We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in the resort and fabulous views”
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms very clean and comfortable, excellent ocean and wharf views.
Valet parking or self parking across the road.
Pool small, but well maintained and busy pool bar. Also access to the beach from the pool area

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hgreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The ocean view see through private patios in the tower are incredible, we were able to fall asleep listening to the ocean, the pool was a perfect way to spend an afternoon sipping from the poolside bar, and the banana pancakes from room service were yummy! You can't get any closer to the pier either so everything Santa Cruz is nearby.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SunnyDenver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

With expectations set high - dream inn was the perfect location to soak in the Santa Cruz spirit.

The walk to the boardwalk was ideal and the pool service was a slice of perfection!!!

The Resturant is perfect for families of all sizes and ages! Thanks Jacob and Cali for the wonderful service!!! Much appreciated!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TravelNut2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The position of this hotel is amazing with stunning views over the ocean. The rooms are a great size and the beds very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small but the shower was good. With each room having a balcony it is the perfect seaside hotel. We ate in the restaurant which again overlooked the sea. The food was excellent. I would give this hotel a top rating but for the fact that they messed up our reservation. We had asked for a double room and a twin room for our two boys. The hotel denied that we had been guaranteed a twin room and would not honour what we had in writing. I think the problem was that the hotel was over booked and had made a mistake with our reservation which they would not admit to. It was disappointing that at no time did any manager make an appearance to talk to us about the problem. Despite this issue I would certainly recommend this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Worthmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Clean hotel with no specific interest. The pool is crowded and is loud.the ballet parking is obnoxious and of no interest. Rooms are clean but have no charm. No kind attentions. There is no life in this hotel which is a sleeping place with a nice view. Too bad

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part of the hotel are more quiet but are far away from every thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ParisPaceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

as others have noted, it is the only beachfront hotel. Adjacent to the wharf and close to the bustling amusement park. Nice and friendly welcome. Our room, a Cathedral King, was spacious with a lovely high ceiling, and exceptional views of the bay and the Wharf. a warning to those who need a dark room - - these rooms do not have curtains or blinds to cover the "cathedral" part of the windows. Bathroom on the small side, but quite functional and with an excellent magnifying mirror. Comfortable bed from which you can listen to the sounds of the crashing waves all night long. hotel has a good bar and a very good restaurant. Parking is not included and is $24 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachesmesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My fiancé had a wonderful time at the Dream Inn in Santa Cruz. The view from our cloud king room was magnificent. We sat out on our balcony and listened to the waves crash all night. From the moment we pulled into their reception area, we were greeted by fantastic service from the valet person and the front of house staff that helped us check in to our room. The valet gentleman was so kind to take our bags to our room and even fill our ice bucket and deliver me a wine opener for our wines from Napa. This was above and beyond. It really started our stay off in an extremely positive manner. I then realized that we did not have any red wine glasses so I called the front desk and they had them delivered to us from someone in the restaurant. The hotel staff were so pleasant and made us feel like we owned the place. Thank you very much , Dream Inn, for making our visit to Santa Cruz the best that it could possible be.

Dream Inn is in the perfect location; right next to the wharf, the boardwalk, a close walk to downtown Santa Cruz and right on the scenic bike/walk path up the coast. Just perfect.

One of my favorite dinners was served in their restaurant(Aquarius) our last night there. I had the ceviche for an app and it was out of this world. Surprisingly generous portion that had tons of flavor. My fiancé had the locally caught albacore with the cilantro risotto and I had yellowfin tuna with the same risotto. The yellowfin was delicious and the albacore was some of the best and freshest fish I have ever had. Great job. Then the Nutella cheesecake for dessert was one of the best desserts I have ever had.

Fantastic stay that helped make our engagement trip a very special experience. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: If you have children, stay by the pool. If you are there for a romantic getaway, stay in the cloud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
543 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz
#5 of 54 in Santa Cruz
97 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £142 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing