We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in a great town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a new hotel, so the amenities are in great condition, room size is great and very comfortable. I can't speak to the rate, as we went on a law school competition at Santa Clara University, and the tab was covered by the law school. But I can say that the location is terrific, smack dab as it is between Santa Clara U, Santa Clara CalTrans train station, and a pretty darn good bagel shop. I went to school at Santa Clara, and I can tell you that if you are visiting there, you can roll in here without renting a car, visit Santa Clara University and then hop the train to Mountain View or Palo Alto for a great supper. (Santa Clara itself is rather spread out and restaurant challenged).

Room Tip: ask to be in a room away from the rr tracks, the rooms on the southwest side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritzie D, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear dadamsplsjd2b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with our hotel. I'm glad to know that you were able to maximize your visit, benefiting from the accessibility of Santa Clara University, along with other Silicon Valley spots based on Candlewood Suites' location. We hope to welcome you back again soon, where you may not only appreciate the convenience of our "great spot" but also realize our company's aim on meeting customer's value for high quality service and accommodations.

All the best,
-Fritzie D. | Guest Services
Candlewood Suites ~ Santa Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed here numerous times, but this is the first time that I ever had a room on the back side of the hotel facing the train tracks. I won't accept a room there again - the trains are too close and too noisy ( notwithstanding that the front desk advises that nobody complains about the noise since the double windows were installed). And the ever-present large gathering of smokers at the front entrance is a bit of a turnoff. Otherwise, the place is clean and convenient.

Room Tip: Avoid the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritzie D, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear KAP,

Thank you for writing a review based on your recent stay with us here at Candlewood Suites. Our staff will be pleased to note your high rating on our hotel's cleanliness. We are sincerely sorry about any discomfort that you have experienced with the train noise and the smoke(ers) outside of the building. Given these factors, as inevitable as they may be, we will continue to show diligent attempts to ensure that each guest has a pleasant experience, as we have demonstrated with the newly added double-paned windows. We truly appreciate your business and hope that you will continue to realize the benefits of our central location, along with our honest intentions to accommodate you, as best as we can, every time. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards,
-Fritzie D. | Guest Services
Candlewood Suites ~ Santa Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

In general the hotel is comfortable and cheaper than many in this area. The room and common areas were spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. On the down-side the fridge and AC unit in the room were noisy and I had to unplug the fridge and turn off the AC at night.

Also, the lack of a cooked breakfast was disappointing - I know that this is a 'long stay suite' with a full kitchen but other similar suites provide breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgmd2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear lgmd2005,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the noise issues you had with the room you received. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have stayed here before over the years, being a season ticket holder from out of town, this place is an excellent location for games at Santa Clara University.
Checking in was a dream, very friendly, quick and easy.
It was very nice to see the upgrades with the rooms, beds and bathrooms. The hotel shop is always great for a quick snack or drink.
Another stay here is in the cards.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stay here when we visit our daughter who is a student at Santa Clara University. The property is clean, and the rooms are very functional for working on business: Wifi, large desk area, lots of electrical plug-ins. The exercise room is clean and well-equipped (2 treadmills, an elliptical, a stationary bike, some rack weights, a TV, and towels). The front desk staff is very accommodating.

We have stayed at several other hotels and a B&B in the neighborhood, and this is by far the best property.

A couple of negatives: There is no breakfast service (but Starbucks, Quiznos, and Cramers Bagels are 100 feet from the front door of the hotel), and there is no swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by train noises, ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Location:- In front of Santa Clara CalTrain Station, very conveniently located
Room:- Corner rooms are specially very spacious, better to choose rooms facing El Camino, to avoid the noise of the train, but the rail track facing rooms offer a much better view of the Mountains.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are specially very spacious, better to choose rooms facing El Camino, to avoid the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anirbanmisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our room was very nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room for the price. The hotel clearly caters to a business trade, more independent travelers. The train noise was an issue, so request a room on the front of the hotel. Great location to visit Santa Clara University. Added plus with a Starbucks in the parking lot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyBoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
4.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
3.6 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Address: 481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range: £102 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing