We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's time has past.”
Review of Mariani's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariani's Inn
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I picked this property because of the convenient location to my moms house. Also Marianis is a local institution. They have a heated pool and spa which was one of my criteria. The pool and spa were great. The rooms are showing their age. While clean, they could go for a much needed facelift. Would I stay here again? Not sure. If I could get a room for under the 50/ngt maybe.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

I have stayed here once or twice you could say. The staff is awesome however the hotel needs upgrades. Beds are way out of date and very firm. Always short sheets. Never a fitted sheet. Bitten by bed bugs. Cock roaches. Cold breakfast but it's free. House keeping overkills on Lysol spray. All in all if comfort was defined by amenities go elsewhere, if it's the way the staff treats you it's the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBechtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Mariani's is not a Hyatt, a Hilton, or the Ritz! Nor do you pay for that. The price is reasonable and given that it is in the $80-90 range, it is very good. It is similar to a Super-8 or a Motel6. No, the bedspreads & the carpets do not match, but I don't pay for that! The beds are comfortable, my internet worked great (unlike some other reviewers). The staff is phenomenal! Very helpful. Like others, I don;t usually stay in the more affordable hotels, but I did not feel uncomfortable in the hotel at all. Would I like them to upgrade things, of course. But I realize that this is a private owned hotel and that they do not hav ethe capital that the chains have, so they can't do everything all at once. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay, and service is a priority, this is the place. If you are looking for a chain hotel, stay there! There are many hotels in the area, this is one I would stay at again.

Room Tip: I did not stay in a suite, but given the other reviews, this may be the way to go if you want a bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParaSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This place certainly did not look like much on the outside, but the room was very clean and had all of the comforts that we really wanted. A refrigerator, coffee pot, great channels and very comfortable beds. The breakfast was really quite good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was slippery for some reason, but the water was warm and clean. It is centrally located and parking is easy. We will return to this Inn anytime we stay in Santa Clara.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank sade1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I found a good rate for my room by booking it with my travel. This motel cost a little more than I'm usually willing to spend, but it was close to where I needed to be in the morning and I've had awful experiences trying to sleep in the cheaper motels, so I chose it.

What a treat for a budget traveler like me! My room was large, had a frig & microwave, a large bathroom, it was clean and didn't smell weird. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well. That's unusual for me when I travel. In the morning the shower head put out a decent stream of water (unlike the trickles I have tried to wash in at some cheaper places). And the bathroom actually had enough lighting. Some of the cheaper motels give you a 20 watt bulb in each room and expect you to be happy with that.

Then, the icing on the cake, guests get an honest-to-goodness hot breakfast in the restaurant in the morning included in their room rate. Eggs, bacon, sausage, juice, milk, dry cereal if you really have to stick to your fiber in the a.m., muffins and banana bread.

If all lower priced motels would treat their guests this well they'd be booked full year-round. If I ever have to go to San Jose again, I know where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PersonintheVicinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I didn't want to pay a lot, but wanted better place than Motel 6... it was not and it was not worth the money.
Positive: Staff is very friendly
Negative: my room said "Deluxe", which was nothing further from the truth - very old, not updated place. Shower worked poorly (from very hot to very cold, you just had to touch to regulator), mattresses were too old (reminded me my summer camp experience in Russia), blankets while poor quality looked like have been used for 10 years at least, carpet... not worth mentioning. I didn't want my 4-year old touch it with bear feet. Please note that I'm NOT picky or "strange". I grew up in Russia; I've seen cockroaches and I assure you - if you're willing to pay $70-90/night, you should look for something else

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrinaCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Service, service, service...It really stands out at Mariani's Inn & Restaurant. I reserved a room to celebrate my birthday on the weekend of June 25-26. I experienced so many great examples of Mariani's hospitality - it is amazing. From the moment I checked in, I knew I was in a family style premium service environment as I heard the front desk staff talking to other guests. Everyone knew each other's names and the staff was giving great recommendations for weekend activities to the long term corporate housing guests. My parents treated me to dinner at the restaurant. Becky provided impeccable service and all the menu choices - including the Early Bird specials we ordered. I invited a set of friends to Mariani's Poolside Party in honor of the World Cup. Hector Ortiz oversaw amazing Brazilian rum drink specials at the Poolside bar. My friends enjoyed seeing all the activity in the main bar, restaurant, and poolside area. The Queen Deluxe room was very clean and comfortable as I slept so soundly without any noise. I started off the morning with a refreshing swim and a great breakfast served with great big smiles from Arturo and Lionel. Finally, I ended my stay with another great example of customer service as Andrea at the front desk helped me with the internet connection and very fast and efficient check out services. Mariani's means service!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcashman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.1 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#13 of 32 in Santa Clara
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#18 of 32 in Santa Clara
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
#15 of 32 in Santa Clara
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariani's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariani's Inn

Address: 2500 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-3098
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range: £81 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mariani's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our history began when Jack Mariani settled in Santa Clara in 1907. After farming his orchards for many years, he was inspired to pull out five acres of prune trees and create the Inn and Restaurant. Ever since, our guests have experienced lodging and dining of the highest caliber in a relaxing, homelike atmosphere. You're sure to enjoy your stay, because we operate the way Jack Mariani designed it - as a family place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mariani's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariani`s Hotel Santa Clara
Marianis Hotel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing