We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Concept Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Retro Concept Hotel”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Fun little hotel that must have once been a motel. All of the rooms are open and have an exterior entrance along walkway, with a window facing the walkway. It's been done up in a post-modern way, with good effect. Clean and simple, and convenient to some Silicon Valley business. Near Great America as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you Michael F for this four star review. I am glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us, we are a great place to stay with convenient access to many Silicon Valley business like you mention. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    165
    92
    35
    14
See reviews for
76
64
37
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I love the Avatar as a concept. In execution, it's not quite a groovy as it could be. Location is great, and there are some nice touches like the in-room Keurig machine and *gasp* empty fridge so you can stock it as you like. However, once you get below the surface you notice some pretty poor quality elements, like flimsy drawers, and ultra cheap bathroom hardware and finishes. If everything really WERE as great as it LOOKS, this place would get four or five stars from me. Also the pool is a bit smaller and scruffier than the website conveys, and the staff were, while not outright rude, at best indifferent.

Room Tip: As a woman travelling alone, I found my room on the very outside of the building next to a parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you BostonTraveller09 for your review. We here at Avatar appreciate the feedback without it we would not be able to improve each guests experience. It is great you enjoyed the amenities of the room such as the refrigerator and the Keurig coffee maker. We have actually just started improving the bathroom hardware such as the shower handles and heads which we are going room by room. I hope we will see you again in the near future and the room will be more up to your standard.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A friend and I spent one night here while attending a conference. I enjoyed the complementary drink at happy hour and newspapers, the in-room Keurig coffee maker, the abundant parking, and the comfortable beds. It was clean. The double room was not large, but it had good lighting, toiletries, a chair, good charging stations, free wi fi - everything you need. (Attention, manager: the tissues need an upgrade!) Very small bathroom. I am not a big fan of exterior corridors, and that's what you have here. Yes, it seems like a rehabbed budget hotel, but it worked for us. There are a number of good dining options right across the busy street in a tiny strip mall. We had an excellent dinner at Sushi Express, and bagelwiches & lattes to go from the outstanding bagel place. iHop was - well, it was what you expect. Don't be surprised if a $50 "incidentals" charge shows up on your pending credit card bill. It will disappear unless you drank the water. I sleep with earplugs, so noise was not an issue. Nearby Mission College is an excellent place to walk in the morning, but the exercise room is above average.

Room Tip: Highest floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLightOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you TravelLightOften for this great review! We love it when our guests go above and beyond in reviewing our property and I am sure your fellow travelers also appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and discovered the great surrounding restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This facility is not suitable for a solo female traveler. This is a motel style building. It should be advertised as a motel not hotel. Rooms all open on an exterior walkway with the only window also facing the walkway. The only window covering is a wooden lever blind with uncomfortable gaps. The door did not seem very solid. No visible security. Overpriced for what it is.

Staff is outstanding. Very helpful, friendly and understanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you Cheryl200 for your review, we appreciate all feedback and take it very seriously. I thank you for giving us five stars for our service what we lack in physical layout we try to make up with our customer service. I can assure you that this is an very safe area and we make the safety of our guests priority we have someone on property 24 hours and have a great relationship with the emergency services in the area. If you would be interested in contacting me to discuss in more detail i am more than happy to speak with you.

Have a great day

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was updated to look modern and a bit trendy. I found it clean and functional. The staff was friendly and I appreciated the coffee maker and the free happy hour drink.
If you need anything, there are a couple of quick food places across the street and a small market to purchase toilet accessories, chips, beer, wine, etc.
I have not tried the complementary breakfast at the connected IHOP, or the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jangrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you janfrode for your review. It is always great to hear when someone enjoyed and takes advantage of the amenities such as the happy hour complimentary drink. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This will be my first choice on return trips, unless a client wants me to stay elsewhere and is footing the bill.

This place has mixed reviews, and I can see why, but I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. I got a $169 price on Kayak, $100 off a price I saw later - at THAT price it would be a joke. But at $169 - wow. Yes, it's sorta "Motel 6 with IKEA furniture" as one negative review said - but everything worked! Especially, the good free wifi beats the crap out of the $12.95 bad wifi at Marriotts. And Keurig in-room coffee? And pool and Jacuzzi, well maintained.

I'm not thrilled that it's attached to an iHOP but there's plenty more in the area, and I ordered less deadly fare than the iHOP usual. It's a half mile from the convention center and a 10 minute walk from a Starbucks.

I'll repeat the kudos for the service. Every person I spoke with was attentive and caring and fixed my issue on the first try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deBronkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you ePatientDave for this wonderful review! I am so glad you had the chance to stay with us your last visit to the area and it is great to hear that you will be back. Next time your in the area please let me know we are always happy to match and even beat rates that are on sites such as Kayak. It is also always great to here that the staff were all very caring and attentive, they all thank you for your recognition.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have to give them credit. Having red outdoor drapes around the pathways and snappy furnishings is a nice touch, but it is still has old cheap hotel bones. We had no hot water our first night there so could not shower after our travel day. However, the maintenance man was there right away and it was working by morning. There was some bad smell in the lobby when we checked in and someone was walking through spraying room spray. Not sure what that was about. But the staff were excellent and responded quickly to everything. But since we had to pay just under $200/night, that seemed pretty steep for such accommodations. I think it would be better if they weren't on a main thoroughfare. Lots of road noise and a junky area. There is an IHOP right next door with 10% off when you stay at the hotel. The pool area had Caribbean music playing which actually helped make the area feel relaxing despite the road noise.

Room Tip: All the rooms face in toward the pool and the street. Not sure how you would avoid road noise. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you katwave for your review. It is great to hear that the staffs level of service was excellent and quick in responding to your issues. I do however want to apologizing for the issues even occurring. We do fix everything as soon as it comes to our attention, but unfortunately not everyone brings it to our attention right away so thank you again for your review this is the best way we can improve. I hope we will get the chance to see you again in the near future and please reach out to me directly if you have any additional comments or questions.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing