We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Fresh”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a fun stay at the Dream Inn. My daughter and I drove up to help my other daughter move into her house. It was fun and funky. We liked the fresh updated decor. Upon arrival we ordered room service..it came fast and was tasty. The ocean balcony was nice and nothing beats the beachfront breezes. Even though we were on the first level, our room was still high above the beach, so we loved the view. Sadly the weather was gloomy, so we didn't get to enjoy the pool, but the pool/beach and poolside cafe is on our list for next time. It looks great for families, especially since there are rooms that open right up to the pool deck, but I wouldn't want to be on that level. Ours was perfect. It was quiet. I think this Inn can be anything you need it to be. Private for couples, great for families and even fun for business travellers. It is so conveniently located. We did not do valet but parked across the street in the Inn's lot and just walked the pier and boardwalk. I highly recommend the Dream Inn..especially if you can get a good rate, definitely worth it. We haven't found any other lodging that can compare in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that opens to the pool deck..unless you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoots5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have been going to the Dream Inn for over ten years. The new owners have updated everything from start to finish and it actually is a very nice place to stay now, not just another beach hotel. The new hotel restaurant is probably the best one at the beach. I would suggest it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We hadn't been to Santa Cruz for several years and thought it would be a fun birthday weekend for our daughter who was turning 16. We booked our stay at the Dream Inn, which in my opinion was situated in the best location! Close to downtown, the board walk etc.... We enjoyed the hotel which had an incredible ocean view, the hotel restaurant was great, the shopping downtown was fun and we stumbled upon some yummy restaurants there too! We ended our weekend with renting bikes (tandem)and riding along the ocean..... It was a very fun and memorable weekend for my daughter's sweet "16".

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brogdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

What a TREAT, the Dream Inn is a DREAM come true. You are greeted by a friendly and professional staff. The hotels decor and design is well thought out from the lobby to the BEAUTIFUL rooms with ocean views and balcony. We especially liked the pool area that is situated above the beach and looking out to the ocean all with full bar and GREAT food service. We dined on site at the Aquarius restaurant that exceeded all expectations, ocean and beach view, good service and outstanding food. This is a very special property that truly feels like a DREAM come true. I very highly recommend staying at the Dream Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I needed a hotel in Santa Cruz as we were attending a concert in town and didn't want to have to drive back home. I had stayed at the Dream Inn years ago and remembered how nice it was. It turned out even nicer then it was all those years before. We got to town about noon and went straight to the hotel. We figured if the room wasn't ready we could at least give the car to the valet. While my husband was speaking with the valet I went to registration and our room was already available! We were so pleased! The check in was a breeze and allowed us to get our stuff into the room before going to play on the boardwalk.

We only stayed overnight but we had such a relaxing time! When we were checking out the next morning, we were offered the use of the pool area for the afternoon, which I thought was very nice, but unforunately we had to head back home.

Room Tip: We were in room 419 which was the top floor for that section and the last room...very quiet with gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlfaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My family and I have stayed at the Dream Inn for over 20 years and we LOVE it and it's the best it's ever been since Joie de Vivre bought it. Everything is over the top and the food at restuarant is five stars-- no other food in that area can compete. The waitress told us that the Dream Inn makes dreams come true....They do. Poolside rooms are worth the extra money (if you can get one--reservations ahead of time). If you truly want the best and only hotel with beach access and full service amenties throughout the hotel/restuarant/pool....look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne151515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel accomodations were very comfortable and great views of the Monterey Bay. I would easily revisit since the whole area was family friendly and great for kids to swim in the heated pool or roam around the beach. The wharf and boardwalk were just outside and just down the street about 50 yards to the east so we didn't have to use a car. Watching surfers just a 1/2 mile walk west of the hotel was incredible. The aquarius eatery was very pleasant and reasonably priced. There were a lot of restaurants on the wharf and on the boardwalk. We were able to take advantage of stay 3 nights and get the 4th night free so look for specil offers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
557 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £154 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing