We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upscale motel 6”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“upscale motel 6”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

location is great, however room was average. bedding was worn and bathrobes had holes in them. room was nothing special and parking is $22 a day. compared to other jdv hotels, this one has been the worst.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    453
    167
    29
    34
See reviews for
573
553
51
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Nice staff, awesome views and ideal location made this a most enjoyable stay. SUPER staff are helpful and this hotel overlooks the boardwalk, so it is within walking distance of so many things to see and do. Beautiful views of Monterey Bay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zendeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
So glad that you had such a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

All rooms are on the water. Incredible Service, unbelivable views, great locations. Great room and amenities, I have been staying her for over 5 years. Always current and looks brand new. Elegant with laid back feel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_M45992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We look forward to many more of your stays over the next 5 years! Thank you for your great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Every summer we have a group that try to get away for a few days to the Dream Inn. The stay is always refreshing and relaxing. The staff is attentive, acccomodating and kind. The food is delicious in the restaurant. Rooms are retro; all the usual amentities; comfy beds and every room has a balcony and view of the ocean. Pool is outside facing beach and poolside service is great too! Location is on the beach next door to boardwalk. Of course, you pay a little extra for the location. Ideal setting! Love to getaway to Dream Inn, Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean. Some rooms have pool access. If you don't like heights don't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktbeezmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for choosing the Dream Inn - we look forward to seeing all of you again next summer for another "dreamy" stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Need some rejuvenation of the surf and sand variety? The Dream Inn provides an idyllic private compound with spectacular ocean views, a South Beach pool vibe overlooking the Pacific, beach volleyball, and every watersport Monterrey Bay has to offer just outside on Cowell's Beach!

Whether you prefer to bask in the sun on complimentary beach towels, arrange a surfing lesson, learn to paddle board, or join the avid open water swimmers and surfers on opposite sides of the huge cove, opportunity awaits. The Santa Cruz wharf pier adjacent to the property is home to a colony of sea lions just waiting for you to take a leisurely walk to join their barking antics. Eateries and souvenir shops abound on the pier, as do the rental shops for the aforementioned watersports. Be absolutely sure to stop at Marini's for fresh salt water taffy and Dreyer's ice cream treats. Best taffy on both coasts, and their 1/4 lb. bags make great gifts for those left behind.

If you have time to venture to the other side of the pier, there is an arcade, carnival and amusement park, but check online for their weekend hours, now that it's past Labor Day. During the summer season, you can enjoy weekend concerts from your private balcony, as the ocean acoustics are just right.

Service at the Dream Inn is top rate. Special accolades to Jennifer and Chris at the front desk, who were super friendly and made great recommendations. Cafe Cruz, a few exits south in Soquel, was one such suggestion that is a wonderful local haunt, complete with an interior garden and an extensive wine list. The Dream Inn's Aquarius serves fresh local fare at a moderate price point, and dining on property comfortably insulates you from the outside world.

Bike rentals are available at the Pacific Avenue roundabout, about a 5 minute walk from the Inn. I worked out an extended rental at a great rate, so inquire with the proprietor if you are looking for more than an hourly or daily rental. Helmets, locks, and even a basket are included with their sporty beach cruisers. Be sure to take a ride north along the coast past the public beach to the maritime preserve and museum. The whale skeleton there is amazing to behold.

Also noteworthy in Santa Cruz is the UCSC Arboretum and gift shop, where you can purchase a global variety of plants and many colorful botany-related gardening gifts, jewelry and attire. St. Mary's Catholic Church is on the site of one of the 20 first missions and has components of the first church. Both of these are better visited by car, as the hills would be ambitious for a one speed bicycle.

Downtown Santa Cruz itself isn't the best of locales, particularly after dark. I walked about a mile down Pacific Avenue to the cinema my first night and encountered a deranged man in a wolf mask on my way home, accompanied by an unsavory band of ruffians. I later learned that the town harbors homeless meth addicts who behave irratically. The Dream Inn provides a safe haven, but I wouldn't advise a walk into town, especially after sunset. While there are a few national store chains and some eclectic shops closer to the Post Office end of town, the wasteland between those and the beach are laden with secondhand venues, tattoo parlors, and adult entertainment stores. On the other side of the wharf, the real estate changes quickly as well. The Dream Inn demarcates the better part of town that extends toward tony oceanfront homes and surfer havens.

Rooms at the Dream Inn are pretty cookie cutter with a counter/storage area, bathroom with rain shower and large vanity, and bedroom area with a huge desk surface, charge-friendly multi-outlet tower, large flat screen TV and retro clean and bright furnishings. The suites on opposite ends of the tower building have an additional room with a sleeper sofa, functional tables, and an array of interesting unique lamps. At the minimal differential, I'd suggest splurging on the extra space, particularly if you are traveling as more than a couple. One warning, and my only problem with the Dream Inn: ask for a room as far away from the elevators as possible, and FYI, the numbers go up from x20 to x29 as they go away from the elevators on each floor of the tower. Suites are the x20 and x29 rooms, with the standard rooms from x21-x28. The elevator cables make a whirring noise as the elevators move, and as others have stated, soundproofing isn't the Dream Inn's forte. My neighbors were reasonably quiet, but I'm sure you could be less fortunate.

The rooms were kept spotless with twice a day maid service, evening turndown, and even robe replacement. The robe's were light cotton and perfect for the climate. An always plentiful supply of towels were large and all cotton, but a bit rough in texture, water pressure in the shower was very good on the 9th floor, and the vanity and storage shelves were spacious and well positioned. The balcony furniture consisted of a cafe table and two chairs, which was about right for the space. The view and sound of the surf were great, but I hesitated to keep the sliding door open at night due to the large bird population that would swoop by the balcony days. The air conditioning units were a bit irratic, and there was one in the bedroom area and another on the far side of the living room of the suite. The lack of a fan or any ventilation in the bathroom made it a bit humid after showering. Refrigerators in each room were slow to cool as well. Though a third frig arrived as soon as I mentioned this to the desk. During my stay, the staff was always looking for ways to help out. Responsiveness is universal at the Dream Inn. So, if you're looking for a service-oriented beach resort on the Pacific to get away from it all, you can play and dine to your heart's content without ever using your car.

Room Tip: Most Quiet Rooms are the Suites on the opposite side of the building from the elevator--the x29 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DC_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your extensive review of the Dream Inn and the surrounding area attractions. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Cloud Rooms. These rooms are located on the 9th & 10th floor with premium vistas and all the wonderful amenities you mentioned! Thank you for your compliments regarding our front desk hosts, our onsite Restaurant Aquarius, and for our “top rate” guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

You would have a hard time finding a hotel that literally sits on the beach and where all the rooms face the ocean. Walking distance to the Wharf, the Boardwalk and the famous surfing spot called Steamer Lane.

Watch the seabirds and especially the pelicans diving. Numerous sea lions and seals. Do not forget your binoculars and camera.

One unforgetable experience was the Flyby of the Endeavour on its way to Los Angeles. My wife said she felt she could just reach out and touch it.

The sun rises in an unexpected location over the hills of the Monterey Peninsula that you think is south, but the Hotel actually faces East.

Room Tip: Get a room in the highest floor in the tower. Try breakfast in your room overlooking Monterey Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kringle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were here for that very special flyover. Dolphins can also be seen playing in the waves on occasion, and last year we even watched whales from the guestroom balconies. Binoculars available on request!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I had reservations at this hotel in Santa Cruz Ca. It was a little pricey but the room and view we had was excellent. This property is right down the street from the Santa Cruz Beach Walk and the wharff. The room and surrounding property was very well maintained. The front desk staff and the valet parkers were all very friendly. If you are looking for a place right by the beach this hotel would be it. The Resturant Aqaurius was a liitle over priced for breakfast and not all the good. The one downside is you either have to self park across the street or have valet parking either one there is a charge. Though motorcycles do get to park in valet parking without being charged.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaof1boy3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna P, Guest Services at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your stay - I am glad that you found our staff members friendly and that you enjoyed the hotel surroundings. I apologize for the unsatisfactory breakfast you experienced at Aquarius. Please enquire about our car stays free package on your next visit – this includes complimentary parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing