We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for its category”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Irkutsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice for its category”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms are cozy in the hotel. The swimming pool is also very nice. There is only one thing that bothered me a little - when you enter the lobby the artificial scented odor was so strong that it made me feel bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you Natalia for this great five star review! I am glad you found the rooms cozy and you got to enjoy the pool we had a wonderful January and beginning of the year here. Thank you also for your comment on our air freshener scent, I have gone ahead and adjusted this so our other guests do not have the same experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    165
    92
    35
    14
See reviews for
76
66
37
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It's a motel outside doors for all the rooms. Carpets are stained, but otherwise clean. Everything works. Pillows are feathers or foam. Matresses have no box springs and are a bit soft. I slept well, but the experiencw is very basic.

Helpful?
Thank Brandt F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you Brandt for your feedback. I am glad that you slept well, but am sorry to hear we didn't stand out of the crowd. We are actually currently going for a very large refresh on the property grounds creating a more private enclosed area to counter the outside doors. We would love to have you back in the future and make your next experience stand out among any others. Feel free to reach out to me directly if you have any suggestions where we could create a more of a wow experience.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
afinch@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rainbow Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I had to write this review to help people make a decision regarding a superb night's sleep. I am a 57 year old woman who usually gets up 3 or 4 times a night to go to the bathroom. I don't drink booze or caffeine. After the first night I wondered why and woke up from a deep sleep. I told my husband it was so deep, I might have been close to death! LOL. Anyway, all three nights were the same. I asked the front desk if I could buy the pillow and they sold it to me at cost. They gave 4 for our room, $45 each. You can check yourself at downetc.com. Why they put in $180 worth of pillows in a $66 per night room is beyond me, but I am so grateful. In addition, my husband and I both agree we wanted to take the bed home too. We visit San Jose every other Thanksgiving and will choose this hotel over any other place to stay. For me, being able to sleep in this hotel's bed with these pillows will add to the excitement of our next trip!!! And by the way, the shower grout and caulking is clean, near new looking and that is a requirement for me to revisit.

Room Tip: Down pillows and superior comfort to make sleeping a heavenly experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for the AWESOME five star review! I am so glad you finally got some great nights sleep. I hope your still sleep just as well at home now with our pillows. We are looking forward to your visit back next Thanksgiving.

Until Next Time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Fun little hotel that must have once been a motel. All of the rooms are open and have an exterior entrance along walkway, with a window facing the walkway. It's been done up in a post-modern way, with good effect. Clean and simple, and convenient to some Silicon Valley business. Near Great America as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you Michael F for this four star review. I am glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us, we are a great place to stay with convenient access to many Silicon Valley business like you mention. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I love the Avatar as a concept. In execution, it's not quite a groovy as it could be. Location is great, and there are some nice touches like the in-room Keurig machine and *gasp* empty fridge so you can stock it as you like. However, once you get below the surface you notice some pretty poor quality elements, like flimsy drawers, and ultra cheap bathroom hardware and finishes. If everything really WERE as great as it LOOKS, this place would get four or five stars from me. Also the pool is a bit smaller and scruffier than the website conveys, and the staff were, while not outright rude, at best indifferent.

Room Tip: As a woman travelling alone, I found my room on the very outside of the building next to a parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you BostonTraveller09 for your review. We here at Avatar appreciate the feedback without it we would not be able to improve each guests experience. It is great you enjoyed the amenities of the room such as the refrigerator and the Keurig coffee maker. We have actually just started improving the bathroom hardware such as the shower handles and heads which we are going room by room. I hope we will see you again in the near future and the room will be more up to your standard.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A friend and I spent one night here while attending a conference. I enjoyed the complementary drink at happy hour and newspapers, the in-room Keurig coffee maker, the abundant parking, and the comfortable beds. It was clean. The double room was not large, but it had good lighting, toiletries, a chair, good charging stations, free wi fi - everything you need. (Attention, manager: the tissues need an upgrade!) Very small bathroom. I am not a big fan of exterior corridors, and that's what you have here. Yes, it seems like a rehabbed budget hotel, but it worked for us. There are a number of good dining options right across the busy street in a tiny strip mall. We had an excellent dinner at Sushi Express, and bagelwiches & lattes to go from the outstanding bagel place. iHop was - well, it was what you expect. Don't be surprised if a $50 "incidentals" charge shows up on your pending credit card bill. It will disappear unless you drank the water. I sleep with earplugs, so noise was not an issue. Nearby Mission College is an excellent place to walk in the morning, but the exercise room is above average.

Room Tip: Highest floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLightOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you TravelLightOften for this great review! We love it when our guests go above and beyond in reviewing our property and I am sure your fellow travelers also appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and discovered the great surrounding restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This facility is not suitable for a solo female traveler. This is a motel style building. It should be advertised as a motel not hotel. Rooms all open on an exterior walkway with the only window also facing the walkway. The only window covering is a wooden lever blind with uncomfortable gaps. The door did not seem very solid. No visible security. Overpriced for what it is.

Staff is outstanding. Very helpful, friendly and understanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you Cheryl200 for your review, we appreciate all feedback and take it very seriously. I thank you for giving us five stars for our service what we lack in physical layout we try to make up with our customer service. I can assure you that this is an very safe area and we make the safety of our guests priority we have someone on property 24 hours and have a great relationship with the emergency services in the area. If you would be interested in contacting me to discuss in more detail i am more than happy to speak with you.

Have a great day

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#7 of 32 in Santa Clara
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing