We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
268 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Still a motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Joie de Vivre brand promises classy property, but it's not. The entire hotel setup is still in its motel origins. Yes, the rooms were upgraded, but you still don't feel the comfort (motel-type front entrance with little privacy, thin walls, no curtains, just shades, lots of noise from around). Big disappointment for JdV branded hotel.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. New bed. But again motel-style bathroom split with the sink outside (in the corner of the room). At least the bathtub and shower are upgraded. Still, you hear the neighbors snoring and see the people walking across your window to their rooms. Added value - 5-6am wakeup service provided by the IHOP deliveries or trash collectors. WiFi free, but rather slow. Very little security - the potential thief has only thin doors to cross to reach your room; and they can get to the property unnoticed from any angle.

Breakfast "served" in the adjacent IHOP (extremely slow service, 30 minutes waiting for the order to be received, then another 20 minutes waiting for the omelet). And you get only 10 USD voucher for the breakfast, so you will need to pay the unavoidable difference even if the rate says "breakfast included".

Talking about the rate - if it would be at 100 USD level, then this place would be a no-brainer for cost conscious travelers. But it's much more, easily getting to twice this value, which renders the offers of nearby Marriott and Hyatt much more attractive.

Room Tip: a room at the end of the corridor will limit the guest traffic in from of your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you Miramaks for your time to complete this review. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Please know that we read and take these reviews very seriously when considering ways in which we can improve our guests stay and our customer satisfaction.

Thank you again. I truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    147
    83
    32
    13
See reviews for
57
54
35
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I checked into this "hotel" as I was attending a conference across the road, and the host hotel was full for that night.
I told them I was arriving late, requesting a higher floor room.
When I got in, it took a while to get my booking, and you get breakfast vouchers to the iHop adjoining it, but they did not have it ready.
My room was in full view of the car park, accessible from just about anywhere, and you had to go through a desolate area to get to it.I was really uncomfortable with that.
The room was utilitarian - modernish decor but that's about it.
I was going to stay the 4 days of the event, but decided to move the next morning. Plus, the description of just across the road was inaccurate - it was quite a walk to manoeuvre my hand luggage across the road.
Oh yes - and even though I was quoted a day rate, it was not honoured, so I ended up paying a ridiculous price to boot!
There is no chance I will be back to Avatar hotel, even though I am going to be back in the area.

Room Tip: If you want the security of a regular hotel, you will not get it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I apologize that we did not meet you expectations. Our hotel is basic in the amenities offered but it does meet the needs of many business travelers. We are in the process of enclosing the property with a secured perimeter fence and re-landscaping the entire exterior. I am sorry once again your stay was not what was expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the first time I stayed at a Joie de Vivre property. To be honest, before this I was not aware of such a hotel chain. This was a chance discovery.

I had booked on-line. The website needs some functional improvement.

Check-in was smooth and pleasant. Room decor and furnishing was bright and pleasant, though some repairs were needed. Wi-fi worked well.

The inter-connected iHop restaurant is a functional add-on.

In short, a good place to stay for the special pricing I got. Would go back again if I get the same price. I understand their "normal" pricing is way too high to be competitive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVIDTRAVELLER53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I apologize that we did not meet you expectations. Our hotel is basic in the amenities offered but it does meet the needs of many business travelers. We are in the process of enclosing the property with a secured perimeter fence and re-landscaping the entire exterior. I am sorry once again your stay was not what was expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Like most Joie de Vivre hotels in which I've stayed, the Avatar is a comfortable and assidiuously clean property with quirky décor and an effective yet casual staff. Like others in the chain, the place is clearly designed to accommodate the travelling employees of the nearby high-tech businesses. Because of this fact, weekend rooms are a bargain! These rooms are outfitted with a refrigerator, but lacked a microwave. The "bar" open until 10 p.m. on Friday night reminded me of a giant family room, but served only beer and wine.

The staff members went out of their way to help, including accommodating a late reservation change, helping find the best place for dinner (Firk's steakhouse is blocks away), and making doubly sure that we had our complimentary bottle of water in the room.

Don't be alarmed when you hear people screaming in the distance as you walk out of your room. Great America and its roller coasters are literally across the street, making a great choice for a family trip to the theme park. The property includes a modest pool and hot tub.

IHOP shares the building. As usual, the food there was nearly inedible, but that is what I get for ordering anything other than breakfast at IHOP. Bennigan's is next door and a bounty of dining choices surround the hotel. Room service is available for lunch and dinner from an outside delivery service.

Green Features: The hotel obviously follows "green" practices, including low-flow plumbing (watch out for that jet toilet flush) and decorations from renewable materials.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avancuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Avatar and being a loyal Joie De Vivre customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel room itself wasn't too bad, but I've had better. Glad I wound up getting a deal from a third party site because I would have been upset if I had paid the regular price. Although it was clean, it was very noisy and the location of the room was poor (1st floor, near parking lot and next to boiler room.) It served it's purpose for the weekend and at least we were able to get 10% discount on IHOP right next door.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on higher floor and towards the back if you want a more quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
LG,
Thank you for your feed back about your recent stay with us. Yes, having IHOP on site is a unique feature of our hotel which most guest really enjoy. Sorry to hear you experienced some noise on the first floor. Typically our hotel is relatively quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights when I was in Santa Clara for business. This hotel feels like it use to be a Motel 6 but you pay $300/night. It has been recently painted and the soap is nice but the AC is old and noisy. The carpet had stains on it. The windows don't have curtains but blinds that don't keep the light out.

If you are use to a business class hotel, I would stay away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSkerrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you IanSkerrett for your review. I'm so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Know that we are continually improving our property and are currently undergoing some great changes and upgrades.

Thank you again for your time. I hope that you can give us another shot the next time you are in Santa Clara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel was very nice. I needed a place to crash for one night, and the price was right. It is right across the street from the new stadium where the 49ers will be playing in 2014-15. The staff was very friendly, and it is right next to an IHOP and Bennigans. While not ultra classy joints, they have staple food you know will be good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papasierra6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F, Manager at Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you Papasierra6 for this awesome review! We are so clad you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the property. Hopefully you will be back in the fall for a 49ers game of two! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Until next time,

Adam Finch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Clara Marriott
Santa Clara Marriott
#6 of 32 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Santa Clara
1.0 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 4200 Great America Pkwy, Santa Clara, CA 95054-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sync up with Avatar Hotel, the perfect portal to the vibrant technology hub of Silicon Valley. Our boutique hotel will keep you connected, rested and comfortable throughout your stay. Embrace your inner tech nerd. Our newly renovated rooms feature a large working desk, 37 inch flat screen TV, Ipod docking station, refrigerator and free high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Santa Clara
Santa Clara Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing