We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View and excellent pillow selection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland, California
1 review
“Great View and excellent pillow selection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We loved our room, with a balcony overlooking the beach. It was great to hear the waves at night and added to a peaceful nights sleep. Of course, the excellent pillow selection didn't hurt either. They have five different pillows to choose from, and I couldn't decide on just one, so they generously brought one of each, at no extra charge. That's what I call good customer service!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the same level where the front desk is, overlooking the beach. allow parking fees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitsybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    410
    152
    29
    32
See reviews for
484
492
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel was awesome. We had two 11-year olds and loved the location, the room service, the hotel pool and the coast line pool area. The website hotel photos looked exactly like they do in reality. That is not usual if you ask me. In my experience, most of hte photos don't look like the grounds but in this case, they did and it was a premium spot in Santa Cruz. My husband and I even went out to dinner and to a local bar and had a FABULOUS time there too. We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Coastal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had planned a weekend at the Dream Inn, but returned home the first night, because we were so disappointed.
From the moment we drove into the front drive, we were met with a sense of indifference and overly casualness by the bellmen. The front desk attendant was unhelpful, arrogant , and unfriendly. The hallways were dark and had an aged, dank odor. Room service trays littered the hallway when we arrived, and remained when we departed several hours later.
We had heard the remodel had been done in a kitschy but stylish retro-50's fashion. It appeared kitschy, cheap and far from stylish. The room was very noisy and the smell of some sort of smoke emanated from an adjoining room.
The reason I give one point is for the prompt and tasty room service meal we received before leaving the hotel for our drive home.
We travel often. This is NOT a high quality hotel.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, Front Office Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
This Guest has been contacted by management to try to address any issues experienced on their recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a great time. This hotel is always better than you could hope for. Great location and the staff is great. We plan to use this hotel every year as our getaway.

Room Tip: the fifth floor and up has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We love this hotel. The people and service was fantastic. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stay twice a year with our family and always have a magnificent time! Stay once and you'll fall in love!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menloave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Cannot beat the location. Restaurant could be a little more family friendly, with more reasonable prices. Drinks at pool are also pretty expensive, but the waiters were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing