We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & FUN!”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wanted to get away with the hubby for one night, just the two of us. Booked The Dream Inn for the prime location on the beach, the fun and colorful vibe of the hotel and the ability to walk everywhere. It was everything we were hoping for! Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is fun, modern and bright. The pool was perfect (complete with drink and food service which we LOVE). The views and weather were outstanding in June. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved staying here. More than we like to spend typically but we got just what we wanted and stayed over a Monday which was the least expensive night of the week. We'd love to go back and do it again with friends or with the kids next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaneedsagetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

An interesting experince staying at The Dream Inn. We were expecting something very special but I think what we got was a good, cofortable hotel with attentive staff. The valet parking boys were first class - nothing was too much trouble and they were highly effecient. Inside, however, the hotel feels a little bit too much like a slightly upmarket motel. The corridors leading to the rooms on our floor appeared a little tired and the door needed some repainting - but once inside we had a comfortable room with excellent sea views and a good sized bathroom. The pool facilities were top class, excellent bar service and the outlook onto the beach and boardwalk are outstanding. The locals could be overheard later in our stay discussing the exclusive and expensive nature of the hotel and while we had an enjoyable stay it was noticeable that this hotel cost a great deal more than what we considered better hotels in San Franciso,Portland and Seattle. Yes, Santa Cruz is a tourist trap and this may be the best place to stay on this part of the coast but I am not quite sure the rates charged reflected our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmcfadyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good: GREAT location, on the beach, next to Boardwalk. Great view. Friendly, helpful staff.
Bad: Priced like a 5-star hotel. Small bathrooms. High traffic street.

The restaurant is very good, and nice atmosphere overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PacPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Dream Inn is definitely on the more expensive side relative to other options, so it really depends on what is important to you when booking a hotel. If immediate access to the beach is a must, poolside drinks a plus, and an uninstructed view of the ocean, then this is your pick. It's literally on top of Cowell beach, with just a short stairwell down to the sand. A few other hotels up the road are just across the street from the beach, nearly as close, but not adjacent as the Dream Inn is...and no where near as nice.

Our overall experience at this property was a positive one. Staff were courteous, respectful, friendly, and eager to help. From the valet to the counter to bell help, they all understood the hospitality motto, "Service with a smile." The handle on our patio door was broke, but was fixed within 30 minutes. When our fridge stopped cooling, again they responded within 30 minutes with a new one. And when our room wasn't ready for check-in, they took some perishables from our car and stored them in a fridge while we lounged by the pool. They rose to every challenge and met every expectation.

The pool is relatively small, but well maintained. The deck chairs here don't suffer from what I've seen at too many resorts: stake-and-claim towel dumping, where people call dibs on chairs at dawn and then disappear. We never had a problem finding a couple of chairs to sit out poolside.

There are some signs of wear and tear throughout. Make no mistake - it's not a 5-star resort. But it was nice enough all things considered and we did agree that we would come back. Yes, the carpets showed signs of aging, and the walls and furniture had minor dings, but no more than any other highly trafficked beach property. It's a popular place, and for good reason. And very popular for families with young kids. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, ask for a tower room on a high floor away from the daylight bustle poolside.

Virtually all of the rooms have great views, and the Boardwalk is at your doorstep. Great service and comfortable place to spend a few days. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Terry_Mertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel's location is fabulous no denying that. However the area has grown very seedy, full of homeless and drunk homeless under our balcony yelling obscenities all night. The rooms were modern and nice. I don't like the bathroom set up. We had two Queens and four of us. There isn't a separate sink outside, so really inconvenient for everyone to shower and get ready. Our coffee cups and water glasses were used and gross. We requested new ones as these had dried milky liquid and coffee? We also had to pay extra for high speed internet which leaves you feeling fleeced after $400 a night. There isn't a continental breakfast. We tried twice to eat breakfast at the restaurant. The first morning a line awaited the host desk with nobody to greet. Left after 5 minutes. The second the same scenario. This time the waiter there also completely ignored everyone. Get a host, staff the restaurant adequately. The valet, front desk and housekeeping were all top notch and exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cristy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location is absolutely great, but especially suitable for families with children. The rooms all face the poolside and there is a lot of noise coming from the pool going on to early in the evening and starting at 7 am. The pool itself and pool area are quite small and the only shade is coming from umbrella's and there are not enough for all damilies. Sunbeds are nice and new, plenty of towels and also the beach is very nice. The rooms are small buut nice and clean.

Parking is expensive:$24 per day and also I found in the morning the corridors flooded with roomservice stuff, which was not collected timely. Not so pleasant view if you walk to the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are going to Santa Cruz you need to stay here. The pool plus easy beach access is everything. You can walk to the boardwalk too. I was there with my family - wife and 3 kids, plus my brother, sister and Mom & Dad. This is the only hotel in Santa Cruz that is on the beach. My wife and I were paddle-boarding near the pier and saw 4 whales! Do not expect Ritz level service here. You are staying here for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFranscella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
488 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £197 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing