We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning View”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the last stop on our Northern California tour, and the hotel didn't disappoint. Our room was spectacular, with full width sliding glass doors and a balcony looking out over the beach, the Boardwalk and the Pacific ocean.

Drifitng off to sleep with the sound of the ocean gently lapping on the beach was perfect, and such a restful end to a wonderful holiday.

The room was large, clean and well presented, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Our only disappointment was the very prompt closing of the bar; we wanted to enjoy a cocktail on our balcony on our last night, but on phoning room service at 11:05pm were told that the bar closed at 11:00.

Santa Cruz itself was a bit disappointing, we found the Boardwalk area to feel a bit seedy and tacky, even in the early evening, and having looked at all the restaurants around that area decided to eat at the hotel (which was superb).

Dream Inn is a great place to stay, and eat, even though Sanata Cruz didn't live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rikwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very poor value for what I paid (1100 USD for 2 nights!)
- Parking was over priced - should have been complimentary for such a high hotel room price
- The room was more like a $100 room. The view would get a $100 premium, and perhaps the hotel pool would get another $100 per night premium. Still atleast 250 per night above what I would expect to pay.
- the rooms were very old - the bathroom looked like from the 80s
- the bathroom doors did not have any latches - great for a honeymooning couple, bad for a family!
- room service was way overpriced. The attached Aquarius restaurant was not worth the price, given I frequent Palo Alto restaurants, the food was way below par for prices higher than Palo Alto.

My suggestion to the hotel: please upgrade the hotel. You have a wonderful location, and the staff seemed nice. I would NOT pay this much for this hotel, and at this rate, you will lose customers very rapidly. 500 USD will get an awesome hotel in most places in the world. This is not a classy hotel.

Room Tip: chose 410-414 if you can, right over the pool, and a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Bhaskar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in this hotel on a recent trip to California.
The location is wonderful - right on the beach; Staff are very helpful and efficient; rooms large and clean....all in all a lovely place to stay.
Food and drinks a bit on the pricey side but plenty of other places to eat and drink nearby so not a problem.
All in all no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonHendersonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is certainly the nicest hotel on the Santa Cruz beach however I am appalled that the average room price is $300/night! The rooms are nothing special. Only 2 bath towels are given which is a joke when usually at least 3 towels are needed. Toilet paper kept running out. Even the balcony furniture is quite basic. No 24 hour room service and I had to painfully deal with only getting wifi 10% of the time. Not what I'd expect from such an expensive place. So buyer beware. I hear that nearby hotels aren't even comparable so don't expect the best and fork over some $$$ and you'll be happy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Frocohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here 5 days on family vaca. Pros...housekeeping is great, brought extra towels, room cleaned by 8:30am daily, gave us tons of extra towels. Great view, quick valet, close to everything. Con's...tell the kids to stay out of hot tub!!? Nothing makes me madder than wanting to sit and relax in a hot tub and 10 kids are using it as a kiddy pool. Why doesn't staff tell them to get out??? Ordered a cesear salad with no anchovies. Smallest salad ever for $17and had anchovies!! Argh. Would stay again but next time I will complain to front desk about hot tub. Bought soda at front desk and clerk acted like I was putting her out by having her ring it up and not charge to room that I wasn't paying for...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Orrip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came down for a quick 24 hour get away from the SF Bay Area. Booked through the hotel website, got AAA discount. The check-in was easy, and every room has a gorgeous view. You are directly on the beach, next to the Boardwalk and pier. All staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms are hip and modern. This is my fourth trip to this hotel, and I love it every time. Take highway 1, if you can! Also, there are great walks right out the door to see sea otter, sea lions, and check out the local flavor of Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, away from the elevators is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmacSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Right on the beach with a great view of the bay! Staff is friendly, comfortable rooms with balcony to watch the sea life. Easy walk to the pier and boardwalk. Conference center views made it hard to focus on work. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank traveler789007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
542 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
97 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £143 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing