We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey!!!”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noisey!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel is basically a very old hotel that was revamped to look modern. It was relatively clean, but so noisey. We had noisey neighbors, the hallway where our room was located was outdoors and the floor was a hard surface, so we heard every person checking in late rolling their suitcases all the way down the hall. Do not get a room by the pool because teens are swimming in it until all hours, which for us was hard because we have little kids who were trying to sleep, but couldn't because of all the noise.
On the flip side you can't beat the location - walking distance to the boardwalk and the staff was nice, but overall not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBoundMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    453
    167
    29
    34
See reviews for
573
553
51
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here last week, great facility. Pleasantly surprised at how clean and well appointed the rooms were. Sheets crisp, new and white. Towels, plentiful and available at beach/pool. Pool is heated and has a 2 foot kiddy pool. Full Bar at pool side. Right on Santa Cruz Beach. Beach was pretty quiet with a lifeguard station right there. Unlike the other side of the pier, this had no security concerns. In fact, security was visible but low profile while we were there. Aquarius restaurant was quite good. Staff very friendly and helpful. If you have kids request pool side rooms, easy out and in..pool closes at 11p so no noise. Walking distance to Boardwalk and pier. GREAT throw back to beach hotels I grew up visiting. Kids had a fun time. Water is always cold so rent a wet suit across street at Cowels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The room was big. The view was awesome. The pool was heated. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esqslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Wife and I had never been to Santa Cruz prior to this trip and selected the Dream Inn because of its location on the beach. Although the reservation was made online, I wanted to speak to a live voice to answer some questions. I phoned the reservation number and spoke to a congenial and helpful agent. She explained the room rates and features of various rooms. From the conversation, the agent left me feeling at ease that we would receive a satisfactory room.

Upon the afternoon of arrival, we were greeted by the parking valets. They checked-in the car and checked-in two bicycles that we carried into a secure bike room. At the same time our bellman loaded our many bags onto a cart and headed to the desk.

Check-in was immediate, the charges quoted matched the reservation, and facility explanation was clear and concise. Within minutes we were on the elevator with the baggage cart and bellman.

The room was located on the 6th floor. Upon entry there was an immediate feeling of spaciousness, tasteful decor and cleanliness. The bellman pulled open the drapes to reveal a panoramic view of the bay, the beach, the wharf, and the city in the distance. The view was spectacular. Sliding glass door opened to a balcony with table and chairs. The bellman shared a number of dining recommendations that sustained us for the duration of the stay.

We loved the view, the interior design of the room, the size and comfort of the bed, the well lit and mirrored bathroom, the glass shower, the food bar, closet, and an array of appliances for our use. Every appliance that my wife needed was found in the room.

On our second day, wife and I were beat from previous day of cycling the coast and town; so we holed up in the room with snacks and drinks. We were delighted by the iPod stereo available on the night stand enabling us to plug in our own music. Relaxing in the room was as pleasurable as any of the outdoor activities. The in-room experience, more than anything, justified the daily rate we were paying.

On check out day, I phoned the desk to ready the car, retrieve the bicycles, and send up a bellman. Due to a misunderstanding between the desk and me, the bellman was not dispatched to our room. After waiting about 20 minutes, I figured something was up and phoned the desk once again. The desk immediately dispatched the bellman who arrived in moments, and we were underway.

The registration manager handled the check-out. The room charges on the invoice were precisely the amount quoted, nothing extra, which I found extraordinary. However, due to the delay of the bellman, the manager waived the daily parking fees normally charged for guests with a car. He expressed his gratitude for our patronage and was sorry that we had to wait in the room. His attitude and the attitude of every employee exemplified a genuine care for our hotel experience. We thanked him and departed happily.

The treatment by the staff far exceeded the expectations that my wife and I had. We especially liked the room location and view, room design and features, the iPod stereo, the secure bicycle room, and the 5-star staff.

I recommend the Dream Inn to any traveler that appreciates enjoyable and quality lodging.

Room Tip: Tip: Select a floor as close to, but not higher than the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cskleind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We just got back from a 3 night getaway at the Dream Inn and it was the perfect end to summer. We absolutely loved everything!! It is the perfect location - far enough up the hill from the boardwalk to soften the noise down below, but close enough to walk down to enjoy the entertainment. We would go for walks along West Cliff drive, enjoy snacks and drinks out on the balcony, sleep to the sound of the waves crashing, and have fun down on the boardwalk. There is also a heated pool. We were traveling with our 3 and 5 year old boys and one of the days it was a little too cold for the beach - no worries because the heated pool over the beach was the perfect spot to relax and hang out. There is even a heated wading pool for the little guys, and a poolside bar for the bigger guys and gals. What a relaxing and fun vacation!! I am hoping to make Santa Cruz and the Dream Inn an annual vacation spot. We all absolutely loved it. I would recommend this hotel for couples and families - it is a hotel that caters to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We loved our room, with a balcony overlooking the beach. It was great to hear the waves at night and added to a peaceful nights sleep. Of course, the excellent pillow selection didn't hurt either. They have five different pillows to choose from, and I couldn't decide on just one, so they generously brought one of each, at no extra charge. That's what I call good customer service!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the same level where the front desk is, overlooking the beach. allow parking fees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitsybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel was awesome. We had two 11-year olds and loved the location, the room service, the hotel pool and the coast line pool area. The website hotel photos looked exactly like they do in reality. That is not usual if you ask me. In my experience, most of hte photos don't look like the grounds but in this case, they did and it was a premium spot in Santa Cruz. My husband and I even went out to dinner and to a local bar and had a FABULOUS time there too. We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Coastal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing