We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service has deteriorated. Place is still very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Maintenance in this hotel is mediocre. Had a few issues. First the light at the entrance to the room didn't work. The service people left the AC at maximum cold mode. When I returned at night the room was frozen. 3rd the cleaning lady left the bathtub stopper in the middle of the bathtub

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sananes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear sananes,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Clara for two nights on business. I arrived from the east coast on a morning flight and got to the hotel around 11:00 am. I asked if I could check in early and the person at the desk checked, and found that there were no clean rooms yet. She invited me to sit in the breakfast area and set me up with wifi and coffee. After 15 minutes she came in to tell me the room was now ready. Very nice!

The room was clean and and functional. Nothing fancy, but what you expect at a HIE. Breakfast was good and my few interactions with the hotel staff were friendly and pleasant. The hotel is a $20 cab ride from the San Jose airport. It would be nice if there was an airport shuttle, but that is not that big of a deal. The area around the hotel is typical suburbia with fast food places, tire and auto repair stores and the like. The Walgreens down the road is well-stocked with food and beverages in addition to typical pharmacy goods. It is pricey ($230/night with taxes) but I guess that is to be expected given the location. I disagree with the review of Rafi S: the fitness center is not very good. One stairmaster, one treadmill and some sort of lame weight machine all in a tiny room. That was probably the only bad thing to say about the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmolecule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great hotel. Exceeded my expectations. Couldn't fault anything. Nice little pool area. Lovely breakfast, everything you could want with bag to take away if you're in a hurry. Mixture of clientele, business people and families. Clean, comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank never2manyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed here in August 2013. Room was nice and new. They have a pool, which I did not expect to see in such a hotel. My room faced the pool so no noise. I assume other rooms can be noisy. There was a kitchenette in the room as well - very convenient. Room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at this property during a business trip in the Silicon Valley in August 2013.
Although quite old, this hotel is nice and pleasant.
Definitely a good value.
Breakfast is nice, but fruits are missing...
Good fitness center.
Nice staff service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Rafi S,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My sister, her kids, and I stayed her during a recent vacation. We had two teens, and were hoping for a one room suite, but couldn't afford the few we came across. The HIE is a slightly larger than average room with a pull out bed, at least gave us a little extra space to spread out.

The hotel offered free wifi; you need to sign on with the password every time your computer/phone/tablet sleeps, or at least once a day. There was also an exercise room and a pool we never saw anyone use.

We asked for a room in back, and it was quiet. We were not bothered by street noise. The room was clean and comfortable. The toilet backed up at about 10 PM, and the front desk told us we could come down to pick up a plunger. The plunger did the job, but it speaks to the "low frills" nature of the chain.

There are a couple of grocery stores within a mile's distance, and the room had a fridge and microwave. The fridge did not keep food as cold as we would have liked, however—perhaps it didn't close all the way (I didn't see that review until after we returned from our trip.)

Breakfast included a large selection: lots of starch—bagels, muffins, cinnamon rolls, pancakes, oatmeal packets and white rice; several proteins–omelets (pre-made), boiled eggs, peanut butter and yogurt; and bananas.

The location was a little far from the things we ended up doing in the area, so I'm not sure I'd stay here again, but it is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

this time is better got a better room, just check your fridge closes, and you are fine. The pool was clean, and in sunny days you can enjoy it, gym has the appropriate things if you like to workout, cardio machines are a good choice here

Room Tip: never near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nestor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
0.7 mi away
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#2 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,423 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.2 mi away
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
Biltmore Hotel & Suites
#10 of 32 in Santa Clara
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 2455 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range: £80 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new and fresh Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Clara-Silicon Valley. Our stylish and sophisticated hotel features 97 studio suites thoughtfully designed with the business and leisure traveler in mind offering complimentary business and fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast! We are in the Silicon Valley centrally located in Santa Clara near the Santa Clara/San Jose Convention Center and only a few miles from San Jose Airport. Local businesses include Santa Clara University, Google, Cisco Systems, Intel, Yahoo, AMD and Applied Materials. Santana Row offers dining and shopping variety. Don't forget to visit California Great America and Winchester Mystery House. Our distinctive lodging is an urban retreat for everyday travelers seeking modern convenience mixed with warm, casual California ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Clara
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Hawthorn Suites Santa Clara
Santa Clara Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing