We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "boutique" hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay in room 3. This room had more counter space for snacks, luggage, etc than any other hotel we have ever stayed in! The bed was comfortable, and everything was very clean and quiet. The heated floor in the bathroom was wonderful! Probably the best part of our stay was the breakfast! There was a great assortment of food. The fresh fruit, scones, scrambled eggs, and fried potatoes were especially good. What struck me was the attention to detail at this hotel. The owners obviously care about having a quality eatablishment that caters to their guests. The only negative is that it was not close to many activities (restaurants, Boardwalk/wharf, downtown). However, you can access a beach in about a 7 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear IU92, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to share your experience with a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast courtesy of our friends at the Britannia Arms and Gayles Bakery in Capitola. We hope you'll keep us in mind if your travels bring you back to California. Sincerely Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Bella Notte Inn for four nights while exploring the area. The hotel is on a main road but our room was extremely comfortable and quiet. It was very spacious and well appointed with a wet bar, refrigerator and a coffee maker. There were also good quality toiletries and plush robes. Our room (number 8) also had a walk in robe.
The owners were very helpful and were a mine of information.
An ample hot breakfast was included and there were a couple of good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear MGA. Thank you for choosing Bella Notte and taking the time to share your experience with a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your trip to the US was good. Room 8 is one of our favorites and we've even had guests tell us the walk in closet is big enough to put an extra bed/person - not that we'd recommend that. All the best, Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A first class hotel in walking distance of the Santa Cruz beach and with an excellent Italian restaurant just across the road. Owned by an Englishman from Hertfordshire, this new hotel represents good value for money and proves you usually get what you pay for. We stayed just the one night but enjoyed it immensely. Staff are very helpful and rooms are well equipped with modern appliances including a vigorous spa bath. Breakfast is served in the lobby and has hot food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Jerry, it was a pleasure meeting you and your wife. Thank you for choosing Bella Notte. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the United States and have some good memories of Santa Cruz. We too enjoy Lago di Como (the Italian restaurant just down the street), Star Bene (the Italian/Argentinian almost next door), Taqueria Michocan and Aloha Grill just down the street on 17th Ave. And for the hot breakfast each day we have the Britannia Arms in Capitola to thank - no fried mushrooms or tomatoes, but close to a good traditional English breakfast. After looking up Hayling Island I think we'll have to make a trip there on our next trip back to England. Best Wishes, Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spacious room, soft linens, heated bathroom floor, high quality toiletries, good in-room coffee, and convenient location. Parking is very easy and free wifi hot spots were plentiful. We simply needed a room for the night and this far surpassed our expectations. It's not cheap, but the price reflected the value and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3 on the first floor and occasionally heard people walking upstairs. It wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Justine, Thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come see us again if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Regarding noise from upstairs we plan to work with a sound engineer and contractor to address those issues in the upcoming slow season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Privately owned...good location...attentive staff...excellent value: who could ask for more? Anniversary event and gift sent to the hotel was waiting upon check-in along with a small box of chocolates. A definite keeper!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eagle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Eagle2, thank you for choosing Bella Notte for your anniversary getaway. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and chocolates from Le Belge in Napa. We hope you'll keep us in mind for any future special occasions/getaways. Bella Notte staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our room was wonderful. Exceptionally comfortable king sized bed, heated bathroom floor, lots of toiletries in the bathroom, coffee maker, etc. And so quiet - no sound of doors closing, no sound of flushing toilets, no conversations could be heard. The breakfast was superb - fruits, cereal, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, fried potatoes. The owners, who live in the building, were friendly and easy to talk to, as was the desk person. We departed and left a bag of make up beside the sink in the bathroom. A call was waiting when we returned home, and an email quickly resulted in the make up being sent virtually overnight. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful. Exceptionally comfortable king sized bed, heated bathroom floor, lots of to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Don, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and noticed our recent improvements. We recently added much thicker/heavier doors than originally installed and now have triple pane windows in all rooms to mitigate any outside noise. We hope you had a safe trip home and will come see us again should you be in the Santa Cruz area. Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had the BEST time at the Belle Notte. Traveling with children in a group of 9, we occupied 3 rooms. The owners were super - helping us find just the right dining experiences (and we could walk to a fantastic Italian place from the hotel, btw) and having an amazing breakfast waiting for us every morning with options for every age and stage of eater- and largely organic as well. The rooms were divine - quality, heated floors , clean and solid, elegantly appointed. I will recommend this place to everyone I know- exceptional value, great location, perfect service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindalouise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear LindaLouise, thank you for choosing Bella Notte and taking the time to share your experience with a review. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we are sure you'll love living in Northern California! Sincerely, Bella Notte Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.8 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,783 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
492 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Address: 21305 E Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-4839
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £111 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing