We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK for trip to Great America”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Just OK for trip to Great America”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I took the kids to Great America. The hotel was clean, but the rooms were tiny. We booked two rooms - one for the three kids (12, 15, and 18), and one for us. We tried putting the kids in a room with two "double" beds. There is no way two people or even children would fit in one of those beds. Had to switch to a "king" and a cot. The staff were very accommodating, and the pool was great. Overall we had a good stay. However, I would not have booked this hotel had I realized there was no shuttle to the park and no continental breakfast, but that's just personal preference and would have saved us a bunch of money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmolekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you zmolekd for the review. I am happy that you had a good stay with your family here at the Avatar and the staff were very accommodating to make you as comfortable as possible. It is always hard to find spacious sleeping areas especially when the little ones keep on growing. It is always great that you had fun at the pool and got to take advantage of Great America just down the road. We hope to see you again in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to us anytime.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    156
    88
    33
    13
See reviews for
62
58
37
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels, as a musician/public relations professional, and I rarely write reviews on hotels (this is my first one!)...but I had to share my experience about staying in the Avatar in San Jose/Santa Clara California. When I was checking in, the staff was super polite, and not only did they treat me with professional hospitality, they went above and beyond! I was super impressed with how nice these people were, all 3 at the front desk were making me laugh with jokes.

The hotel manager, Robert Hendricks, gave me a bottle of wine upon check-in! Who does that? That has never happened to me before. So I asked if they could open it for me (since I'm not a complete alcoholic and bring a wine key with me..lol) and then Robert opened it and asked me if I had any glasses. I replied no (laughing a little, because who brings wine glasses???) and then he told me he would bring one up to my room shortly if there weren't any regular glasses in the room. 15 minutes after I was in the room, he called me from the front desk and asked me if there were glasses in the room. I replied yes, and then he told me he found a real wine glass for me in the bar, and wanted to know if I would like to have that instead, and another bottle of wine for his mistake of not thinking of that before. I laughed again and said, "Who is going to turn down ANOTHER free bottle of wine?? Of course, please bring it up and the glass as well."

The hotel manager, Robert, then appeared 10 minutes later with the new bottle, a disposable wine key and a proper wine glass. I thanked him and told him how impressed I was and how thoughtful the staff were. He then asked me if I was happy with the room. (Normally, I stay in boutique hotels that have a little style - like The Diva in SF, and The Standard in West Hollywood). The room looked a lot like The Standard, with ultra cool chairs, king sized beds with awesome/strange looking linens, ample desk space and interesting decor. I told him that I was happy with the room, but that I had booked the room so I could have a view of the pool, and even though I was on the pool side, on the highest floor, I couldn't see it because I was in front of the stairs and it was blocking the view. Then Robert called downstairs, found me a better room, with a nice view of the pool on the same floor, and went downstairs and came back upstairs and brought the keys to me!!!!

Then Robert told me they had a happy hour in the commons room, and also a membership to the hotel chain so that I could gather points and get discounts. Well, of course I signed up, and then I went to the happy hour...where the cute little bartender talked to me and acted like we were best friends for an hour!!! They had free food/steak quesadillas for the happy hour. It was really a nice time (and I travel alone quite a bit, so it was nice to feel like an honored guest who frequents the hotel on my first stay!).

I have to give 5 Stars to this hotel manager, hotel staff, program, rooms, and definitely the pool area. Its beautiful. Obviously, I will be staying here again instead of the SF area when I need to come here for business. Great value for Silicon Valley!

Room Tip: Choose a pool view/king bed option if you are traveling alone. And sign up for the membership (costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for this AMAZING 5 star review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay...and the bottles of wine! Robert is a great manager always making sure each of each our guests feel like they are the most important person staying at the Avatar. There is nothing better than checking into a hotel were you immediately feel like you belong and its just your old hang out spot. We can't wait for you to come back. Please reach out to us next time your in the area we look forward to seeing you again.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
408-235-8900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Above average hotel with more character and lower prices than many of the other options in this area. This is my 2nd stay, and I would not hesitate to return. Good value in Silicon Valley for business travelers who don't care to pay the exorbitant rates charged by many of the big chains in the area...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for this great review JB1302. Love it when we have guests that say they want to come back and actually get the chance too. Let us know the next time you are in the area and we will see you then.

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is an older hotel that has been redone in a modern style with large, spacious rooms. The rooms were well appointed and had King bed with a large, flat screen TV. Room was clean and the hotel had nice amenities including a pool, spa & fitness room. It was adjacent to an IHOP that guests recieved a 10% discount at. Also next to a Bennigan's restaurant. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was well stocked. Had an issue in the bathroom and staff was very responsive. Very pet friendly, no extra charge for dog...as with other hotels in the area. Would definitely stay here again.
I booked this room through hotels.com and was quite pleased. Got a $25 better deal than posted on their website by calling their customer service number as it was a last minute booking.

Room Tip: 10% discount at the IHOP restaurant for hotel guests is a nice touch. Easy access to Mission Colleg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheumann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you Pheumann01 for the review I am glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. It is always best to book directly through us when making a reservation so we can insure the best available rate. Currently we have a promotion going where you will receive 15% discount of the best available rate with the promo code "DIRECT".

Until next time,

Adam Finch

Operations Manager
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4200 Great America Pkwy
Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: 408-235-8900
Fax: 408-988-0976
jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

As motel renovations go, this is a worthy contender. I was able to get a discounted room and at the price of a Best Western, the stay was luxurious by comparison. They've maintained the grounds nicely, everything was relaxing, and the room was clean and comfortable. Geeks will love the lobby, but it can leave the first time visitor wondering if the bed has a coin-operated massage (sorry, nope). Enjoy Santa Clara even better than it was when this place was built!

Green Features: Joie de Vivre is taking hotel-ing to the green-century!
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwhized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you Gwhized for this great review. It is great to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room clean and comfortable! Our lobby always grabs peoples attention with our fun "geek chic boutique" feel. We hope you will be back to visit us again here in the near future.

Thank you again,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager

Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4200 Great America Pkwy
Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: 408-235-8900
Fax: 408-988-0976
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed there for a night as I had a training around.. It's not really an hotel but more a motel... You walk outside to get to your room.. No elevators.. The room was just perfect and it was quite..Beds were comfortable and it was very clean. There is a outside pool.. No room service but there are 2 restaurant walking (front and side of the hotel - And not fancy or healthy..) Service was just Ok.. Prices of the room was good. I went there because I didnt have a choice and I will probably not go back but its a nice, quiet place, great for families, since its near to the attraction park.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pub restaurants (not facing the pool) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystelle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you Krystelle005 for the four star review. I am glad that you gave us a chance and found the room perfect and quite with comfortable beds. We hope you will come back if you are ever in the area again.

Adam Finch
Operations Manager

Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4200 Great America Pkwy
Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: 408-235-8900
Fax: 408-988-0976
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Avatar was nice for a quick weekend away but not too far from home. The check-in process was easy, and the front desk staff were very welcoming. The room was basic but comfortable. The price was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you JohnGLin for the five star review! I am glad you got to enjoy your weekend away with us here at the Avatar. We look forward to seeing you again here in the near future for another weekend getaway.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager

Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4200 Great America Pkwy
Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: 408-235-8900
Fax: 408-988-0976
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing