We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel”
Review of Hotel E Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel E Real
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here this past weekend for two nights (Fri & Sat night) This place is convenient and easy to get to. The clerk at the front desk was friendly but my husband was not happy that we had to put down a $50 deposit, refundable at check out if nothing was broken in the room. This was a new policy we never had to deal with in this country. I'm sure they probably had issues in the past so now they implement this rule on all their guests.
The room was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy but with all the basics, like a mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, etc. The room came with continental breakfast that consisted of coffee, toast, cereal (hot or cold) and apples or oranges. OJ and apple juice too. We had a good night sleep because believe or not the place was quiet. Lucky for us we did not have noisy people and the street noise was far away from the rooms. There is a swimming pool but we did not use it. This hotel is not too far from Great America or the new stadium that opened up. I would stay here again based on the convenient location.

Room Tip: All the room face the parking lot so your chances are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mibaba4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. I wish I could have stayed longer. I got in late, the beds were clean the room was in great shape. Everyone at the desk was polite. The sink was a little slow running down, but it was not a problem. I would definitely stay at the Vagabond again. Thank you, and thank you.

Room Tip: Its a two star hotel, but I go by customer reviews more than anything. The customers gave it a 3 ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

We appreciate your words of praise on behalf of our hotel.
Thank you for choosing our location when visiting the Santa Clara area.
Our front desk team is truly what makes a difference in people stays. I love when I hear that one of my guest service agents went above and beyond for our guests.

Please give us a call the next time you are in the area as our availability and rates change.

Thanks again for the great recommendation in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The WORST place ever!!! Shady business practices and safeguard your debit/credit card information. Don't give it to them. We were charged over $656 after canceling our reservation. We were told the room would be ready at 1:30pm and we showed up at 1:40pm. We had driven across country and were extremely tired. We waited around for hours and they told us to come back at 3pm because the room was not ready. We told them to forget it and they threatened us that they would charge us a cancellation of 1 day. 1 day became the entire amount! They would also not show us a room prior so we could see what they looked like giving us some kind of story that they could not even show us a room. We will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau for sure for starters. Working with our bank to regain our money. Hope this helps you guys. Stay clear!

Room Tip: Read the reviews and beware shady management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

No, it's not the Hilton, but it is very nice (I'm there now) Bed is comfy. Sheets are clean and smell fresh. There is a microwave, coffee maker, and fridge. There's even a tub in the bathroom. There a lot of restraunts nearby, but mostly Asian. We did find a close Denny's (food was great) and Starbucks close by.

Room Tip: Don't getby the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CatCat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Hotel E Real, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

We appreciate your words of praise on behalf of our hotel.
Thank you for choosing our location when visiting the Santa Clara area.
Our property prides itself on the its guest service as well as Location, Location, Location! Its right in the middle of everything.

Please give us a call the next time you are in the area as our availability and rates change.

Thanks again for the great recommendation in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Friendly speedy check in. Easy to find a Bright spot when it comes 2 price and comfort.Pool was clean.32" screens with open composite,HDMI,USB open.Tub 4 soaking sore muscles.Excellent verity of ethnic restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Carpet was old and dirty; advertised waffles and pancakes for breakfast and had neither; water for shower was barely warm in morning; reception person did not seem to care much but what can they do when everything is terrible?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

There has been some updating to the property including the interiors of the rooms. However parking lot has some loose pavement and is in need of at least re-sealing. The hot water valve on the tub/shower faucet was not operative and it was not possible to adjust the water temp, although fortunately it was already set at an acceptable level. The "breakfast" was minimal with only toast, cereal, juice and fruit. No bagels, no pastries, no waffles, no butter.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms away from the Lawrence Expressway would be the quietest, although I did not experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
1.3 mi away
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
Granada Inn - Silicon Valley
#14 of 32 in Santa Clara
163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#20 of 32 in Santa Clara
56 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#1 of 32 in Santa Clara
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
#16 of 33 in Sunnyvale
86 reviews
2.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel E Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel E Real

Address: 3580 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051-2136
Region: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel E Real 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Close to Great America Theme Park, Winchester Mystery House, Downtown, Santa Cruz Boardwalk, Santa Clara University, Stanford University, and the San Jose Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Continental Breakfast, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Free Newspaper, and Swimming Pool. Great value - visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel E Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Vagabond Hotel Santa Clara
Vagabond Motel Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing