly built hotels down the road. Those hotels also cost more so pick your poison. I come here on business but would stay here for pleasure as well. My only complaint would be the size of the bathroom. It's the smallest I have ever seen quite honestly. Other than that, I have no complaints. Would recommend and will return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have mixed opinions about this place. Stayed for business and it served its purpose, but I wouldn't stay for pleasure.

The pros: Very friendly staff (reception, bar staff not so much!), three free drink vouchers a night was a nice touch, the beds were so comfy with really soft linen and the rooms were generally nice, good melon salad at breakfast. The shuttle service they provide to the convention centre is reliable and quick but if you are at a conference in the convention centre I would stay in the Hilton or the Hyatt which are right by it and nicer hotels (from what I could tell)

The cons: generally felt quite dated, especially the corridors and pool area. I spent the day before my conference by the pool and had visions of drinking iced teas and eating something tasty for lunch (the food served in the hotel looks really good) - but there was no service, the kitchen was apparently closed for a deep clean so that was disappointing. I asked for an hour later check out and was told it would cost half a day rate - seemed rather inflexible.

When we were visiting, there was a water polo tournament on in the local area so that hotel was full of teenagers and their parents: generally no problem with this but they could have maybe been given a seperate breakfast room or a specific breakfast time as it was too busy and noisey in there and felt like a youth club with teenagers lolling about the lobby the whole time.

It was generally fine, but lacked the sparkle that a lot of American hotels provide.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking over the pool (looking in) - else your view will be a freeway or car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Do yourself a favor and go with a name brand rather than this dump. This hotel is disgusting. The smell of whatever cleaning product they attempt to use gave me a headache for my entire visit. It is dingy and dusty and smelled like mold. They need a complete remodel before I'd step foot in there again. TheThe staff are discourteous, the coffee in the lobby is gross and they charge you MORE than the Town Place Suites down the road. The also charge you exorbitant rates for wifi which is free at just about every hotel. And to boot, I even got emailed a company SOP by accident....and I was just a guest!!

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjaffe1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaSuitesMgmt, General Manager at The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
It is evident our efforts to retain you as our guest while you were in-house were unsuccessful and I am terribly disappointed we were unable to do so.

It is true the facility was "stretched" significantly by the groups in-house (which I believe you were part of), and perhaps not in tip-top shape. I do have some difficulty reconciling your characterization of our hotel as a “dump” based on the observations of some of your fellow travelers.

Relative to service, our hotel consistently ranks within the top three spots in Santa Clara and I understand you were disappointed with our inability to extend the group rate to you following the booking cut-off date.

Incidentally we are currently remodeling our corridors, which I agree are not at par with the rest of our offerings.

Lastly, as we do with all guests feedback, we will be sure to analyze the events surrounding your stay and see where improvements can be made.

Jean-Philippe "JP" R Rollet | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed for business - hotels in area booked out with only this left.The hotel is clean and tidy. A lot of space - had a bed room and a separate adjoining living area. Good value for money.

However, the age of the building is apparent. The lifts creak, and the hallway has a carpet that has a damp-like smell to it. My advise, if looking for hotels in Santa Clara, start looking early and you have a better variety of choices.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Zach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I love this hotel. I think of it as little, but it has over two hundred rooms on seven floors. I've stayed here two months out of three for nine months now. Many of the front desk personnel recognize me and sometimes greet me by name before I even check in. Marilyn Williams, in the bar where I dine nearly every night I am there, greets me by name, recommends dishes for me to try, makes me feel welcome, and always has a bottle of champagne, my drink of choice, chilled for me. She's the main reason I continue to stay here rather than rack up points with some chain that I could use to get free nights in a less interesting hotel. The food in the bistro is quite good, and there is more variety in the menu that at some hotels twice as large. Add to that a cooked-to-order breakfast and coupons for three -- yes, three -- free drinks between 5 and 7 each night, and what more could I want? The rooms? Well-appointed two-room suites with luxurious bedding, an ample desk and plenty of counter space, and -- most of the time -- towering redwoods screening my window from view from the street. I really do feel it is my home away from home.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley

Property: The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Address: 3100 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2804
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Suites Hotel Silicon Valley at Santa Clara offers travelers and locals alike an address central to all that Silicon Valley has to offer. A boutique hotel experience unlike any other, guests enjoy luxurious two-room suites, complimentary daily rituals of our at Dawn Breakfast Experience and at Dusk Evening Adult Beverages. A large outdoor pool in our lush garden courtyard complete with a spacious hot tub as well as many in-suite amenities make for an extraordinary hotel stay. Just a few moments to Great America Theme Park, Levis Stadium and a seemingly endless list of Silicon Valleys biggest tech industry titans makes our address a smart choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing