We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Dream Inn is world renowned with good reason. We stayed on the 10th floor and the views are incomparable. The views of the beach, the wharf and the Boardwalk were spectacular, especially at night with the lights reflecting off the ocean. The staff was extremely phenomenal. I was staying with my best friend who recently lost her husband to cancer, and the staff was very empathetic and kind, especially Callie and Pamela at the front desk. Our valet, Mathew was a delight as well. He reminded us that we could leave our car parked even after we checked out, and informed us that we could also use the pool. He retrieved our car in about a minute, even with the notoriously crazy beach traffic nearby. It was the most magical visit to Santa Cruz we have ever had. Room service was prompt, our food was served hot, and the server was a local with stories of his parents staying in the hotel many years ago. The decor has been updated and retro. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Splurge for the top floors. The views are breathtaking and with the AAA discount, it is well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the perfect place in Santa Cruz to relax and enjoy the beautiful views. While not being very nice to look at from the outside, the location and the view is perfect to enjoy this cute little town. The room has a sleek and simple design and the terrace in the Cloud King rooms were great! Room service was very responsive and food was ok. One thing I did not understand was the fact that you could not smoke on the terrace. While I understand that non-smoking in a room is (rightly so) important for many, I do not see the harm in smoking on an open terrace ... the approach by many hotels to this regard seems inconsistent. But then again, that's only an issue for smokers (or spouses of smokers). We would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We took one of our grandsons to Santa Cruz, California for a few days to enjoy the beach and the amusement park on the Boardwalk. The Dream Inn was the only hotel that had beachfront/ocean access, so the location was great. We did have fun in the Pacific, and the hotel pool was nice too with personal staff (thank you Shane) to bring food when needed.

There was also the Aquarius Restaurant next to the hotel where we ate several meals, and found it to be a very good spot for breakfast or dinner. It had a marvelous view which was a real plus while dining.

However, the tab for two nights' stay {Tuesday-Wednesday} was $910....quite a staggering cost for a hotel whose decor was only average with its campy colors and basic furniture. We've paid that much for 4-5 star accommodations in other parts of the world, but this room wasn't even close to that caliber, and we felt taken advantage of. No doubt they are socking it to you for the location; but even so, that perk is only worth so much!

Our room (#108) was off a hallway that resembled a basement, and it was located between the entrance to the pool on one side next to the pool's bathroom, and the cleaning supply room on the other. All night long you could hear the sliding door to the pool open and close as the staff was either finishing up from the day, or getting ready for the next one. Either way, it was annoying.

So if you want a poolside room {first floor}, be sure to reserve a room whose number is #113 and above so that you are in the newer section. And if you don't care to be that close to the pool, a room on a higher floor would give a beautiful view, I'm sure.

We also tried to borrow a luggage cart to take our things down to our room, but the valet gave us a story about how people lose them, and only he could use the cart to take the things in. I commented that I'd never heard of that before, and that it sounded more like a way to ensure that tips were always coming his way. He didn't disagree.

We haven't decided if we'll stay here again or not when we come to visit our daughter and her family. We do not have a problem with paying a high price for a hotel; but we do object to paying $400 a night for a room that is $189 the rest of the year. So we'll have to ponder that before we jump in again.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, for a pool-side room, choose one with a number that is #113 or higher to avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sandinmyshoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room was a disappointment for the high price, but you are paying for location, location, location. It is right at the end of the boardwalk so you don't need to drive or walk a great distance. Each room has a balcony overlooking the beach that is right in front of the hotel. Even on the lower floors it is a nice view of the water. Clean and comfortable but room is more like a motel room than a hotel room. It is so convenient though that it was worth staying at, and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just happened to notice, and I may be wrong, but this hotel may be the only accommodation on the water once you get on the PCH after you get out of San Francisco and drive south toward Santa Cruz. This is part of the reason why the room price is well north of $200 per night, depending on time of year. The rooms are very nice, especially given the harsh salt air exposure. The rooms facing the water have nice balconies. The view of the half-mile wharf is entertaining as is the amusement park. If you have a choice, drive an hour further south to Monterey where hotels have a more idyllic ocean view. Both Santa Cruz and Monterey have things for the entire family, but Monterey's aquarium should not be missed if you're in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DktrO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wanted to get away with the hubby for one night, just the two of us. Booked The Dream Inn for the prime location on the beach, the fun and colorful vibe of the hotel and the ability to walk everywhere. It was everything we were hoping for! Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is fun, modern and bright. The pool was perfect (complete with drink and food service which we LOVE). The views and weather were outstanding in June. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved staying here. More than we like to spend typically but we got just what we wanted and stayed over a Monday which was the least expensive night of the week. We'd love to go back and do it again with friends or with the kids next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaneedsagetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

An interesting experince staying at The Dream Inn. We were expecting something very special but I think what we got was a good, cofortable hotel with attentive staff. The valet parking boys were first class - nothing was too much trouble and they were highly effecient. Inside, however, the hotel feels a little bit too much like a slightly upmarket motel. The corridors leading to the rooms on our floor appeared a little tired and the door needed some repainting - but once inside we had a comfortable room with excellent sea views and a good sized bathroom. The pool facilities were top class, excellent bar service and the outlook onto the beach and boardwalk are outstanding. The locals could be overheard later in our stay discussing the exclusive and expensive nature of the hotel and while we had an enjoyable stay it was noticeable that this hotel cost a great deal more than what we considered better hotels in San Franciso,Portland and Seattle. Yes, Santa Cruz is a tourist trap and this may be the best place to stay on this part of the coast but I am not quite sure the rates charged reflected our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmcfadyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
488 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £197 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing