We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Santa Cruz experience”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
SF, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Santa Cruz experience”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Ideally located right on the beach. Clean and safe. Great service. Delicious breakfast. Will go back when it's warmer out to enjoy the water. Right near the boardwalk. Not too darfrom down town. And located on west cliff drive. Perfect for walks or running with a view.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterwomanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

September and October are perfect months to enjoy Santa Cruz. The weather is great this time of year - although the ocean water itself doesn't get too much warmer!
We do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    486
    181
    33
    35
See reviews for
660
574
52
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

One of the better hotels to stay at in Santa Cruz with an excellent location to the beach, pier and amusement park. A stylish and modern hotel with a balcony and stunning sea views towards the sea. Drinks consumed preferably next to the pool and the jacuzzi, absolutely wonderful way to relax. The staff seemed a bit too friendly and was very relaxed with the typical surfer's look. Works in Santa Cruz perhaps.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed our wonderful ocean view pool & jacuzzi during your stay. Our pool bar serves wonderful cocktails and offers a great menu selection during the summer season. I am glad that you found our staff too friendly :) Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

When we arrived (early) room was not available, understandable since check in wasn't til 3pm.
Lobby not so clean, staff was friendly but not upfront with information. By 4:30 I think we got our room, nice but nothing special. Parking was offsite, and cost $22 a day, would of had to pay anywhere so I guess that was ok. The view was amazing, but for the price...they have an "honor" bar with $2 candy bars and $3.50 waters....nothing complimentary. I will never go back! Bummer cause the view and location were awesome!

Room Tip: no tips! too expensive!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck95380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize that your experience at the Dream Inn was not everything you had hoped it would be. We certainly value your feedback and will follow up on the issues you mentioned. We do offer a "car stays free" package and this does include complimentary parking. I do hope that you will consider enquiring about this as an option in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

If you need a quiet room, this is not the place for you. Stop reading and look elsewhere for somewhere to stay.

The hotel is well located and Santa Cruz is a great beach town. The town, mid week in August, is low key and after 5pm, the amusement park goes from 4 tickets a ride ($4) to 1 ticket a ride ($1) with no lines ! The Seymour Marine Discovery Center is a great place for kids - for about an hour. The Hula Island Grill in town is surprisingly good food.

Back to the hotel, it is solid with a great pool and right on the beach. The breakfast, overpriced, was good as was the service. For a two night stay with young kids, it is hard to beat. If only the walls were soundproofed, it would jump to 4 stars or even 5 stars for what it is.

But, the walls are so thin with no soundproofing at all. We could hear the people in the next room breathing. If your neighbor is watching TV, so are you. A curtain has more sound dampening ability than the walls at Dream Inn. For the price this hotel wants per night, it is unbelievable that in the recent renovations they didn't address the soundproofing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the noise disturbances that you experienced during your stay with us. The iconic Dream Inn was built back in the 1960’s, with a tower section added in the 1970’s. As such, the original walls in the building are perhaps not as soundproof as more modern hotels. We do ask all guests to be courteous to their neighbors and we enforce a strict evening policy in the event there is a noise disturbance reported. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and a great breakfast at our onsite restaurant Aquarius. I do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Lovely room with great view of sea, pool, wharf and boardwalk. Pool side busy but turkey sandwiches, fries and fresh lemonade delicious. Good food in restaurant but quite expensive. Quick walk to wharf (pier) sea lions barking and resting underneath- amazing. Nice shops too. Boardwalk packed at week-end with some thrill rides and old carousel. All in all an interesting and fun stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verinique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The location is perfect and the views are amazing. Our visit here was in May before the busy tourist season so the hotel was quiet and there were fewer families. If you are planning a visit to Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn should be your first choice. The staff is friendly but be prepared to spend extra for the location and amenities. The hotel decor is fresh and modern with a littler "surfer" and classic Santa Cruz vibe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBLACK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just returned from a trip with our two small sons. The Dream Inn was nice -- lovely views, great pool (although we did miss the promised kiddy pool) and up-to-date decor. My only complaint (and I am a stickler) was that the rooms and common areas are showing signs of wear and tear. Nothing major, just things like scuffed walls and stained carpets. Not a huge deal, but it's not cheap so I hoped for a little more. The staff was friendly and the bottom line is that with such great views, maybe I shouldn't be looking at the carpet anyway!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing