We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION AND MORE...”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Dream Inn was a perfect location for a night away. Our room had a stunning unobstructed ocean view of the Santa Cruz Wharf, nicely decorated, comfortable and relaxing. Amazing location, walk out to the Santa Cruz wharf or right over to the boardwalk, head the other direction and stroll the scenic paths of West Cliff Drive or head to downtown Santa Cruz and take in the local scene. Dinner at the hotel restaurant "Aquarius" was outstanding! Amazing views from every table, excellent food, local ingredients. Came back the next morning for a freshly prepared breakfast and enjoyed the sunrise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 202JenniferC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your extensive review! We ar eglad to hear that your stay at the Dream Inn and your dinning experience at Aquarius were above your expectations! We hope to have you back sooner rather than later to enjoy another scenic walk along West Cliff Dr.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for Dream Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Selected this hotel primarily from Trip Advisor reviews. Couldn't have been happier! Almost went somewhere else, due to the price. But when I called and spoke to an agent, she told me about a special that was available through a website. I couldn't find it, so she gave it to me anyway. That was my first of many interactions with a very helpful staff. They did everything they could to make our stay more pleasant.

The hotel is literally on the beach...the only Santa Cruz hotel that can claim that. And all the rooms face the bay. Perfect for watching surfers and paddle boarders. It was a little cool when we were there, but I would imagine the beach gets pretty busy in the summer.

The restaurant has a beautiful view of the bay and the beach. The food was marginal, but the service was attentive and cheerful.

The location is an easy walk to the pier where there are several restaurants and bars to choose from.

All in all, we look forward to returning to Santa Cruz and the Dream Inn!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. All the rooms face the bay. We prefer being up high and loved our view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogeyman_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am glad to see that the power of social media aided in your selection of Hotel, and we look forward to providing the same level of service on your next stay. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is really a motel in a beautiful setting. Excellent service, and well-maintained. The location is a busy one, on a busy street and next to the Boardwalk, but our room faced the ocean and was very peaceful. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PacPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My Husband made reservations for the Dream Inn this last weekend, 3-15-13, and we booked a king-size bed with an ocean view. We arrived Friday night at about 7pm, and everything was as stated. We were on the ninth floor, and had a great view of the ocean, so the only noise we heard was the tide going out and the seagulls in the morning, which was great. The service was great, and at one point we wanted to watch Netflix one night by connecting our laptop to their flat screen. Someone from Guest Relations came up to our room with a whole basket of cords and hooked it up for us. Her name was Katie, and she was very friendly and helpful. I have to say that after reading some of the reviews that were negative in regards to the staff, it was not the case here. Everyone was polite and helpful and we had a great time.
In fact, we had such a great time that my Son is now going there this weekend with his wife and little 10 month old Daughter to experience what we did.

Room Tip: Room 928 is a great room!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your outstanding review. Katie is our Guest Relations Manager and in charge of making sure every guests experience was a great as it sounds yours was. We look forward to having you back again sooner rtather than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We just got back from a 3-day trip to Santa Cruz (from our home in the CA High Sierras) where we stayed at the Dream Inn. This was a Travel Zoo deal - $139./night with $50. DAILY restaurant credit and free valet parking. Our room was on the 6th floor in the Tower - a GREAT view, as all other reviews have stated. Located right ON the beach. This time of year is very quiet and not crowded. We walked to the wharf, down the street to the Arcade where we played 18 holes of miniature golf and across the street to bowl a couple games. We drove over to UC Santa Cruz and what a beautiful school/setting!! We enjoyed the Grateful Dead museum-quality display in a room at their library. Also, we loved downtown Santa Cruz - some great shops and great eateries (with outside dining) - and movie theaters!
The staff at the Dream Inn is very friendly and hospitable. The restaurant was great and a great staff! We had lunch the first day, breakfast the second, and dinner the third and final night. Every meal was outstanding. Great clam chowder.
Can't wait to return and we'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Tower 6th floor or higher and away from pool (noise in summer) and elevators (c...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodip630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thank you for the detailed and fantastic 5 star review! Our TravelZoo promotion was certainly a great deal, and we look forward to having you back throughout the year and providing the same level of exceptional service you enjoyed on your last stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We decided on a quick getaway to Santa Cruz. Dream Inn was the perfect choice for a hotel. The location is perfect! It is right on the beach with beautiful views of the boardwalk. The hotel itself is clean, beautifully decorated, and well maintained. The staff was friendly, courteous, and responsive. They took very good care of us as they made sure we were comfortable and satisfied. We asked the valet for directions to a restaurant we were interested in trying and he offered to take us there in the hotel car since things were rather quiet in the hotel at that time. The room was clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the time we spent at the hotel bar/restaurant.

Definitely a place I would recommend to anyone and most definitely a place I would love to go back to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was pleasantly surprised on the decor of the hotel a retro 60's feel and very well decorated. We booked the Junior Suite and this is a beautiful room with a large table and couch with pull out bed. The only thing that would make it better is if the vanity was outside the bathroom. The view overlooking the beach was breathtaking and it also overlooks the salt water pool and spa. The pool was heated up to 85 which was nice after going into the cold ocean. The room had a single serve coffee maker but you may want to buy a large water from the liquor store across the road to make your coffee. Walking distance to the pier and the boardwalk. Wish we had known that the Beach Boardwalk was only open on the weekends during the spring. We still found plenty to do. Will come back again and stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cudiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £197 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing