We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I find it hard to believe any favorable reviews after our experience!!!”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I find it hard to believe any favorable reviews after our experience!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had planned a weekend at the Dream Inn, but returned home the first night, because we were so disappointed.
From the moment we drove into the front drive, we were met with a sense of indifference and overly casualness by the bellmen. The front desk attendant was unhelpful, arrogant , and unfriendly. The hallways were dark and had an aged, dank odor. Room service trays littered the hallway when we arrived, and remained when we departed several hours later.
We had heard the remodel had been done in a kitschy but stylish retro-50's fashion. It appeared kitschy, cheap and far from stylish. The room was very noisy and the smell of some sort of smoke emanated from an adjoining room.
The reason I give one point is for the prompt and tasty room service meal we received before leaving the hotel for our drive home.
We travel often. This is NOT a high quality hotel.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
This Guest has been contacted by management to try to address any issues experienced on their recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    428
    156
    29
    32
See reviews for
511
527
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a great time. This hotel is always better than you could hope for. Great location and the staff is great. We plan to use this hotel every year as our getaway.

Room Tip: the fifth floor and up has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We love this hotel. The people and service was fantastic. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stay twice a year with our family and always have a magnificent time! Stay once and you'll fall in love!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menloave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Cannot beat the location. Restaurant could be a little more family friendly, with more reasonable prices. Drinks at pool are also pretty expensive, but the waiters were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is excellently positioned on Cowells beach right by the peer. There are a couple of decent places to eat, the "ideal restaurant" is better than you would think and a great spot. The Hotel has a lovely warm pool and hot tub and the rooms are really nicely decorate, you really feel the whole Santa Cruz vibe, relaxed and colorful. We took tow young children, 3 and 9 and they had a great time, surfing, playing on the beach and of course the boardwalk which is only a 5 minute wlak from the hotel. The hotel restaurant and bar and really good, the view of an evening is fantatic and they do a good selction (raspberry mojito was really good). You can get the trolley car into downtown Snata Cruz right down the hill (1 minute) from the hotel, which is really useful. We loved it and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed pool side, not too noisy and really good for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
479 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

If you're a Madmen fan, you might find this hotel a bit like staying on the set of one of Don Draper's California hotel room scenes. That's what it reminded me of. I really liked the retro '60's decor including the cone shaped lime overhead reading lamps, the formica-style bathroom countertop, and the bathroom/foyer floor tiling that mimicked the tile of my 60's high school swimming pool locker room. For me, it was like being transported back in time. In addition to the interesting decor, we really liked sitting out on our balcony and gazing at the ocean, the boardwalk, and the pier. We also liked being able to open the sliding glass door for the fresh air.
Other pluses: We were pleasantly surprised that our sleep time was quiet and the beach noise ceased after 10 PM. We liked the location of the hotel and being able to walk north, away from the pier, for exercise and a spectacular tour of the Pacific coast that wasn't interrupted by carnival rides. We also liked the shower that had a European style hand wand option.
The car valet service was efficient and the attendants (mostly seemed college aged) were mostly down to earth and friendly.
Downsides: Check in at 3 PM was not efficient; we had to wait in a long line and observed people complaining about charges at the time of check- in (not a comforting way to begin a stay). Our room was beneath the lobby floor, on the first floor, and although we didn't have any noise from guests in adjoining rooms, the hallway noise was, at times, annoying. The hallway acted as an echo chamber and I could hear the conversations of hotel staff as if they were in the same room. I wouldn't stay on the first floor again.
Having the restaurant on site was a plus for breakfast meals, but the food was mediocre (review at restaurant site).
Bathroom storage for toiletries and towel hanging was less than ample.
In sum, looking at the other lodging options in town, Dream Inn appears to be the best choice for the location and thus the "very good" rating. Compared to other ocean front hotels I've stayed in, it was definitely no better than average, and it was definitely way overpriced for the level of luxury, but for this town, which appears to have very basic hotel choices, it rates a very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing