We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun on the beach”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed a the Dream Inn for two nights in a spacious, well appointed room right on the beach. Fun, funky, this place is very Santa Cruz. Great comfortable beds provided an excellent rest. Cool weather meant we didn't experience the pool but the restaurant was excellent. Two dinners and a breakfast were exceptional. Staff was either lovely, friendly and helpful but in one case it was apparently too difficult to stop working at the computer to properly answer a question. As well, we were a threesome but the room only provided service for two. The Dream Inn is not alone in this but seriously hotels, if you know you will have three in a room, provide towels etc for three people!! It gets frustrating to be calling down each time on arrival to have the room stocked properly. That said, certainly enjoyed the hotel and it provided a great experience in Santa Cruz. When we checked in they made sure to let us know that the first swells of the season had arrived and to ensure we walked down to watch the surfers. Great fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Thirstytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am glad that we overall rated 4 stars in your eyes, but we hope to have you back for a 5 star experience. Rest assured we value feedback and will endeavour to make your next stay as enjoyable as possible from start to finish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Dream Inn!

The hotel is located right on the beach, rooms have beautiful ocean view and you can fall asleep and wake up with the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.

The Oceanview Cloud King room was amazing! Beautiful retro-chic decoration, comfortable king-size bed, balcony with views of the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and the Wharf, free Wi-Fi, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries.

The on-site restaurant - Aquarius - is fabulous; you can have dinner overlooking the beach and the ocean. It is very reasonably priced and has some good options.

We also used the in-room dining for breakfast; very convenient service and plenty of options, but the quality of the food could have been better.

The staff were very nice and friendly and helped make our stay very enjoyable.

All in all a fantastic experience which we hope to repeat again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for the awesome tripadvisor post! It's gonna be hard to beat Awesomeness, but we'll shoot for a Scrumptulecent experience on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I was able to get a early booking discount by booking 2 months in advance when I had no idea what the weather would be like - we got lucky, it was gorgeous.

The pool and hot tub are right above the beach and there is a convenient entrance on the beach (perfect of you are surfing).

The service was good, everyone was very helpful. We did not use room service but prices seemed reasonable and it was great to have the option.

Rooms: The beds were comfortable and in room heat and air worked great. There are coffee makers and fridges in the room. We stayed on the 3rd floor (so that we could check in a little earlier) and it was not as noisy as I thought it would be. I was able to peacefully enjoy the morning sipping on coffee (made in the room) and watching the ocean from my balcony. There are fans on the balcony, great for drying my wetsuit.

The only reason this is not a 5, is because at up to $400 a night, it does seem a bit overpriced, however, that is debatable given it's excellent location, the fact that other less updated and well located hotels are pretty expensive as well.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Desink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for your positive response and feedback! This is a great time of year to visit (especially weekdays) when our rates begin to drop and the weather is still beautiful (Hitting record high's today in the bay area and its the middle of October!) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I recently went through trying times with two of our children being hospitalized within the same week and we really needed a break. We contacted Dream Inn for an overnight stay...the front desk person, Christopher, was so nice. He went above and beyond to make our one night visit feel like a real vacation. We really needed it! The room was amazing, and they let check out at 3! Thank you sooo much Dream Inn! We will be back and recommend Dream Inn to all our friends:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for your positive feeback regading Christopher! We are lucky to have someone so thoughtful on our staff. Hopefully you will be able to join us again soon under better circumstances and enjoy the same amazing view and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We hardly slept as the doors on our floor we slamming all night, i don't think people were intentionally slamming the doors you just couldn't shut them quietly. The view from the 10th was the only highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomsquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

And, what a make over! Folks who remember the Dream Inn of yesteryear will be amazed - the only thing the same is the great location. We were attending a friends 80th (!) birthday party in Santa Cruz so decided to splurge on a hotel for the night. It was pricey, but the room was beautiful and the view of the Wharf, BoardWalk, Monterey Bay was spectacular. Nice bed, big balcony with chairs and a table, and plenty of room to spread out. Nice!

Room Tip: I'm sure that all of the balconies have a good view - our view from the 9th floor was spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer100SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

we stayed on the 9th floor. every room has an ocean view, We went to bed hearing the ocean crash on the beach & we were woken up with the sun in our eyes. We were on the North tip of Monteray & we were actually facing East. Surprised me. Stayed 2 nights, great beds but the pillows could be better, They did not have foam pillows which we had requsted on reservation.
Beautiful pool area w/ large beach towels in room. Showerhead was large rain type with good pressure. nice balconey with 2 chairs & table. Pleasant to sit & have glass of wine

Room Tip: upper floors in tower section have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward02494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

It is a rare exception to be on the west coast and see a sunrise to be sure! As we face almost due south as we slip into the winter months a treat is to watch the sunrise over the pacific ocean. We look forward to having you come experience the view with that glass of wine soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
488 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £197 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing