We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few complaints...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Angels Camp, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A few complaints...”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

First of all, these complaints wouldn't be finding their way online had the front desk simply asked us how our stay was during check-out.

The overall impression I got was that tons of money was spent up front on this place, but now they are cutting corners and not maintaining the property. I suspect that if this trend continues, the reviews will start going downhill as well.

The room appeared clean at first sight with shiny tables and bathroom, but then we opened up the sofa bed. It was obvious that this wasn't even checked since the last person had used it. There were crumbs all over the sheets and some hair. Mistakes happen though and we were too tired to make a complaint. This did not excuse the fact, however, that the sofa bed was horribly uncomfortable (and I mean compared to other sofa beds). The king bed was fine, but I hated the pillows; they were probably comfortable when new, but now your head sinks all the way through to the mattress and it doesn't bounce back like it should. I ended up sleeping on one of the decorative pillows instead.

The suite we got had two hd flat panel televisions, but I didn't really see the point considering the incoming signal was broadcast in standard definition. The larger of the two, I'm going to guess about 42", was in the sofa bed room and the smaller (maybe 32") was in the king bed room. Don't be fooled, it's just a gimmick, like "HD sunglasses".

There was no fan or heater in the bathroom. The only way for us to circulate the air was to turn on the air conditioning, which didn't work until I brought it to the hotel's attention. I'm not sure how long it took them to fix it, as we were out for at least 4 hours, but it was fixed when we returned, so that was nice. Once the A/C was working, it worked great (central air, not a wall unit).

One last thing about the room, there could have been a better restaurant/vacationing guide in the room. They had a few brochures, but it was very general proximity, including such things as Hearst Castle (which is all the way down in San Simeon!) and Monterey. We ended up using google maps on my phone to find restaurants and the movie theater.

Staff was nice, although they didn't seem to care how our stay was going, but there is probably no incentive for them to do so (a problem with most large hotels). A courtesy call a few minutes after check-in or a simple question regarding my satisfaction upon check-out would have sufficed and my review would have been less picky.

Breakfast. Well, I'll preface this by saying we got there right near the end (about 9:45am and they stop serving at 10), but we were not impressed. The selection was awesome: buffet style scrambled eggs, potatoes, pancakes, sausage links, bacon, cereal, three juices, toast, coffee, etc. Unfortunately, the eggs were disgusting (probably from powder or the bottle) and so were the sausages. The potatoes tasted fine and suprisingly, so did the bacon. Even though we got there late, all the items were hot and there was still an abundance of food, so I don't think our timing had much to do with the low quality taste. Fortunately, there are enough items available that you can just avoid the nasty stuff, but I thought this was still worth mentioning.

The location was good, within one mile of a lot of restaurants and a movie theater and I had no complaints with the parking; it's free, which is unusual for these types of properties.

There are several other choices in the San Jose area that offer roughly the same amenities and only range within a few extra (or less) dollars. I wouldn't say "don't stay here", but I'm certainly not going to recommend it to people. Perhaps in comparison to nearby hotels it is the best, I wouldn't know, but I do know that it fell short of my expectations and the impression that I had after reading this site's reviews. I hope my experience was an isolated incident.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    183
    75
    21
    18
See reviews for
129
55
26
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We loved this hotel. Rooms were very clean and the king bed was very comfortable. Nice setup for the king suite. The location was perfect for the Twin Creeks ball park and Great America. Hot breakfast was very good each morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, TX
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and commuted to Stanford University for a tour, Monterey for the day and to Santa Cruz. We chose this hotel because the reviews were great on trip advisor. I also wanted to be close to Stanford without paying too much. We could not get a room close to Monterey and Santa Cruz because of the US Open. Prices were outrageous even if you could find a room. This hotel worked out great. It was roomy and clean and breakfast was nice since there was a chef there onsite to cook your eggs fresh. Free covered parking was great too. The only thing I did not like about the hotel was the lack of lighting in the halls and in my room. Too dark for my taste. It made the hallways seem old and outdated. Otherwise I would highly recommend it for the location and the price and the breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILuvtotravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Suite style rooms nicely decorated. Only things I would change would be the parking (it is free but never front door parking, the front desk service could be a little better and I wish the internet was free.
The hotel otherwise is great. Very clean and right off the freeway. Room has fridge and (small bathroom) but very upscale type rooms! Lots of space! Great deal!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeGirly415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The reviews posted on the internet about the Plaza Suites are what made us stay there. We were not disappointed, rooms were very nice, staff was very friendly. Even though the hotel was full, you did not feel like you were being run over by lots of people. The free breakfast was filling and good. Ate dinner in the resturant, receiver wonderful service and food was excellent. Very quiet.. will stay here again. Close to Great America

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I can't say enough about how wonderful it is. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are stunning. The rooms remind me of the W Hotel where I stay in San Francisco.
The bed and linens are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californian805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Room had a large living room with TV, dressing area with double sink, bedroom with king size bed, another TV, microwave, coffeemaker and minibar in living room. Very clean, well-maintained, very quiet. Complimentary breakfast had many choices, cocktail hour in the bar was very relaxing and enjoyable. We had a group of 10 people and it was great to have a place that we could all socialize together. An incredible value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley

Property: The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
Address: 3100 Lakeside Dr, Santa Clara, CA 95054-2804
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Suites Hotel Silicon Valley at Santa Clara offers travelers and locals alike an address central to all that Silicon Valley has to offer. A boutique hotel experience unlike any other, guests enjoy luxurious two-room suites, complimentary daily rituals of our at Dawn Breakfast Experience and at Dusk Evening Adult Beverages. A large outdoor pool in our lush garden courtyard complete with a spacious hot tub as well as many in-suite amenities make for an extraordinary hotel stay. Just a few moments to Great America Theme Park, Levis Stadium and a seemingly endless list of Silicon Valleys biggest tech industry titans makes our address a smart choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing