We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really underwhemed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We booked this hotel based on the rave reviews in Tripadvisor. I was expecting a lot more than we got. We were in room #9. On the plus side, the room was large, the bed was comfortable. The WIFI worked well. The room had a small refrigerator. BUT.... the heater made a loud noise as it went on and off all night. So we left it off which meant that we could now hear the outside street traffic noise and the refrigerator motor noise. The bathroom was freezing cold. There was a device on the wall of the bathroom to heat the bathroom floor tiles but neither of us could figure out how to program it, so the bathroom stayed cold. Is it MY job to program this thing? We got none of the solicitous attention that was descibed in other reviews of Bella Notte. The clerk at check-iin told us that in summer they served a wonderful breakfast, but as it was now winter, low season, we would get only a continental breakfast. Actually the breakfast was quite good, but this introduction really made us feel like second class guests. Bella Notte felt like a really OK roadside motel, nothing special. Is it really the #1 hotel in Santa Cruz? I sure hope not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CenterMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear CenterMtrav, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you liked your room, the bed and free WiFi and breakfast. We are sorry to hear there was an issue at reception and there was a problem getting the heated bathroom floor to work. Our staff is available 8am - 10pm and they are happy to assist with any questions guests may have. We also provide a binder in each room with helpful information related to guest rooms and local resources. The weekend of your stay we did serve a full hot breakfast (as we do during the summer) through typically (as stated on our website) we do not serve a full hot breakfast November through February.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We found this through TripAdvisor, it was rated #1 in Santa Cruz. It isn't priced like a #1 hotel (cheaper). So we made a reservation and thought we'd try it. My wife was so surprised! I didn't tell her anything about the hotel and it was very close to her style. Resort like, soft colors, thick throw rug, great bed. Room was spacious & very clean. Not just the standard once over but you can tell that the rooms are well taken care of deep clean where you wouldn't expect. We had one little problem but the manner they addressed it and the concern they showed was so far above & beyond, that it turned into a positive not a negative experiance.
I read some of the reviews where people complained about street noise. Where have they been staying? I haven't ever stayed in a hotel that didn't have some noise unless it was an actual resort where your car isn’t anywhere close. Maybe if we had left the window open, but again, why go to someplace like Santa Cruz and expect that you’re the only one there? But enough about other people’s odd quirks.
This is as close to the area we wanted to be without being in the touristy noisy areas.
This isn’t your hotel if you plan on getting rowdy drunk, want to stumble back from the boardwalk, or like to go to places where the staff doesn’t care and you can trash the place.
This is the place if you want a very relaxing home base to do your exploring/business from. Close enough to everything without being stuck out in the congestion of the Boardwalk. You can leave your car & walk to several beaches, restaurants, etc… There are some decent restaurants within 1,000 yards. But all that stuff aside; this is a very nice place, truly relaxing, great beds, baths, & beyond. The breakfast they create every morning is slightly different each day and made for our enjoyment. They don’t take the easy route with the same old dried out-high carb fare that is common. The owners and the staff take a great interest in our comfort & experience.
So, stay here (or don’t, more room for me), take advantage of this extremely high quality, underpriced, resort-like place before they raise their prices to where they should be. And once they do, stay here anyway; you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InnstoneDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear InnStoneDotCom, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to meet or exceed our guest expectations and try to learn from any mistakes we may make. We hope you'll come visit us again when you travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Bella Notte is the only place to stay when in Santa Cruz! I just stayed seven nights for the fourth time this year. I feel as though I'm at a spa! Darrell and Lam are excellent hosts. The entire staff is very friendly and helpful. Whenever I inquired about directions to get somewhere, Darrell looked up the directions on the internet, printed them for me, and made sure I understood them. The rooms are beautiful! - high ceilings, spacious, and heated bathroom floors. The continental breakfast includes my favorites - fresh fruit, organic milk, and pastries from Gayle's Bakery & Rosticceria in Capitola.

Twin Lakes Beach is a five minute walk. It's such a nice beach complete with Dolphins! It's so relaxing to walk along the beach, hear the crash of waves, and smell the sea air. Sunrises and sunsets are beautiful.

The Bella Notte Inn is located away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Santa Cruz. It is centrally located between Santa Cruz and Capitola. It takes only minutes to get to either downtown Santa Cruz or Capitola. It's a great location!

After my first stay, I was hooked! Nothing will compare to the Bella Notte Inn! I highly recommend the Bella Notte Inn to everyone. Try it, you will LOVE it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor where you are able to see the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Eileen, thank you for choosing and recommending Bella Notte. It is always our pleasure when you stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip down to Santa Cruz. We wish you and your family a very merry Christmas and happy New Years! Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Excellent front desk service provided by owners and manager.There are some big name hotels in Santa Cruz that will never be ranked #1 as they will never take the time or care in making your stay this comfortable,Beautiful linens good breakfast.All good

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Sheriki, It was a pleasure meeting you and your spouse. We're thrilled you chose to stay at Bella Notte and happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your explorations looking for potential place to live go well. We also hope you'll stop by again if your travels bring you back to Northern California and we'd love to catch up if we are down in the Paso Robles/Atascadero area visiting one of our favorite wineries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Everything was really good. The owners are extremely kind and helpful, the morning breakfast was delicious. Not only my room was very spacious, it also had a bathroom with bubble tub and heated floor, which is sooooo nice! The location is perfect, just steps away from the Twin Lakes beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artedicarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Artedicarte, thank you for staying with us at Bella Notte and taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our proximity to Twin Lakes State Beach. After a long day on the road or sightseeing around Santa Cruz/Monterey a bubble tub is a great way to relax. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation on the West Coast. Sincerely Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at Bella Notte for 3 nights, was much quitter that I thought it would be. In Room 2, we were in a corner, so did not hear the street noise (cars driving by), and had 3 great nights of sleep. Room was clean, nice, and the hotel was wonderful. The owners, Lam and Darrell, were pleasant and easy to talk to, was easy to ask them for direction to places around the area. Breakfast was good, even had pastries from Gayle's in Capitola, which were very good.

Would stay there again, and that is the highest compliment I can give a place.

Room Tip: If street noise (cars) is an issue, try a corner room (Room 2 on first floor, and whatever the numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlettsdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Scarlet, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. Many of our guests have commented how much they enjoy our breakfast (served March - October). We cannot take all the credit as the hot breakfast comes from our friends at the Britannia Arms and the pastries from Gayle's in Capitola. Two of our favorite places locally that we are happy to introduce to our guests. We hope you'll come see us again. Sincerely Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great little hotel with lovely rooms and friendly staff. The beds were comfortable and the shower was good, everything felt high quality. Breakfast room was compact, but the food was great with lots of fresh fruit and juices on offer as well as the usual cereals, yoghurts, etc. The beach is a 5 minute walk away across the street. Great place to stay!

1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Claire, thank you for sharing your experience at Bella Notte. We hope you'll come see us again if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,931 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.9 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
558 reviews
1.8 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Address: 21305 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4839
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £103 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing